What to watch out when buying used Toyota Mark X?

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Dear ZTH members,

Now I'm thinking to get a Toyota Mark X 2.5, maybe year 2005-2008. Are there any nagging problems/issues specific to this car that I need to watch out for when choosing one? Appreciate any input on this.

kUmUcHaI 11/1

Feb 28, 2010
JB - KL
Expensive loh when car rosak...but i prefer IS250.
Both expensive, spare part.

But anyway, driven Mark x before..nice car

I remember reading about a mechanical design flaw that affects the Mark X and a few other IS models. Not sure about the year though. Something about the hydraulic lifters sticking and causing high wear on the valves. Could be wrong though.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Expensive loh when car rosak...but i prefer IS250.
Both expensive, spare part.

But anyway, driven Mark x before..nice car
I also like the IS250 but not willing to spend that much. Older Mark X is nice enough for me at the moment.
Well I guess nothing is for free, want something nicer then have to kind of pay the price too. But it won't be as expensive as say a Bimmer 325i, right?

I remember reading about a mechanical design flaw that affects the Mark X and a few other IS models. Not sure about the year though. Something about the hydraulic lifters sticking and causing high wear on the valves. Could be wrong though.
Hmm have not yet heard of that yet. I'll try to google it. Thx for the info though.
Btw also wonder why not many of it on the roads here. Maybe due to this problem...

mghong2020

May 16, 2005
SETAPAK
Me laso the same..dont wanted to spent too much for a ride...:) Mark X seen match my requirement too and i still looking for one..

Right now is driving an Wira..:)

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Me laso the same..dont wanted to spent too much for a ride...:) Mark X seen match my requirement too and i still looking for one..

Right now is driving an Wira..:)
Prices already drop a bit now, can get recon G Spec yr2008 at around 120K+ & yr2009 should be <140K.

markblurberry

Jun 24, 2010
Hey Guest,,,no worried on mark x, my mechanic fren told me last week, car is virtually bulletproof just like a harrier..not much problems worth noting except for wear and tear...just that its 2.5 as such the heat and temperature need to pay some attention...btw...my mechanic fren repair continental cars, he highly recommend mark x...just like himself getting an estima eventho he can afford a 5 series...

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Yeah have been using for about half a year now. So far not perfect but still good enough for me.
My main complain about this car is the brakes which is not good (spongy), the gearbox reaction a bit slow, and the damn speed limiter seems not that easy to remove. Fuel consumption is not bad (best case can get around 10.5km/ltr in combined city/highway). Power ok lah, ideally would be perfect if got like another 50HP on tap. :biggrin:

wilm3

Aug 4, 2005
just take 1 as my fren owned 1 n never give single problem....oh ya...just routine service n maintenance will do....

MKMD428

Aug 21, 2005
johore
hows your mark X doing now bro...can you share your experience?
you owned the GRX120 right?

Hi brother's,
Need some info bout Perdana v6's plug cable!!I'm looking for good high performance plug cables for my ride does anyone here know's where can i purchase the item coz i tried to find round Jaybee but itz very expensive and i'm not totally happy with the products.If anyone here knows where to purchase it plz kindly gimme de info thankz in advance:_: