Wider tires caused more fuel consuption?

BeCool

Jan 4, 2006
Hi All the Sifu,

As per above title, is it true that wider tires causing more fuel consumption?

Like 195/50/R15 ---> 215/50/R15

Will this cause higher fuel consumption?

nadziad

May 14, 2011
johor
maybe yes maybe not...it depended on ur right foot....i think abit higher consumption than usual la

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
You are changing from 195 to 215 width, meaning a 2 size increase...

Meaning more resistance on your rolling momentum, thus needing more power to move meaning a slightly
more fuel consumption...

However, you may minimise it by increasing the tyre pressure by 2 or 3 psi

For example you are using tyre pressure of 31psi, you may up it to 34psi but before doing it,
you got to check the tyre pressure recommended by the car manufacturer or the tyre manufacturer...

Hi All the Sifu,

As per above title, is it true that wider tires causing more fuel consumption?

Like 195/50/R15 ---> 215/50/R15

Will this cause higher fuel consumption?
You are looking at the width only. By going 20mm wider without reducing the aspect ratio meaning the 50 series the 215/50 have increase your diameter by 3.37% and this will surely increase your FC as your car have to drive a larger diameter wheel. However you can try 215/45R15 but I don't think there is such a tyre size.
Alternative sizes for upgrade is 205/50R15 and/or 205/45R16.....

DerrickEe

Oct 18, 2012
Recently changed my tyres from 155/70/r12 to 165/55/r14. Car feels heavier during take off. As for FC,it worsened,but only slightly...

nadziad

May 14, 2011
johor
the bigger the rims the heavier the are...unless ur using 2 pice or 3 piece rims...hahha

DerrickEe

Oct 18, 2012
Not to forget I'm using stock Myvi SE rims on my 0.8cc Viva,which is much heavier than stock steel rims. Oops,totally forgot about the rim diameter and weight. My opinion is,I dont think FC will worsen badly though :smile:

malowar

Nov 3, 2012
Seremban
imho, it depends on what car u r driving, type of rims, etc. :itsme:

based on my exp, from stock 175/65R14 to 195/55R15 :

1. for vios 1.5, no issue of heaviness perhaps due to higher cc, fc slightly affected but negligible
-- pumping 34 psi on all 4 tyres

2. for myvi 1.3, feels a bit heavier during starting & acceleration, fc slightly more affected but negligible also
-- if myvi 1.5 should be no issue
-- pumping 34 psi on all 4 tyres

for myvi next change, perhaps will consider downgrade to 185/55R15 or 195/50R15 :idea:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
You are looking at the width only. By going 20mm wider without reducing the aspect ratio meaning the 50 series the 215/50 have increase your diameter by 3.37% and this will surely increase your FC as your car have to drive a larger diameter wheel. .....
Yes this is correct. Don't just look at the width and assume the overall rolling diameter stays the same. The 50 profile is % of the width, so if you increase the width and still maintain the same profile, then you'll also increase the diameter. By increasing both aspects like this, then surely will consume more fuel. As to how much, not sure but I think will be noticeable.

Dear all,

I'm driving the Saga BLM (A) 2010. Currently suffering powerless braking problem. Let me elaborate more on this matter.

When new car the brake feels ok but not really too good. After bout 9months feeling that the ORI pad cannot stand for high heat so decided change to Bendix Titanium. After change to Bendix Titanium, cool brake feel nothing while pedal have been fully pressed. For the Bendix Titanium i believe it can withstand for higher temp but too bad its fail me too...