HELP!!4G93s => DOHC/MIVEC

supra_ttb

Hi all SIFUL!

I wan to mod my 4G93sohc, now i hav 2 "engine kosong"
1=MIVEC
2=PUTRA DOHC

-both of this engine without wiring, how can i mod into my sohc engine?
-Is it the wiring same?
-How about HIGH CAM?
last time i c a dohc Putra mod to HIGH CAM, the sound very nice!

TQ all SIFUL!!!:biggrin:

SOHC and DOHC wiring is different..
Mivec will need full set of wiring and ECU to make it work.... if dun, have the head also no use...
93 n/a wise sohc and mod to dohc and use back the sohc wiring but the distributor need to change to carb distributor...
good luck...

yup if u r converting your SOHC 4g93 to a DOHC..it is possible to use back ur ecu and wiring. You would need to just change the head and also fit a 4g91carb distributor to have the sparkplug cable fit. Then you can try it off first and see if the airfuel ratio is too lean or rich..if it has major knocking then need to change to 4g93p injectors.

for Mivec head, you need the wiring and ecu to 'open' the mivec but you can also add a piggyback to tune for mivec open and it also cost alot ..

Thanks all SIFUL!!

I still have some problem...sorry! i'm a car idiot...
-4G93dohc distributor can or not?
-I heard that ppl say 1.8 change to MIVEC head, wat mean ah?
-How about HIGH CAM?
-Any other way to mod my car?

THANKS A LOT!!!

4G93 dohc is distributor-less, its running on coil-packs.

-I heard that ppl say 1.8 change to MIVEC head, wat mean ah?
This means using a 1.8 block and the mivec head for a hybrid. you basically can use either full mivec wiring + ecu and u need to rechip it for proper air/fuel and ignition tuning or use a piggyback. if you use 1.8 ecu, you need something to activate ur mivec. some ppl i know use shift light to activate the mivec when using 1.8 ecu. u also need to rechip for proper air/fuel and ignition tuning. by having the mivec head, u get the best of both worlds. you get good decent low-mid end power. then once mivec engage, u get the feel of a 300/285 high cam.

-How about HIGH CAM?
high cam means higher duration + higher lift. usually 272 degrees and above. the sound that you like is the rough idling sound because the overlapping is alot, which kills ur vacuum at low rpm. not to mention, it also shifts ur powerband to higher rpm range which means u get poor low-end power but better mid to high-end power.

-Any other way to mod my car?
best is to understand what you want and what is ur budget, then plan accordingly. for example, just camshaft alone there is so much info you need. for example, what would be the ideal duration and lift at 0.050, the lobe separation angle, so u meet ur requirement on where u want ur powerband to be. then u need a mech to dial in ur cams according to spec.