bigger piping for s-flow?

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
ok.ive just changed my muffler from straight flow to s-flow.
yeah i know,its sucks because i cant go rempit anymore.hahaha.

ok heres the problem.the powwer output seems low/reduced.
so i want to balance back the power output as like i'm using straight flow muffler.

my currrent setup is 2.3inch piping(the old straight flow muffler).
so do i have to change the piping to a bigger size than the 2.3 inch piping?
as to balance out the back pressure as ive installed the s-flow muffler.

B18c GSR.
nothin much ive done to the engine.
just high compression.

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
try to get 2.5 ~ 3.0 inch S-flow muffler to compensate..it might help u to gain back the power.

davidv00

Mar 27, 2006
i also just changed to S flow muffler, the top end horsepower drops but low end torque increased, which i think better in city/highway driving, will only consider putting straight flow back for track usage.

Neyo

Jun 29, 2007
hi all noob here,care 2 enlighten me on how does a bigger inlet diameter s-flow muffler help in gaining back de loss of power?

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
i also just changed to S flow muffler, the top end horsepower drops but low end torque increased, which i think better in city/highway driving, will only consider putting straight flow back for track usage.
owh.so theres no way to change from low end torque to high end horse power?

herm.or i have to change to 4-1 extractor?hahaha,too much for small budget wallet.

what can i do to change the muffler in a sec?bcose usually every friday i'll use every power output from my small engine.

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
hi all noob here,care 2 enlighten me on how does a bigger inlet diameter s-flow muffler help in gaining back de loss of power?
ok heres d rule.

in a straight muffler exhaust sytem,u'll get low back pressure.
as there's low resistance in d exhaust system itself.

so,when ive installed s-flow muffler system.
to balance out the resistance that cause by the s-flow muffler.
in theory i have to use bigger size muffler lah.right?

but theres another about big size piping.
if ur pipe is too big,it will cause the exhaust fumes to be cold.
that cause the engine to do more work as cold air is heavier.

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
try to get 2.5 ~ 3.0 inch S-flow muffler to compensate..it might help u to gain back the power.
2.5-3.0?
isn't that too big?
2.5-3.0 inch in turbo territory?

herm,btw,i'm drivng a honda civic eg 2 doors.
so theres only small area to put the muffler.
haiya.

really dizzy here,i want no sound=a lot of power.
haha,just cant get it right.

Neyo

Jun 29, 2007
bigger inlet... less bottleneck effect... less restriction... less backpressure... better pickup...
ic.ic..tq 4 dat.one last question,when u say dat can gain better pickup does it mean dat u will sacrifice top end power?btw sori 2 thread starter 4 hijacking ur thread a bit..hehe..

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
haha,its ok.
we have to search for infomation right,it doesnt come down on u.LOL.

i think its better high end pickup.
bcose backpressure will cr8 low end torque.
we dont need that it japanese manual car.I mean vtec.

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
2.5-3.0?
isn't that too big?
2.5-3.0 inch in turbo territory?

herm,btw,i'm drivng a honda civic eg 2 doors.
so theres only small area to put the muffler.
haiya.

really dizzy here,i want no sound=a lot of power.
haha,just cant get it right.
Try to look for HotBit S flow muffler, it should fit nice on ur EG.

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
owh,cant find it on the internet?
do you have the website's address?

and how much is it?
maybe my next muffler,bcoz just bought the mugen loop replica.i think the piping is to small.

flamefox850

Pasir Mas
www.geocities.com
ok now u put 2.3" piping with 2.3" inlet s-flow muffler right ? or maybe ur s-flow muffler got less than 2.3" inlet ?

if u put 2.5" piping as u said to compensate the power loss u feel in high rpm..i think that's is incorrect coz the end of the exhaust passage still 2.3" (or less) diameter pipe (the s-flow muffler)

what u can do is try put 2.3" (or a bit bigger..2.5" perhaps) inlet s-flow muffler along with ur existing 2.3" piping.

or u can check ur s-flow muffler's inlet 1st. if it's smaller than 2.3"...u might wanna change to 2.3" inlet or a bit bigger

hope my idea is correct LOL

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
ok now u put 2.3" piping with 2.3" inlet s-flow muffler right ? or maybe ur s-flow muffler got less than 2.3" inlet ?

if u put 2.5" piping as u said to compensate the power loss u feel in high rpm..i think that's is incorrect coz the end of the exhaust passage still 2.3" (or less) diameter pipe (the s-flow muffler)

what u can do is try put 2.3" (or a bit bigger..2.5" perhaps) inlet s-flow muffler along with ur existing 2.3" piping.

or u can check ur s-flow muffler's inlet 1st. if it's smaller than 2.3"...u might wanna change to 2.3" inlet or a bit bigger

hope my idea is correct LOL
the inlet is 2.2",but i doubt it that inside of the muffler is 2.2" all the way.
as it think the loop pipe is 2".

owh,u mean i have to search for bigger muffler lah,not to change the piping.
ok2.maybe next time i'll try to search for bigger muffler.as it will make the flow better.

i should the before i buy a muffler next time,haiya:nurse:

Need help sifu sifu, is been quite some time that there is rattle sound at the rear of my car, the rattle sound is on and off, but this few weeks, it didnt go off at all, which pretty irritates me when driving.

Any solutions that can help bro???