how to save fuel /petrol ?

williamyap

Apr 6, 2009
how to save fuel / petrol? :driver::driver::driver:

1. Slow down - just follow the speed limit
2. Check your tire pressure - at least once a month, in cool condition.
3. accelerate moderately
4. turn off air conditioner - (only applicable at night)
5. keep the original - don’t upgrade your car with fancy rim or tyre
6. reduce your car weight
7. downsize - use a smaller car (CLK? Cute Little Kancil.)
8. Don’t drive - those without driving license don’t spend much on fuel
9. Avoid extremely high speeds
10. Don’t brake hard
11. Keep windows closed at high speed (of course with air-con on)
12. Service vehicle regularly
13. Maintaining a constant speed
14. Avoid long idles - turn it off if it is going to be idle for more than 1 minute
15. Warming up engine is not necessary
16. Be sure the automatic choke is disengaged after engine warm up
17. Buy fuel during coolest time of day - early morning or late evening is the best.
18. Use credit card with fuel rebate
19. Never fill gas tank past the first “click” of fuel nozzle, if nozzle is automatic.
20. Manual shift driven cars allow you to change to highest gear as soon as possible, thereby letting you save fuel.
21. Think ahead when approaching hills. If you accelerate, do it before you reach the hill, not while you’re on it.
22. Avoid rough roads whenever possible - dirt or gravel rob you of up to 30% of your fuel mileage.
23. Use alternate roads when safer, shorter, straighter.
24. Place gear into neutral position when waiting at traffic light
25. Park car so that you can later begin to travel in forward gear
26. Inspect suspension and chassis parts for occasional misalignment.
27. Set air conditioners to auto if available
28. Car pools reduce travel monotony and fuel expense
29. Do whatever possible online, by phone etc such as banking, document delivery, shopping etc
30. when filling up, don’t squeeze the trigger of the nozzle to the fastest mode
31. Fill up when your tank is half full
32. Sometime it is worth to pay the toll
33. Look further to anticipate obstacle - don’t tailgate
34. Park at shaded car park - save your air-con
35. No unnecessary external accessories
36. Monitor your odometer or tripmeter
37. Use K-link fuel saver? If it really works, you don’t have to advertise it in this desperate situation.
38. Plan ahead by combining your errands into one trip
39. Plan your trips so you go out during less-congested times of day.
40. Work from home
41. Take public transportation (I am just kidding)
42. Cycling to work - it might be better than taking the public transportation
43. Use NGV - read this real experience by Fathersez
44. When going downhill, ease your throttle down and work with gravity to build up speed.
45. Move nearer to your work place
46. Use cruise control only on flat road
47. When there is a timer on traffic light showing “99? seconds and stays still, off your engine.
48. Scrap your car if all the above fail.

----------------------------------------------------

http://www.JobsBroadway.com/

Career Tips
Career Information
Career Opportunity

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
What does career tips got to do with this?

anyway,get ngv conversion or better still get the smart car . Problem solved :thefinger:

ken yeang

1) ride bicycle. Zero petrol needed.
Can exercise ur legs and lungs.

2) Jalan kaki is another option (for ah pek type as they cannot peddle or run anymore)

3) Ride a donkey. Feed with grass only.

4) Stick up your thumb and hitch free rides (provided if you are damn sexy enuf to attract attention)

:biggrin:

PocketRocket

'(00) Mod'er
Nov 28, 2004
Up Yours
no.11 - at high speeds you can use outside ventilation and wind down 1 - 1.5inch for circulation of air...without turning on ur air-con, you gain at least 30kms on highway (proven when i shot up n down penang)

no.14 is wrong...you'd rather idle 2-3 mins than to turn off the engine...when you crank, the engine takes up more fuel

no.31 - u should pump when the indicator blinks 3 times and pump to half tank...a lighter car saves petrol n increase mileage

no.33 also wrong...its good to tailgate the express bus..hahaha
vacuum at the back of the bus will pull ur car causing you to use lesser fuel on the highway. but dont lah!
:driver:

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
Tailgaiting is good :congrats:

ken yeang

tailgating no doubt can save petrol. However there are questions to be asnwered before attempting it.

Q1: How close (or distance) your car and the bus as to provide the best "vacuum" during tailgating?

Q2: Is tailgating (that resulting petrol saving) worth doing while compromising driving safety?

My door actuator sometimes not working and i'm think to diy changing the door actuator(driver door actuator). I went to 1U Eneos to buy the door actuator but i found out there are 2 types of door actuator (2 wires and 5 wires door actuator). Which one to buy:confused_smile: ???Pls help me......thanks.....:regular_smile: