Idling Unstable with High Cams

speedz1665

Aug 3, 2004
Guys , need some feedback on a problem,

I'm using high cams 272 and have installed ficd yet my idling sucks big time i.e engine die even without turning on the aircond, engine very rough, then in 2nd i cant drive 20kmj-30kmj i.e low speeds as the car will jerk like a wanker....is this normal....i mean i know with high cams idling will slightly messed up but mine is like kao kao screwed. Shouldnt the FICD counter the idling and stabilize it? Please do enlighten me on this...btw mine is a 1.8 gsr engine...

speedz

cipan_supercas

Feb 4, 2004
www.draxecu.com
just to share...quote from nissanperformancemag.com

"The additional duration and overlap don't work so well for low rpms as the intake charge doesn't have enough velocity at low rpm to fully rush into the cylinders. Misfire and partial combustion result which is the reason why most performance cams have less low-end power and rougher idles than stock cams."

http://nissanperformancemag.com/june05/projectracer/

alexz

Nov 22, 2004
thats the pros and cons of it. just have to live with it. racing mah!

speedz1665

Aug 3, 2004
sei lor

Cipan,

Thanks for the article. Very informative..

Alexz,

Sei lor,

so how..no choice ah..no other options meh...dun tell me to remove the cams..i lerv the power hehhehheh..

alexz

Nov 22, 2004
nope, no other options. so learn to live with the "interesting" low rpm characteristic of the cam (thats why they call it a "hi" cam. its only happy in high rpm range!)

jinkl-

Klang
wei i dont know why lee ask u to throw sell ur adjustable cams

quote from toda :

TODA Racing campulleys allow precise adjustment of camshaft timing. For added accuracy and longevity, the timing marks are machined into the metal, not painted on or silk screened. The campulleys also feature the most accurate timing adjustment system on the market. They are constructed from 7075 aluminum for optimum strength and light weight. Differing form conventional sintered pulleys (one piece),the TODA adjustable cam pulley is made in two pieces. Duralumin A-7075 is used for both its lightness and high rigidity in both the inner plate and the cam pulley. So implementing an improved design and the employment of Duralumin a 35% weight reduction is achieved.

u need the adjustable cam pulley to tune ur high cams larrrr.. sudah cakap sama lu

speedz1665

Aug 3, 2004
so guys,,will getting adj pulleys help??

speedz1665

Aug 3, 2004
wei kunji, i sold them to etk2003 remeber...aiyo now need to go buy again...

jinkl

May 22, 2004
u lar dowan listen to small boy like me
tahu lar me ur junior only hehehehe
i told u to keep the adj u said LEE SAID NO NEED
hehehhehehehehhe .. see now have to swipe
go to autobags and swipe a arospeed adjustable wei
car already monster hehehehe

Saga Continue

May 14, 2004
Ampang Baybeh
my car also idling problem....put cap ayam adjustable cam puley also work lil bit...then i set my idling at 1.5k....baru OK

speedz1665

Aug 3, 2004
wei atobags wan ori wan ah...where got monsterle...

drexchan

Nov 23, 2004
Bukit Jalil
drexchan.fotopic.net
I suppose the 272 CAm is on a carbie coz i saw "ficd". It won't be a problem if you are using an EFi machine with adaptive ECU.. like the Siemens-VDO unit in Wira. It'll adapt to the new cam after a while. No need to chang this and that. The ECU will do it for you.

Hello Friends

How to get waja Auto Flip Side Mirror with LED Signal?
If you have info, please inform me..

Regards