BMW 525I E34 2.5 Maintenance

Aug 5, 2014

I'm new to the forums and I just got a question to ask. I'm planning on buying a BMW 525I E34. Its a 2.5 litre engine and looks just gorgeous. I've test driven it, had people look at the car. Its in pretty standard condition. Everything works fine, automatic gearbox needs some servicing. Engine itself is pretty damn powerful for a car that old. Its done about 160k++ KMs.

Question is since I've only been driving my old proton for as long as I can remember, (I travel a lot since I left university for work and rarely had any plans to change cars.) Now that I'm currently settling back into the country I was thinking of buying a nice drivers car. I really do enjoy driving upstate and so forth. So since I've only been servicing and maintaining my old proton, and yes I know it will cost more to maintain a BMW. Especially an older model, could any of the forum veterans kindly just give me a rough estimate on maintaining the car?

Normal servicing, common problems on BMW's these age, etc. I would be very grateful as I would like to know what I'm going to get myself into. and my right foot is really light. My average speed is 80 Km/h even on highways.

I really do like this car, but am afraid of suddenly having major issues im not ready to handle. Used to earn foreign currency so could've easily maintained this car but now since I'm back in M'sia. Well you know. Things are slightly more $$$.

Thanks and looking forward to be in this forum

old BMW vs old Proton, expect about 5x the cost of a Proton. If you're ok with that sort of pricing, then find a reliable BMW mech and you're sorted.

But the thing about BMW parts is they'll probably last longer than Proton since there are barely any compatible parts and you'll be forced to buy everything original. The E34 I think might have issues finding new big items like a GB and all. Speaking of which if this car has a wonky GB, fixing it at a GB specialist will set you back easily 3k.

how much is your budget to get that E34? y not settle for E46 3 series or E39 5 series?
parts are hard to find for E34 model unless u have contacts with BMW club members or halfcut shops

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
Used Ignition coil for proton = RM150
used Ignition coil for 5-series = RM750++

This is what my foreman told me as he also drive this E34 ..:driver:

Btw, u are talking on M20 or M50 / M50TU engine?

trustgtr

Jun 18, 2009
i've an older ver of the e60 with the m54 engine, after a couple of years the common gearbox issue recently popped up had it serviced but was informed that a rebuild could b around the corner. My oxy sensor has been changed twice both top ones (there are 4 in a m54) over the past 5 years cost rm330 each (bosch). Parts from bavaria auto is surprisingly affordable especially wear and tear parts e.g fr rotors are rm150 each and pads are around 200 fr and 145 rears, cam cvr gasket was rm140. e39 part prices are lower than that seems, i would suggest u invest in a obd2 reader (rm150) and torque pro software this has saved me lots over the years. In general , owning a bmw does mean 'banyak masuk wokshop' ..lol

ken yeang

i've an older ver of the e60 with the m54 engine, after a couple of years the common gearbox issue recently popped up had it serviced but was informed that a rebuild could b around the corner. My oxy sensor has been changed twice both top ones (there are 4 in a m54) over the past 5 years cost rm330 each (bosch). Parts from bavaria auto is surprisingly affordable especially wear and tear parts e.g fr rotors are rm150 each and pads are around 200 fr and 145 rears, cam cvr gasket was rm140. e39 part prices are lower than that seems, i would suggest u invest in a obd2 reader (rm150) and torque pro software this has saved me lots over the years. In general , owning a bmw does mean 'banyak masuk wokshop' ..lol
or izit more like "Banyak Makan Wang"?

I guess masuk workshop and makan wang are closely related...

On the engine maintenance matter, I think this is one reason many Beemer owners swapped to jap engines for part availability and lower cost considerations.

VickVictor

Aug 5, 2014
Well regular maintenance cost isnt a big deal, I guess those other parts that cost more isn't going to kill me in the sense like what Izzo said. They are going to last longer in general. Well I actually like older jap cars from the 70's and 80's but I'm cracking my head trying to find them. Almost impossible to find. I did land myself a nice little gig here in KL, pay isn't too bad, so I can see myself being able to change the gearbox or ignition coil as the other members stated if it ever goes sideways on me.

Besides the gearbox is there any other common issues about the E34 that might deter someone from getting it?

by the way trustgtr whats an obd2?

the car cost roughly 11-12k. Budget wise I can probably spend 20k

obd2 is the socket inside the car that mechanics use to read the ECU data. If you buy a OBD2 reader (usually Bluetooth) you connect the reader to the socket and then using Bluetooth you can read the ECU data yourself without the tools from a mech. Usually these readers cost anywhere between RM30 to RM80. Very useful if you want to know stuff like engine oil temp, water temp, fan running speed, etc (whatever the ECU reads)

Although we know BMW has a lot of niggling issues, it's one of the better on the road drives you can buy for that kind of money (note : I said 'drive', not 'car'). Personally I think if you have 20k to spare after blowing 11k on a car, that's plenty. If the cost of the car is incorporated into your 20k budget, then I suggest you don't buy the beemer. It'll cost you more than that to maintain such a old car.

