4G92 DOHC vs 4G93 SOHC

khairibad

From Facebook
Jun 7, 2011
Hey guys.

Newbie here. I'm thinking of converting my Satria 1.3. Due to my budget, i shortlisted these two engines (4G92 DOHC and 4G93 SOHC).

Wanna asked all the sifu here, which one should i take? What's the pros and cons of both engines.
and if there is any other/better engine within the same price range, please advice too.

Hey guys.

Newbie here. I'm thinking of converting my Satria 1.3. Due to my budget, i shortlisted these two engines (4G92 DOHC and 4G93 SOHC).

Wanna asked all the sifu here, which one should i take? What's the pros and cons of both engines.
and if there is any other/better engine within the same price range, please advice too.

With the 25% max ruling you can only go for the 4G92 which is 1.6, since your original is only 1.3...:driver:

Shinjite

Feb 27, 2006
Klang
Hey guys.

You can opt for the 4G91 DOHC then just bore your block using 81mm pistons and you get the 4G92 DOHC. If you're talking about 4G92 DOHC MIVEC, then its a different story.

Personally I prefer to go straight for the 93 SOHC due to engine displacement but due to the JPJ ruling, max will be a 1600cc unless you go and do stroker kit to bring it close to a 1800cc :biggrin:

khairibad

From Facebook
Jun 7, 2011
With the 25% max ruling you can only go for the 4G92 which is 1.6, since your original is only 1.3...:driver:
Thanks vr2turbo,

Totally missed that 25% cap. :banghead:

So my only option is 4G92 DOHC then.
Any advice regarding this engine? something to lookout for, for example?

For engine transplant 1.6 is max unless you follow bro. Shinjite post and rebore to for more displacement

Shinjite

Feb 27, 2006
Klang
Thanks vr2turbo,

Totally missed that 25% cap. :banghead:

So my only option is 4G92 DOHC then.
Any advice regarding this engine? something to lookout for, for example?

4G92 DOHC is very very rare in stock form. It has 11:1 compression ratio like the DOHC MIVEC but without the MIVEC goodness (Not really sure about the oil squirters but you can custom add it in). Since it is so rare, might as well you get a good condition EFI 4G91 DOHC and mod it from there. As stated previously, just bore your piston to 81mm and you already have a 4G92 DOHC.

Saw one at Powerzone on the dyno and the car engine managed to output 125whp with 15xNm of wheel torque with performance cams, open pod and exhaust mods. Not bad indeed to be honest.

Note: If you ever want to go to the MIVEC route, I have a 4G92 7035 MIVEC ECU for sale :biggrin:

Rahman77R

Oct 16, 2011
Even the maximum displacement for engine transplant allowed by JPJ for Satria GTI is still 1.8l. Asked about 4G63 2.0 and they told me it's not approved. Had no choice but to go for 4G93T. The worst part it was during the time when there was a big demand for 4G93T.

Have not seen these 2 engines in ages.

Better ask your mechanic to check the engine for oil leaks and do a compression test as well.

Shinjite

Feb 27, 2006
Klang
Even the maximum displacement for engine transplant allowed by JPJ for Satria GTI is still 1.8l. Asked about 4G63 2.0 and they told me it's not approved. Had no choice but to go for 4G93T. The worst part it was during the time when there was a big demand for 4G93T.

Better ask your mechanic to check the engine for oil leaks and do a compression test as well.
The only legal way now is to get a 4G67 bottom end, transfer everything from the 4G63s into it and register as a 1.8L

Yup, Proton only can got up to 1.8 unless Perdana original 2.0