Silverstone FTZ Sport

camsaw

Dec 11, 2003
saw some track cars using this FTZ Sport in Sepang sunday track days...so very wonder how it performs..

anyone here used this tyre before?? can give comments and comparisons with other performace tyres?? especially comments on grip and traction ability on dry and wet surface..

thanks..

Temujin

Nov 5, 2004
currently having 235/45/17 ftz for my rears.. noise is one thing, lack of grip is another.. tends to slip.. kinda dangerous i think..

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
I'm run it by using 195/55/14 before...

it very bad on wet weather... I just used around 6 month then I change to Dunlop LM 701.

camsaw

Dec 11, 2003
haha...thanks for comments from you all :) seem like no one has good gripping experience with this tyre :D i'll consider other performance tyres then..

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
grip???this tyre just suck lah...

1st gear n 2nd gear wit this tyre car cannot move...car just jumping onli....lousy grip...

paultantk

May 22, 2004
silverstone ftz sport sucks. really really sucks like hell. dont know how they dare to put the sport name in the tyre name. junked these ftz sport for ad07 rubber last week.

TypicalGuy

Dec 29, 2004
cant compare and complain with any brand of tyres..coz it's the cheapest out there.

MrNismo

I love Silverstone FTZ. They break traction very easily, and it's quite controllable when it's in lose traction state, regardless of dry/wet. They wear off slower, can produce lots of smoke and noise when drifting on dry, and they are the cheapest 17-inch ZR rated tyres out there you can get for new which doesn't go swelling under heavy smoking application unlike other R-rated passenger car tyres. Highly recommended for FR drift cars, but only the rear.

R.C.

camsaw said:
saw some track cars using this FTZ Sport in Sepang sunday track days...so very wonder how it performs..

anyone here used this tyre before?? can give comments and comparisons with other performace tyres?? especially comments on grip and traction ability on dry and wet surface..

thanks..
My 2 cents opinion.

I've used it for about almost 2 years. ( left 5% - 10% thread) It can last long for me ( note I travel very frequent about 50-100 km a day ).

After 1/2 a year the performce drops dramatically.

Overall Peformance not that Good.My ratings 2 1/2 out of 5.
Grip on Dry surface 3 1/2 out of 5.
Girp on Wet surface 2 out of 5.

Mine is 195/50/15. Bought New From Klang for RM13X.

Temujin

Nov 5, 2004
MrNismo said:
I love Silverstone FTZ. They break traction very easily, and it's quite controllable when it's in lose traction state, regardless of dry/wet. They wear off slower, can produce lots of smoke and noise when drifting on dry, and they are the cheapest 17-inch ZR rated tyres out there you can get for new which doesn't go swelling under heavy smoking application unlike other R-rated passenger car tyres. Highly recommended for FR drift cars, but only the rear.
yup cheapest 17 ZRs u can find.. dat's y i bought them ahaha..

woo.. nice to drift wif em as rears aa.. nice to know :)

polyxtroy

Feb 18, 2004
Don use silverstones if u treasure ur life... period.