DIY - Car Lock / Unlock BEEP BEEP (CHEAP)

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Nowadays, Many cars do not come with an Audible lock and unlock sound. Not like those days (Beep Beep)... To install after market in a shop, might cost anywhere between RM 80 - 160 just for the beep beep sound...

This was a circuit design and DIY I did 5 years ago... Posted in LancerGT Club Forum, now sharing it over here as it is applicable universally..

----------

I made 2 versions.. 1 is very very simple.. just need a normal relay with a Siren... HOWEVER, version 1 will also sound the alarm when your Hazzard light is ON.

Version 2 is to bypass the circuit when the Hazzard light is ON...
Scenario (For version 2) :
- Lock : BEEP !
- unLock : BEEP BEEP !
- Alarm sound : BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP.....
- Hazzard light : No sound..

How it works :
- Basically Simple concept... When you turn.. no sound...
- When both Signal Lights are oN.. BEEP !
- When alarm sounds, both signal are lited.. so it will sound..
- When you turn on the Hazzard lights, the 2nd Relay (which is a default ON will be OFF) and cut off the alarm sound

Anyway.. Happy DIYing.. i would probably do version 1 sooner.. as I will hook it up in the Rear Boot area.. with the Siren hidden under the rear Bumper... Version 2 will need to relocate the siren to the front to reduce wiring...

-------------------------------------------

Here are the items used
- 1 Alarm/Siren for car
- 2 x Relays
- Long wires

NOTE : I got this all Free from halfcut shop. Siren is probably RM 15, Relays RM 2 per piece in shops.

I wire the Siren from the boot space as accessing to the wirings and hidding the relays are easier.

Look at the wire that connects to the REAR signal.

For example of LancerGT/GLS or Inspira...

BLACK, BLUE/GREEN, WHITE/GREEN and BLACK/GREEN

BLACK is Ground
BLUE/GREEN is the Signal +VE cable.

Tap your +VE from BLUE/GREEN

Here, I hide the Siren under the rear bumper. Front facing.. so the siren sound comes from under the car.. hehe. You can rewire it all the way to the front if you want... Or, use the signal wiring from the front bumper. But it is messier...

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Any idea on changing the door chime sound?
Which one? When you open the door while car moving and it goes Bing Bing Bing?

Or.. the one at home people press door bell and it Chimes? hahaha

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Car one, ahahah.
I created this thread but nobody seems to know. Foreign countries did swaps.
Asian cars door chime sucks. But Lexus nice.
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/proton/435526-door-chime-sound.html
This one is hard.
The Chime is not from a physical hardware. Most cars, it is on a ROM and it beep thru the built in Buzzer.

For Mitsubishi 2008 Lancers and EVO... changing to the new 2011 color meter panel gets to change the sound of chimes.. but only Tick or Beep.. :D

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
This one is hard.
The Chime is not from a physical hardware. Most cars, it is on a ROM and it beep thru the built in Buzzer.

For Mitsubishi 2008 Lancers and EVO... changing to the new 2011 color meter panel gets to change the sound of chimes.. but only Tick or Beep.. :D
Well, mine is Persona. Still, not so Mitsu lah haha.
Because I can't seem to find the beeper unless I take out the dash. '
I know some beep through speakers. :bawling:

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
what kind of relay?
Any type of Latching Relay will do. Most automotive relays have both NO and NC. Those are perfect.

---------- Post added at 09:31 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:30 AM ----------

And Siren put there not scared wet?
These sirens are made to withstand heat and water. So far so good.:wavey:

Hi all.

Is there any way we can chrome our Sport Rim? As we all know after several months using the sport rim, there will be lots of scratches.

I heard there is a workshop which can do that, but I lost the name of the shop.

What is your comment on this? Is it better to chrome or other colours like black or white?