Brake Caliper Paint

CarroTT

Nov 9, 2006
Hello guys,
me noobie here

I was searching to worlds end looking for brake caliper paints.
I am refurbishing a pair of calipers, need to paint it before i can install them on my ride.

Can anyone tell me where i can get it ?
i nid address
I m reli desperate here :banghead::banghead::banghead:

i wan BLACK colour, n i m in KL
I NEED IT ASAP

Lord_darkslide

Oct 19, 2005
erk i think theres is 1 guy oredi made a DIY thread in zth... use the search button to help... by the way... if i not mistaken... he use normal aerosol paint oni... drexchan i think his nick...

hope this help.. .

CarroTT

Nov 9, 2006
Normal aerosol paint kenot lar
one tiny bit contact of the brake oil and the paint will just come off :mad:

searching for drexchan . . . .

come on guys, sure some here have painted his/her calipers before, help me out here. I cant ride without front brakes :bawling:

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
it's ok to use aerosol paint bro.i've also done it before.no problem at all.
there's hardly any oil at the caliper so why worried.if looking for black,
make sure it's the hi-temp paint.

parawisata79

Aug 14, 2006
yup u can use the high temp aerosol paint.. can buy one la.. the most important is clean the surface 1st..

Maxx

Feb 17, 2005
PD-Putrajaya-KL
if u r spraying 1st the install might be a problem.
coz when install sure will get dirty n kena oil.

try clean it 1st, then install.
after install make sure to clean it back from oil/dirt/etc.
then cover where u do not want to spray.

use high temp spray for better heat resistance.

btw, i just use normal red spray.
until now no problem. just get dirty from disc pad dust.

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
if u r spraying 1st the install might be a problem.
coz when install sure will get dirty n kena oil.

try clean it 1st, then install.
after install make sure to clean it back from oil/dirt/etc.
then cover where u do not want to spray.

use high temp spray for better heat resistance.

btw, i just use normal red spray.
until now no problem. just get dirty from disc pad dust.
we advice ppl to get the heat resistant 1 but we use the normal paint.
hehehe....i use the normal aerosol paint too.last for years.

Maxx

Feb 17, 2005
PD-Putrajaya-KL
hahah. bcoz we r adventures one..
if tak jadi then we do it again.. and learn from mistake.. hehe

zephyr3d

Apr 29, 2005
near steven's
i used normal spray too.. some elcheapo ones. And it lasted til now i guess.. later let me take a peek at my calipers. lol.

CarroTT

Nov 9, 2006
Yesteday, i painted the caliper with cat kilat . Hahahaha :stupid:
turns out reeeliiiii uglyyyyyyy
then have to remove the paint . . . again

Finally today i painted it with normal tin spray flat black . . . again
but, i added 2 layers of polyurethane clear gloss spray i got from ACE
Still not resistant to the oil, but at least its more resistant.

so, finally got to install the caliper n bleed it. Nice, yeaaahh, ride on :burnout:

thanks guys

still, if anyone have info where to get the caliper paint, please do inform me.
I STILL WANT IT RELI BADLY :bawling: :banghead:

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
CarroTT : any pic of your cool new brake calipers? :)

what colour did u spray it?

zephyr3d

Apr 29, 2005
near steven's
to be honest, i'm not sure la.. but i've not heard of "caliper paint" before.

At most is heat resistant paint, which they normally use for cam covers.. else, if really want the brembo finish, i think u need to powder coating.. that wouldn't worth it unless u have a skyline at least. lol.. just kidding bout the skyline bit. But at least for me.

Lord_darkslide

Oct 19, 2005
erkkk bro.. just asking...

y ur brake line kept bleeding brake oil?? something wrong is it???
supposed there shud be no brake oil leaking is ur hose/connection is ok...

1 more thing.. is going for black color.. better buy the heat resistance 1..

hope help.. ")

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
Why if black colour gotta get heat resistant ? Something more special with black? The colour can't stick isit after awhile ?

netmatrix

P Jaya:Malaysia
kh_tan.tripod.com
You can use DupliColor Engine Enamel. Or you could use ACE High Temp paint. Since you go to ACE hardware, you could find these easily. The ACE silver high temp i have tested it on exhaust manifold before.

My results are, if you drive moderately, the paint can last. But when you drive hard the paint will start to have micro cracks. And would probably peel off later. Though the paint has lated me almost 1 year after i changed the exhaust manifold. It works wuite well on metal. But its not durable to touch. It is somewhat oil resistant.

Its much much more better than the normal arcylic paint BTW. But you only have normal color choice of black and silver.

Car Stolen @ Taman Connaught, Cheras, KL.
Proton Satria GTI (PEV 5442).

Colour: Silver with 'PARANOID' sticker at the back of the car.
Come back from work at 2400 but at 0600 hours already gone!

If found please contact +6016-4815530 or any police stations immediately.
URGENT! Thanks!
Award will be given if found in good condition