Idling After Install Adj Cam Pulley.

dan 68

dan 68

Nov 7, 2008
Hai ZTH members.
What is the the best idling rpm after install adj cam pulley,now my car idling at 400 rpm and sound like motobot,very hard to drive along the traffic jem. Is there any pros and cons .TQVM.

GSR06

GSR06

Dec 22, 2006
What is the reason of going for adj cam pulley?

JackWaiKit

JackWaiKit

Aug 9, 2008
www.friendster.com
Hai ZTH members.
What is the the best idling rpm after install adj cam pulley,now my car idling at 400 rpm and sound like motobot,very hard to drive along the traffic jem. Is there any pros and cons .TQVM.
u r riding waja single cam? or twin?
Got install hi cam?
My 4G93 is ard 700-1000

mivec_mivec

mivec_mivec

Oct 21, 2007
but urs one now got turbo rite?hehe..

mine oso like urs laa..why ar?i think the pulley can be adjust as per needs..but dunno how la..any sifu can provide guides here?huahuahua..

mrevo

mrevo

Jun 24, 2008
might be u adjusted the intake cams too retard which is can reduce your engine vacum when idle.

GSR06

GSR06

Dec 22, 2006
to retard/advance the cam timing... for either better acceleration or top speed...
some people did install the adj cam pulley but no effect in terms of performance. What is the ideal setting when install adj cam pulley?...perhaps tune it using Dyno is better?

SkYwAlKeR

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
some people did install the adj cam pulley but no effect in terms of performance. What is the ideal setting when install adj cam pulley?...perhaps tune it using Dyno is better?
yes... tune with dyno is better.... ideal setting differs from cars to cars as we all have different setup...

celicacultus

May 2, 2006
If DIY and on an "almost standard" engine, this is what I would do :

Advance the cam by about half a tooth first, bearing in mind when you want to advance the cam, the cam pulley actually goes the other direction.

Adjust idling adjustment, remember to compensate for aircond if you do not have an FICD. 400rpm is too low.

Adjust ignition timing/fuel mixture to avoid pinking/knocking or for some cars just reset ECU and let it do the work.

Drive, judge for yourself and tune. or alternately pay $ to have it done of course

cartoon

cartoon

Sep 7, 2005
KevinGarage.com
www.kevingarage.com
The adjustable cam pulley is common use with high-cam, in order to reset the correct idling.

Reduce weight to gain more horse power?
This is not cam-pulley design for.

Gain more horse power by using only adjustable cam-pulley?
Not much, since all the setting is stock, only dyno tune can tell how much horse power has grow.

How much horse power can get?
There is no actual figure for this, it is base on engine condition and the combination of other part. (cam-shaft, exhaust header, intake....)

Make engine bay look nice?
Well.. I admit the adjustable cam-pulley look really nice. ^_^

It is not recommend for inexperience user to setting by their-self.

jinkl

jinkl

May 22, 2004
really depends on wht cams
adjusting pulley sometimes brings out magic
i saw a car jump from 320 to 360 , lol , ask kroolada :P

Bump: really depends on wht cams
adjusting pulley sometimes brings out magic
i saw a car jump from 320 to 360 , lol , ask kroolada :P

i now use original VR4 wiring i think i will change it because have many problem ,i think i will change to evo 3 wiring but i scary that will have the same problem like engine just shut off.. ... timing no like shit... so what do i need to do....