Zerotohundred.com's RM50K Supercar beater project, sponsors needed

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak

Dear Readers, It is my pleasure to announce that we'll embark ourselves on a crazy journey. Follow closely every week on our step by step progress, involving in house modifications or DIY to our Supercar beater testbed.

We bought ourselves a cheap wreck, a 1983 Nissan Fairlady 300ZX Z31 for RM10,000. Why do we choose the Nissan over any other cars? Well here's the main reason:

Why the Z31? Why this car?

While often entirely overlooked by auto enthusiasts, many people don't see that the Z31 platform has great potential. Sadly, unlike other cars, there is severely under-developed aftermarket support. My experience is that most "car" people don't even know what a Z31 300ZX is, and many who do just see it as a slow and boring (read: stereotypical) 80's car. Oddly enough, these are usually the same people whom have never even driven a Z31 300ZX, let alone owned or modified one. "Once you get inside a Z, a Z will get inside of you" is an old Nissan slogan that really rings true with these cars. The platform blends a very well-balanced chassis (50/50 weight distribution for most models, and fully independent suspension) with a smooth, responsive and overly stout powertrain. With many other areas that can be vastly improved upon, they offer a very good platform for building a budget street rocket or race car. Unfortunately, very few aftermarket companies have embraced the Z31 300ZX to help shed it from its highly ill-deserved "red-headed-stepchild" persona...
Source : About Z31Parts.com

So we are most likely going to strip down the body and chassis, since a 20 plus year old body would have tons of rusts hidden somewhere. We will most likely transplant a better engine, so it would hit beyond 200 Km/h. Our goal is to be able to hit 300 Km/h and be able to do 0-100 Km/h in sub 5 seconds, as most 0-100 times for supercars are usually around this range. Here is a picture of the junk car that would be used to be made the Supercar beater.

We will need to look for the following donations/sponsors if possible. We will credit you on the build, if you would be able to donate generously and be able to display this car in most Zerotohundred.com event's and would have enough media coverage generated from public interests. Here are the needed parts

1) Engine half-cut, looking for a RB26DETT, either stock or tuned
2) Bucket seats
3) Intercooler system
4) Braking system
5) Suspension system
6) Tyres
7) Rims
8) Bodywork restoration and rust repair
9) Paintjob
10) Bodykit
11) Audio system
12) Lighting system

And more to come, if more parts are needed, thank you!

HBS

Apr 23, 2009
I always a fan of 300ZX gen,over any gen of Z cars,S30 or new Z33/34.....but still my ultimate choice was no other than iconic Z ever,the 300ZX(1989 Z32 Twin Turbo)

But anyway nice choice for modding project!
Will check back the page often for the update.

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
300zx z32 is a bit too costly for us, plus the 10k is really for a rolling stock, a chassis to work on. haha. plus the z32 is a bit heavier than the z31, im sure it would be a good start to frankenstein the car :)

xMika

Feb 28, 2010
All the best ! Hope to see the car when its completed someday :) Give free advertisement for the sponsors haha ..

what are the stock engine running in this car????

can i volounteer as labour worker to work on this car??? :adore: :biggrin:

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
what are the stock engine running in this car????

can i volounteer as labour worker to work on this car??? :adore: :biggrin:

stock engine, rb20det red top, haha i dont mind, but lets hope the sponsoring garage wont mind :D and depends if u willing to travel la

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
subscribed... can't wait to see it completed...

p/s: i dun have tons of money, but does the project accept spare changes? dun mind if my name not credited.... just wanna see it completed in true zth style..

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
haha, well dont mind la, any form of help is welcomed, best is that u tell ur friends and keep their heads on this project, lol :)

anyways, an idea struck me and im thinking to give the car a 3k deep purple look with lime green accents, inspired by this evangelion :)

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
already share it in fb.... hope someone pick it up heheh

....oops... sorry kacau thread....

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
cool np, a cool pic that evangelion's love nissan, our fairlady shouldnt be an exception :D

xMika

Feb 28, 2010
wow nice idea on that color scheme .. dont forget some orange color on the lips and on the "rim" of the rims hehe .. door handle as well ..

HBS

Apr 23, 2009
make it black with gold accent....great reminder in the like of 280ZX black-gold edition & not to mention it does look as cool as burt reynold trans-am!

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
it could look this too, if we wanted to, lol

To all sifu here, can you advise on what performance mod I can do with a toyota Estima 2003? I'm planning to buy one 2nd hand and would like to know what I can do. Thanks first to all shi fu.