Gearbox 4g92p failing. HELP!

fadin_remorse

May 28, 2008
The gears are not engaging during cold start esp D,2,1. Takes 10 minutes before they warm up and work. Other than that the other gears are fine. Shifting of the other gears are also a bit more jerkier than before.
My options are
1.Overhaul the gearbox by a gearbox specialist (i am KL based) unknown of any good specialist.
2.Get a half cut Japanese 4g92 gearbox instead from a trust able source

Which option is cheaper/reliable? My engine has clocked in 181k
Thanks!:wavey:

change to manual :cost::rm2k (parts only not including installation) *

overhaul the GB :cost::rm800 (quality/warranty not sure 2place in kl i know u can send it)*

choose halfcut gb: cost::rm1.2k-rm1.6k (value varies if trade-in old GB or not)*

this is from my previous experience cost i also just replace my GB earlier this yer....my car clocking almost 200k km mileage now :adore:

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
id rather overhaul the gb jer, at least u know u r gonna everything new inside there..

morning bro, thats completely out of my options gosh...... hows ur car?
tq bro. car is fine. the workshop already close down haha....

---------- Post added at 12:39 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:35 PM ----------

id rather overhaul the gb jer, at least u know u r gonna everything new inside there..
i agree wid u sir!! :biggrin:

fadin_remorse

May 28, 2008
yeah bro that was my main idea, just need a location for a trusted workshop around KL. Do you know of any?

---------- Post added at 12:52 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:51 PM ----------

change to manual :cost::rm2k (parts only not including installation) *
overhaul the GB :cost::rm800 (quality/warranty not sure 2place in kl i know u can send it)*
choose halfcut gb: cost::rm1.2k-rm1.6k (value varies if trade-in old GB or not)*
this is from my previous experience cost i also just replace my GB earlier this yer....my car clocking almost 200k km mileage now :adore:
Thanks for ur input bro still contemplating. Halfcut gb so exp meh?

---------- Post added at 12:54 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:52 PM ----------

tq bro. car is fine. the workshop already close down haha....

See bro you agree what goes around comes around :driver: They deserved it

fadin : u try to check out the thread 'car shops & services'
there are bout 2 shops that does gearbox overhauling.....
should be ok cos they are forumers here if anything goes wrong can shoot them later haha...
'IF' only k. if they done a good job then can praise them.

fadin_remorse

May 28, 2008
fadin : u try to check out the thread 'car shops & services'
there are bout 2 shops that does gearbox overhauling.....
should be ok cos they are forumers here if anything goes wrong can shoot them later haha...
'IF' only k. if they done a good job then can praise them.
Thank you boss i will search it out, appreciate it :)

Shinjite

Feb 27, 2006
Klang
Better overhaul the GB
Peace of mind knowing all new parts will be in it instead of a used 1

---------- Post added at 04:10 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:10 PM ----------

Better overhaul the GB

fadin_remorse

May 28, 2008
Better overhaul the GB

---------- Post added at 04:10 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:10 PM ----------

Better overhaul the GB
yeah true bro checking up on that:driver:

kumar22mostwanted

Jan 9, 2010
HELL!!!
about the gear's not being able to engage at a cold start
im pretty sure that is a clutch pump issue as i also faced it not too long ago
about the car jerking when engaging gears i tink its a clucth prob
i would prefer overhaul coz its cheaper and more reliable

fadin_remorse

May 28, 2008
about the gear's not being able to engage at a cold start
im pretty sure that is a clutch pump issue as i also faced it not too long ago
about the car jerking when engaging gears i tink its a clucth prob
i would prefer overhaul coz its cheaper and more reliable
year bro kumar, do you know any gearbox specialists in kl area?

u could try ag motorsports in pandan indah kl,
or seach for lan_eterna. he is a forumer here.

---------- Post added at 03:47 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:47 PM ----------

i modified my gearbox there as well.

let me share something that happend to me today...

one chinese guy around 35 years of age... in a waja (condition new) started staring at me when we stopped at the traFFic lite..

then the fu**er starts raming his engine like mad trying to ajak me to a race....

when the traffic lite went green he started to act crazy by spinning his tire...

i using a GSR by the time his car tire stopped spinning i already gave him 50 meter lead

then the fu**er came to the back and started kissing my...