Crazy FD!!!

turbolover

Wow!I watch the Goodyear formula drift event recently and one word.....AWESOME! the sound from Mad Mike's FD that is.It sound just like a superbike and i heard it's a merge or 2 13Bs.And on full throttle....orgasmic.

Some pics posted up in DCM of our beloved FD3S with Naturally Aspirated 20B Peripheral Port short crank 3rotor :

mg7096.jpg

mg7108v.jpg

mg7189.jpg

more info on the car : http://www.madmike.co.nz/drift_car_specs.php

Its a 4 rotor lah, not 3. The 3 was his old engine before he was sponsored by redbull... The 4 rotor is custom made, if anyone got closeup engine shots of it the brand is stamped on the block :biggrin:

I saw the engine but did not snap it as i only have my handphone.A quad intake without filters.hehe.It does not have a code name for it but ppl still call it a 26B.Insane!

Haha I went BEHIND the ropes to take a few shots when they were displaying his car at formula D :rofl:

Its a masterpiece lah that engine...

Mad Mike Rx7 engine...

• 12842_1203302480480_1166133438_30523451_1489202_n.jpg
    12842_1203302480480_1166133438_30523451_1489202_n.jpg
    74.6 KB · Views: 648
  • 12842_1203302440479_1166133438_30523450_6141947_s.jpg
    12842_1203302440479_1166133438_30523450_6141947_s.jpg
    5.7 KB · Views: 151
  • 12842_1203302440479_1166133438_30523450_61aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa41947_n.jpg
    12842_1203302440479_1166133438_30523450_61aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa41947_n.jpg
    71 KB · Views: 235
  • 18169_1204787597607_1166133438_30526574_3269932_n.jpg
    18169_1204787597607_1166133438_30526574_3269932_n.jpg
    82.2 KB · Views: 222
Eh!When did he fit the filters back?Anyway,anyone knows what size are the rims?it's huge and it's amazing with that rims the car is still able to drift so easily.heard it's pumping out about 450hps.

Only 18?haha.it's looks bigger but i noticed the tyres are stretched to the max.

the 26b sounds really like those gas radio control car...i need another rotary engine to rev with me see can get similiar sound mou....haha

Haha yeah, its only 18' but it has some kinda effect that makes the rim look bigger right? :D Its super wide, but not big in diameter...

wow...really nice...

anybody got a 26b in malaysia?

Nope! That engine was specially built for Mad Mike :rolleyes:

You CAN order one though, its 30,000 NZD for a crate engine... Mad mike has a forum somewhere where he says specifically how much it cost to build his enigne... Really mad guy lah he :rofl:

The coolest rims yet on a drift car and revving two 13b's together cannot produce that sound.haha.they customize the cam shaft to fit into the 26B

I think he meant "Eccentric" shaft. Thats the main issue/item when creating a 26B Rotary engine. Essentially.... its like joining 2 RE13B together.

And.... if he really did mean camshafts ; Erm.... well..... Rotary Engines don't have camshafts, con-rods, pistons, valves etc etc etc....

Very basic.... ie; Rotors, Housings, Walls (side housings), Eccentric Shaft, Stationary Gear, Apex seals/side seals/cornerseals etc etc...... :).

Awesome stuff !!!!