guys, need your kind advice & help.....

CLS78

Aug 24, 2016
I owned a 2008 Mercedes Benz CLS 350 and have been driving it for almost 8 years now....There weren't any problems with the engine or car all this years and also accident-free...The car have been great & the performance never let me down...However, over the last 3 years....My CLS's engine sound became really loud....Especially during idol or gear on 'P'....The engine sound is really loud and can be heard especially from inside the car.....No power loss at all but just that the loud engine sound....Even when on 'P', when i play with the steering wheel (turning it to the left & right, the engine sound got louder)....

However, when at high speed, the sound seem to disperse and became almost unheard.....But when i slowed down, the sound got loud and louder....I've taken my benz to a couple of Mercedes Specialist but non managed to find the problem....Some even told me that i could continue drive the car and ignore the sound cos it doesn't damage the engine plus there were no power loss at all....But the sound is so irritating and the deminishing comfort feeling of driving a mercedes got me disturbed....

So, i seek your kind advice & help on determining what the problem is & also the solutions.....Any Mercedes expert are most welcome to comment.....I would be much appreciated if anyone could recommend me the right person to go or the specialist who might be able to fix this problem....One last thing....has anyone who own a CLS 350 ever experienced this same problem?

Thanks guys....

fazidk

Alamak...this u have to ask d sifus..me?hopeless especially when this is a merc hehe..but if u wanna get ur car resprayed then look me up hehe...

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Check the engine mount first.
You could be right about this. Before my car's engine mount is changed, I do notice more vibrations and noise from the engine especially during idling or lower speed. The vibrations is also felt during certain higher rpm like after 3000rpm.

After changing the mountings, these vibrations are gone and the engine revs smoothly until the red line.

My car is not a CLS350 though. Just a normal Wira.

CLS78

Aug 24, 2016
You could be right about this. Before my car's engine mount is changed, I do notice more vibrations and noise from the engine especially during idling or lower speed. The vibrations is also felt during certain higher rpm like after 3000rpm.

After changing the mountings, these vibrations are gone and the engine revs smoothly until the red line.

My car is not a CLS350 though. Just a normal Wira.
thanks for your reply bro....i will have the mounting check then....we just never know if we don't try..do we?....well...that just maybe it....thanks a million for the advice

CLS78

Aug 24, 2016
Check the engine mount first.
i will definitely have the mounting check.....nothing to loose if i check it right.....the problem may just originated from it.....finger crossed....thanks bro

CLS78

Aug 24, 2016
Alamak...this u have to ask d sifus..me?hopeless especially when this is a merc hehe..but if u wanna get ur car resprayed then look me up hehe...
i will surely will bro....thanks

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
thanks for your reply bro....i will have the mounting check then....we just never know if we don't try..do we?....well...that just maybe it....thanks a million for the advice
Considering the fact that your car is already 8 years old, the rubber material on the engine mounting could have hardened and starting to lose its effectiveness in damping the vibrations from the engine.

Do update us here when you have more info about the problem. Could be useful for other readers.

I'm curious - what sort of "loud" are we talking about? Vibration noise? Fan noise? Tappet noise? etc

CLS78

Aug 24, 2016
Considering the fact that your car is already 8 years old, the rubber material on the engine mounting could have hardened and starting to lose its effectiveness in damping the vibrations from the engine.

Do update us here when you have more info about the problem. Could be useful for other readers.
Thanks for the info...i will definitely check on it....of course...i will surely update you guys if there's any updates on the problem....

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk

CLS78

Aug 24, 2016
I'm curious - what sort of "loud" are we talking about? Vibration noise? Fan noise? Tappet noise? etc
More of a "Wizzling" sounds that gets lounder when i press the throttle...and tone down as i release the throttle....i believe in malay we call it "Bunyi Denggung".....

CLS78

Aug 24, 2016
Yah! same as bro. Izso mentioned, have to know what kind of sound?
This sounds comes from the engine as it follows the engine standard operating sounds

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
More of a "Wizzling" sounds that gets lounder when i press the throttle...and tone down as i release the throttle....i believe in malay we call it "Bunyi Denggung".....

Induction noise from throttle? Don't sound like mounting problem if the noise gets louder when you press the throttle. Do you have like some sort of leak from your air filter/air intake hose or something?

CLS78

Aug 24, 2016
Induction noise from throttle? Don't sound like mounting problem if the noise gets louder when you press the throttle. Do you have like some sort of leak from your air filter/air intake hose or something?
I had it checked thoroughly by my mechanic but no report about any leakage from the air filter/air intake from him...so i assumed nothing wrong with the air filter...but do u think that it might be the problem? I can ask my mechanic to specifically check it again....

Dear all,

I am helping a friend to recover his car. He traded his Satria Neo Lite for a Saga FLX using a used car dealer and things went bad from there. Apparently the dealer along with both car has been missing after my friend has signed the bank loan agreement for the new car. The best part is, Proton centre has not received his old Satria yet. Things has been going on for quite some time now. All police reports, e-mails to Proton HQ, lawyers & phone calls has been made but still no...