Running injectors at full cycle will kill the injectors really quickly. No matter how much air you throw in the injectors will be able to handle it. If not you'll just run a lean engine when you're on WOT. Meaning most of the time loss of power and hotter engine.
You want to know how an open pod will feel like? Take out your filter and run filterless. That's how an open pod feels like. I ran filterless for about a month. Mid to top end made a helluva lot of induction noise, even louder than exhaust. Shiok gila. But engine oil got dirty really fast.
I hate open pod. But having said that it's all about tuning the runner length. Drex has his open pod in his bumper and the intake hose goes from bumper to manifold. No loss of low end at all. I've tried that too, problem is my car is a bit too low, water suction I kena before and I have a hole in my bumper directing air to the u-snorkel entrance area where my pod was. So it got dirty very quickly and I ran the risk of water intake.
Anyway, there's lots you can do with filters. Once I get a hold of a proper metal cutter I'm going to put my open pod in my standard box. Need to fabricate a proper box, already got the sheet metal.