Need help and advice!! I just got a 2009 lancer

Apr 21, 2015
Fayetteville,NC
so my parents decided to sell their 2009 lancer ES and I was wondering if i can add a turbo to it.
It is a 2009 mitsubishi lancer es, automatic 4.0. Even if it is pricey, i would like to add a turbo to my car, would i need a turbo kit? can my car take a turbo kit? if so, what would be some reliable brands and sources?

Im not a car expert, but i would at least like to know the ins and outs of my vehicle.

my budget is about $2500

fazidk

The answers to ur questions:
- can ur car be turbocharged?YES
- reliable brands? GARRET (maybe??)

The answers to ur questions:
- can ur car be turbocharged?YES
- reliable brands? GARRET (maybe??)
Yes, but to add.
It can be turbo charged but a small limit only as NA engine not built for it, therefore in the long run may not be reliable.

ken yeang

I would suggest you to familiarize with the car 1st before upgrade of turbo and hp....

Since the car is 2009, perhaps you should concentrate and put some money to repair the wear-and-tear parts first, before spending money on upgrades...

Anyway, congrats on your lancer ownership.

I would suggest you to familiarize with the car 1st before upgrade of turbo and hp....

Since the car is 2009, perhaps you should concentrate and put some money to repair the wear-and-tear parts first, before spending money on upgrades...

Anyway, congrats on your lancer ownership.
Just read again and is auto 4 speed. Turbo already wonder if the gb can hold?:smokin:

Enough of all that... biggest question :

How much is your budget

Got money anything also can.

ken yeang

if got money, should have bought a Lancer Evo. All ready for action.

Wiralution tak main.....

if got money, should have bought a Lancer Evo. All ready for action.

Wiralution tak main.....
But his will be Lancerlution woh!.....hahhahhaha:rofl:

---------- Post added at 05:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:23 PM ----------

Enough of all that... biggest question :

How much is your budget

Got money anything also can.
Bingo.....:driver:

marv3

Jun 5, 2014
This is just my humble suggestion. Have you considered Supercharger? I mean i think since its a 4-speed, a supercharger could be more efficient or you can benefit more from it? Probably wont be stressing your car too much (2009) as it gains power from the crank. But i could be wrong. So may need the sifus here to clarify. Price wise maybe the same also??

It's a personal preference la. Price a SC won't be too far off from a TC. Same things needed to be done except a SC might need more fabrication for it to fit in place of the intake.

marv3

Jun 5, 2014
It's a personal preference la. Price a SC won't be too far off from a TC. Same things needed to be done except a SC might need more fabrication for it to fit in place of the intake.
Actually what i mean is, seeing that is a 2009 car plus is auto 4-speed, i have an impression a SC may be more suited. But again like i said, i could be wrong. Maybe there is no difference and is just personal preference.....So let the sifus advise....:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Power from SC comes from low to mid and TC comes from mid to high, so depends what TS wants, but then like bro. Izso mentioned, what is his budget?....:hmmmm:

It sounds like the TC is a kid who just started driving or something. Maybe he's a kid with loads of money. But then again - if he had loads of money he wouldn't need to buy 2nd hand.

Marv : yeah SC probably would be more gearbox friendly but with turbo just boost low, like 0.5 bar - 0.6 bar max, I think the gearbox should be able to handle it. Then again, it all depends on the ratios - if it's long then the SC probably would be a better fit. Anyway, how's your car man? Sorted out the exhaust already so left the suspension and uprating the turbo?