How to restore exterior rubbers condition??

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
My car has rubber trims at the exterior.. like the rubber linings around the windscreen front and back..

Now the rubber looks spotted with some kind of stubborn dirt/fungus?
its damn hard and only way to remove it so far is by knife.. but then it
will spoil the rubber itself too...

Is there are spray-on things that could restore the rubber to its glorious days?

Thanks..

I try to post up some photo later to make u understand.

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
Here is the condition of the rubber...

siangmh

Jul 29, 2006
wanna try PermaGlass Tire Paint? (<rm20) which meant for black & wet tire effect....

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
siang.. thats for a coating only right? its not really cleaning it.
i already got it.. wrongly bought it coz i thought it was a shiny liquid
to wipe on tyre.. it turns out it is black liquid rubber. first time put,
its not even shiny.. its black, but doesnt look good. after a while,
it peels off due to heat etc. im not gonna put that stuff on my other
rubbers! no way!

siangmh

Jul 29, 2006
sorry to hear that....i didn't try it before though...too lazy to use brush for it..

Howabout Wiper-Renew or STP son of a gun? good treat against rubber...

I have white spot on it too, but i thought its not dirt but more like oxidised spot...? never tried to clean it too....

Wait for your update ler.

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
siang.. wahh. u waiting for my update?? i m asking how la.. hehe..
ok.. i have window renew.. will give it a try.. maybe i should just try
all chemicals in my house? (except the strong ones).. colgate oso maybe
can right? whahahaha!!

mengz

Jan 15, 2005
maybe u can try using abit of Autosol or something which is abrasive and won't dmg the rubber. u'll defiinitely need something abrasive to polish the top layer.

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
Hehe.. i get to restore it edi.. i used my carb cleaner spray. (used to
clean my throttle body)
hahaha.. it kinda dissolve the top layer of rubber. and make it nice.

i spray it on a cloth then use finger under cloth to rub it.

thanks mengz for tip.

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
Er.. sorry not replying.. i tot close story.. heheh

Carb cleaner spray is the spray sold in most Accessory shop..
like Eneos/brothers.. mine is the STP Carb Cleaner.. bought
it like rm12.. i used it to clean my throttle body when i clean my
filter.

mengz

Jan 15, 2005
like what don mentioned, it makan the top layer of the rubber....so better becareful how much u use.....dun after apply too much the whole piece of rubber gone :P

tats y durex always remind us, please do not use petrol base lubricants.......muahahahha

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
err.. sta, the thread is mention "Restoring".. not replacing.

thank you.

later i post up a after photo..

hi guys...
juz wana share d result of my upgrade on LED lighting...

changing d led is easy, but be careful wif d dashboard panel.. bcoz is made by plastic..

from yellow to bright white...!... yippeee~~~ :biggrin:

another shot... V...