toyota 4age silvertop

Mar 1, 2018
Mauritius
Hello everyone.
I'm new to this page,.
I'm a mauritian and i cant write english well,.
I just needed some help from you guys,.
I have a toyota 4age silvertop,.my problem is high fuel consumption,i recently swap this engine on my corolla KE 72 wagon to pickup conversion,and i'm having much trouble with the engine..
Earlier,i installed 2" straight pipe on the vehicle,with no resonator,nor catalytic,and the idle sounded rough,like rotary engine,.
Later i changed back to only a silencer at the end,
But still having rough idling
Black smoke and a having smell like unburnt fuel coming out of the exhaust,
In the begining,i ran on stock engine,but later i tried to disconect the air flow meter,and not having much diference on engine behaviour,so i remove the intake box and let it run on the ITBs like blacktop,.
The engine runs well without the air flow meter,but the fuel consumption is still high..
Can you guys help
Thanks

Asif

Mar 1, 2018
Mauritius
Hii,.ya the sparks plugs are good,...but when i remove them,they are all black,..like carbon formation on the tip,.

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
May 11, 2010
Petaling Jaya
Firstly, welcome to ZTH forum....

With faulty or no AFM, the ECU must be fueling maximum all the while, that is why high FC and plenty of soot and carbon....

Asif

Mar 1, 2018
Mauritius
But the fact is,even earlier with the AFM on,the sparks plugs used to be balck in colour when removed,..
And when i run the car,when i pressed the accelerator pedal,it goes on smoothly,but when i release the pedal slowly,the car like jumps a little faster for a second and then decelerate.

Asif

Mar 1, 2018
Mauritius
yOU NEED the AFM otherwise the engine wont know how much air its getting. Your AFM could be faulty.
http://www.cygnusx1.net/Supra/Library/TSRM/MK3/manual.aspx?S=FI&P=94