where to find a good car welder?

jon3171

jon3171

Aug 3, 2005
Hi everyone,

Just wondering where is a good place to weld car bodywork like floor pan etc. Im based in subang jaya area, and would prefer if the shop is not too far from here. Looking for good workmanship and MIG welding NOT gas welding. Kindly let me know if you have a good place to recommend.

Thank you.

ken yeang

ken yeang

Actually, MIG is a kind of gas welding.....

Unless you are talking about oxy-torch welding, that is. Oxy-torch welding isn't all that inferior.

Anyway, here you go. I am not very sure whether business is still there or shifted already.

Contact person for Play House Garage :
Tis - +60123145486
Megat - +60192192292
Mus Djenrelle - +60123265415
Jario - +60162090785

47,JALAN INDUSTRI 1/5,TAMAN PERINDUSTRIAN USJ 1, SUBANG JAYA MALAYSIA.

Check this out:
A Wonderful Life Perhaps: Garage Visit : Play House.

But MIG welding uses gas to cool the welding. Welding spot narrower and small, good for thinner metal sheets. Oxy weld heats a large area, and for thinner metal actually weakens it, that was what I was told by the welder who did my awning.....lol

ken yeang

ken yeang

To be precise, MIG uses the gas (inert gases such as Co2) for shielding purpose. MIG is much better off creating quality and consistent weld spots. There wont be slag to clean off, due to this system. Since MIG is an auto wire feed system, MIG reduces the time of welding job.

On the other hand, Oxy torch is versatile, not just good for welding (that needs manual feeding of filler rods) but sometimes used for panel beating/metal and shaping. Magard sifu oso use oxy torch for brazing. Old skool, but still rules even to this day.

Which is why I say no one welding method is technically superior that the other.

Panel beater sometimes needs the oxy torch to heat panel for beating, so might as well use that for welding, if not need buy both....hahhahaha

jon3171

jon3171

Aug 3, 2005
Thank you for the information guys. I appreciate it! Keep it coming. Thanks again!

jon3171

jon3171

Aug 3, 2005
My car is a 1985 Bmw 5 series with a broken floor...I need some expert hands working to correct it...haha

ken yeang

ken yeang

That is a classic, for a 1985 bmw.

Have you remove all the carpet and investigate the condition of the rust?
Rust problem always looks lesser than it appeared, until you dig deeper....

ken yeang

ken yeang

if TS intend to keep the car for a long time, go for a good workshop with good workmanship.....but if just play-play for a while....then any welding shop can do...

Anyway, to do a good job, prepare to put the car at workshop for a while..

jon3171

jon3171

Aug 3, 2005
I've done most of the bodywork already...but I'm not so satisfied with some of the floor board work on the front....even though previously welded it has rusted in the seam....so I've had to take the whole interior apart again and retreat all the rusty areas...mostly not so bad but the floor edges need to be redone...so yea I'm looking for good workmanship....it's a keeper ...80% of the work on it done by myself...I would hate to see it screwed up by a crap mechanic

dudes, my mom's perdana executive also the auto gearbox koyak la.............
spent about 3K plus to buy 2nd hand gearbox but still not cekap la.......
when accelerate from stationary, have to do it very slowly otherwise the gear will jump from 1st gear to 2nd n got load thud sound.........
anyone can give me any advice?
what can we do to get rid of this problem?
we just replaced the shock absorbers n both upper n lower arms on both sides so now only the gearbox is a main...