Undercarriage rust problem....Need advices....

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
Recently bought a car with lots of rust in the undercarriage. :banghead:

Even the mechanical parts are rusty....

Can anyone give advice on how to deal with this situation I am facing? :rofl:

Can I just spray or paint a coating of anti rust paint onto it?

Do I need to scrape the rust first or how?

Is the canned anti rust spray advisable to be used?

Can the famous plasti-dip be used for this purpose? :idea:

Thanks in advance for all opinions, comments & advices :wavey:

blitz

Depends on the level of rust that is found underneath the car... If its just minor, you can use the anti-rust spray to prevent the rust from spreading.

If the condition is too bad, you will need to scrape off the rusty metal, grind back to metal and spray anti-rust....

If there is a small hole, use fibre or bondo to patch it up...

If big hole... need to send for welding....

Best is to scrap off the rust first then paint anti rust. Rust is like cancer, once untreated it spreads and finally no cure....

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
What is the car model...
Its a 1974 model Volkswagen Beetle, the big tail lamp model.

Friends told me that the floor panel can be replaced with Made In China 2 piece prefab flooring.

But then again its the cost that matters, prefer to cut & weld some reasonably thick metal, but afraid it might not last.

---------- Post added at 01:58 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:54 AM ----------

Depends on the level of rust that is found underneath the car... If its just minor, you can use the anti-rust spray to prevent the rust from spreading.

If the condition is too bad, you will need to scrape off the rusty metal, grind back to metal and spray anti-rust....

If there is a small hole, use fibre or bondo to patch it up...

If big hole... need to send for welding....
I think the holes are quite big, and the fringe of the holes are very crappy crispy if you know what I mean..

Do you think if it will be wise to cut & patch welding?

The rest just spray or brush paint anti rust red paint,

Then resprayed the rubberised anti rust as last coating?

---------- Post added at 02:00 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:58 AM ----------

Best is to scrap off the rust first then paint anti rust. Rust is like cancer, once untreated it spreads and finally no cure....
Yes I agree, but how to scrub it off?

Using the high pressure car wash spray gun?

Or using the metal brush?

---------- Post added at 02:04 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:00 AM ----------

How often should we treat our car's undercarriage so it wouldn't rust? And send to where?
CBS,

I think newer cars dont have the undercarriage rust problem

I think they are factory treated anti rust, so the problem is quite rare, unless your car has got

water leaks that are not repaired and water ponding in the undercarriage.

blitz

u bought a rust bucket? why?
Collector's Classic leh!:driver:

---------- Post added at 09:58 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:57 AM ----------

How often should we treat our car's undercarriage so it wouldn't rust? And send to where?
Yup, Newer cars don't have that problem....

---------- Post added at 10:02 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:58 AM ----------

Its a 1974 model Volkswagen Beetle, the big tail lamp model.

Friends told me that the floor panel can be replaced with Made In China 2 piece prefab flooring.

But then again its the cost that matters, prefer to cut & weld some reasonably thick metal, but afraid it might not last.

Do you think if it will be wise to cut & patch welding?

The rest just spray or brush paint anti rust red paint,
Car that old, will need professional help to restore, if you want it to be in good condition.
Cut and weld? The welding will damaged it further and rust will set in also, if job to clean and seal it is not done proper.

Why didn't check under carriage when buying the car? :banghead:

arturo

nooB
SateCelupLand
not Sierra?

Anyway...the first thing is to know the extent of rusting then only decide on next course of action. What is the extent of rust? thru and thru? surface only?

further elaborate on "mechanical parts"?

somehow i feel like i'm walking into a minezone here.

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
u bought a rust bucket? why?
Yes I bought a rusted machine...

But I love it very much!

Gonna make it a hobby car and restoration guinea pig and learn some restoration techniques in the process.

hahaha....

Actually its an abandoned car, left to rust for years, but now Im salvaging it!:idea:

BTW it also purrrs abit like a Porsche too hahaha.....:biggrin::driver:

---------- Post added at 01:51 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:42 AM ----------

Why didn't check under carriage when buying the car? :banghead:
I loved it at first sight!

Willing to buy it even if it hasnt got an engine in it!

Already knew all old cars had this problem!

Remembered the days when the Datsun 120Y (flying coffin model), you can throw rubbish out from your floor pan,
so you wont get caught.:rofl::listen:

---------- Post added at 01:53 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:51 AM ----------

He had a vision...? Rich ppl think differently than you n I.
BTW Im not rich,

Im an ordinary guy in the street....:itsme:

---------- Post added at 02:04 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:53 AM ----------

or maybe Sue Lee told him to buy the car? :biggrin:
Sue Lee has got nothing to do with it!

You all are running your imaginations wild and seeing things which I couldnt even understand...

By the way, I think SueLee likes me a lot....

Probably my imaginations also running wild or its for real?

Sierra333 gonna pull my ears if she reads this! :viking::shot::damnmate:

hahahaha....

---------- Post added at 02:08 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:04 AM ----------

not Sierra?

Anyway...the first thing is to know the extent of rusting then only decide on next course of action. What is the extent of rust? thru and thru? surface only?

further elaborate on "mechanical parts"?

somehow i feel like i'm walking into a minezone here.
No explosions is expected, so no mine zone of bobby traps etc,

Mechanical parts meaning the suspension joints, brake etc, but I have already checked,
the rust is on surface only, no penetration of it....:biggrin:

any zth member can recommend any Workshop can tune camshaft with adj cam pulley ?
price ?
tq