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
The lure of an old Merc or BMW is very hard to resist as the price is super cheap.
For the same condition, its a heck of a car compared to Jap cars.

What u should remember is that u are buying a second hand car of which there is no way for sure of knowing the true history of the car.
I have never own a BMW but there must be a reason majority of people selling it after a few years of ownership to get another BMW right?
Its not that the car is problematic but the maintenance cost is getting higher and keeping it will be a waste of money.
Which is also why most people only keep older car as the system is not complicated so there are not many things can go wrong.

U might reach a point that u become annoyed by the small tits and bits which cost 2-3 time more than what u get for the proton.
Then again that is the price of owning an ultimate driving machine.
Not to say that its a bad car, its even greater than most newer jap model.
Its will become even greater if u have a deep pocket and deep reserve.

Recently a 1993 W124(maybe masterpiece maybe not) join my family stable.For sure its second hand rite.
I dont even bother to drive it for 2 weeks knowing that its an old car and thinking no way it is better than modern car laden with electronic.Plus maintenance is going to be super high as thats what people around us said.
As soon as i drives it, damn...why didnt i bought this car for my daily ride.
For sure the parts is way higher even compared to my renault powered Proton.
Its a 2 ton car so fc is like a Kembara eh? I was totally stumped to discover the fc is the same as a wira 1.5 auto.
Against the latest gen jap car? I take the old Merc anytime.
Its a simple car with simple system so most part are relatively affordable.

Conclusion?
If u can afford it and deeply hooked, get it and enjoy it.
Just live with the high maintenance cost which is the compulsory packaged to be taken with the car.
Properly maintained it will put smile on your face every second u drives it.

I saw one black e34 with ac schitzer rims looks damn garang
its located at Shell jalan Gasing PJ, opposite EPF/KWSP
not sure is it for sale anot but try asking the workshop there.

ken yeang

The lure of an old Merc or BMW is very hard to resist as the price is super cheap.
For the same condition, its a heck of a car compared to Jap cars.

What u should remember is that u are buying a second hand car of which there is no way for sure of knowing the true history of the car.
I have never own a BMW but there must be a reason majority of people selling it after a few years of ownership to get another BMW right?
Its not that the car is problematic but the maintenance cost is getting higher and keeping it will be a waste of money.
Which is also why most people only keep older car as the system is not complicated so there are not many things can go wrong.

U might reach a point that u become annoyed by the small tits and bits which cost 2-3 time more than what u get for the proton.
Then again that is the price of owning an ultimate driving machine.
Not to say that its a bad car, its even greater than most newer jap model.
Its will become even greater if u have a deep pocket and deep reserve.

Recently a 1993 W124(maybe masterpiece maybe not) join my family stable.For sure its second hand rite.
I dont even bother to drive it for 2 weeks knowing that its an old car and thinking no way it is better than modern car laden with electronic.Plus maintenance is going to be super high as thats what people around us said.
As soon as i drives it, damn...why didnt i bought this car for my daily ride.
For sure the parts is way higher even compared to my renault powered Proton.
Its a 2 ton car so fc is like a Kembara eh? I was totally stumped to discover the fc is the same as a wira 1.5 auto.
Against the latest gen jap car? I take the old Merc anytime.
Its a simple car with simple system so most part are relatively affordable.

Conclusion?
If u can afford it and deeply hooked, get it and enjoy it.
Just live with the high maintenance cost which is the compulsory packaged to be taken with the car.
Properly maintained it will put smile on your face every second u drives it.

True, and well said.

Go with your heart (dont care about money)

or

Go with your head (money does matters)

But when the car tersadai at the workshop and you are given a big repair bill.....can you still smile?

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Jul 6, 2000
Good to know there's still interest towards that old bm. I've had my E34 for about 15 years now, still going strong, still a joy to drive. Of course, plenty of changes throughout the years and is never ending. I can't tell you how much it'll cost to run the car, nor do I keep track of the expenditure so far. But any executive can easily afford the E34 for sure.

At first there'll be frustrations for sure. But I'd say things get interesting when you educate yourself the engineering that has gone in the car in the car since the late 80s. It's not not a classic but i'd say it's quite a cult car. At least for me and some hardcore current owners.

Trust me, if you love driving it, if you love the looks, appreciate the potential it has, you have nothing to worry about owning it.

The only question is, how much you like the car. It'll not be a walk in the park initially as you learn its personality. There are seasons that you'll make regular visits to the workshop. Some people enjoy it. So if you think you're up for a small adventure, go for it.

Hi bros,

Went to this car service,feels he overdo for me.Just an Iswara
Can I ask if someone does the following for your car check?Did he overdo?

Change engine oil and oil filter
Check your air filter,if black colour will ask for change,else just use air gun to spray some dust out
Check for water level and rust at radiator
Check for water level at windscreen water spray tank
Wipes the engine bay area and spray with air gun to clear some dust
Starts engine and check for engine idling...