Satria 1.3 with 1.6 clutch

kirk83

Nov 8, 2004
Dear all sifu, my mechanic quote me RM520 for the 1.3 to 1.6 clutch, i suppose it is taken from the wira, i'm not sure new or secondhand, izzit worth to change ?? i'm driving stock satria. He say this will increase my pick up, is it true ? is RM500 worth for this modification or i better use it on other thing ??
Thanks for help

alvin24

Increas pick up? How do u explain your pick up being increased by changing to a bigger heavier flywheel? Everyone trying to lighten their flywheel... u making yours heavier? HEhehez...

Anywayz... from what I know... 1.3 usually change to 1.6 flywheel + clutch so that they can use racing clutch. There's no racing clutch for 1.3 clutch size.

You'd probably get a slightly better responsive clutch putting in OEM 1.6 flywheel and clutch... but i doubt your pick up will be better. You just get slightly better launching, but you'll also be getting slightly slower pick up.

paultantk

May 22, 2004
if im not mistaken arch using 1.6 clutch... he said better pick up bcos the clutch got better grip. the 1.3 clutch always slips he said

taqu

Dec 17, 2004
Normally 1.3 people uses Supertouring (from 4G67 engine) to match a 1.6 clutch. The flywheel is originally heavier but since skimming of the flywheel is necessary to fit the clutch, the weight is roughly the same as stock flywheel.

I've done it to my Iswara (using Exedy OEM 1.6 clutch kit for Wira). No problem dumping the clutch at 3000-4000RPM. The car wheelspin abit than launches.

cyborgsabah

Afghanistan
Originally posted by taqu@Feb 7 2005, 10:11
Normally 1.3 people uses Supertouring (from 4G67 engine) to match a 1.6 clutch. The flywheel is originally heavier but since skimming of the flywheel is necessary to fit the clutch, the weight is roughly the same as stock flywheel.

I've done it to my Iswara (using Exedy OEM 1.6 clutch kit for Wira). No problem dumping the clutch at 3000-4000RPM. The car wheelspin abit than launches.
can use 4g91 and 4g92p flywheel also.. easy to find as compared to 4g67... but got to mod the nut hole (4g13/15 use 6, 4g91/92p use 7)... B)

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
i'm using a super touring 1.6 in my 1.5 wira also....but 1st of all...if u wan pick up then u need 2 lightened it....they can send 2 a place 2 skim it....

but if u lightened it too much...1st n 2nd gear wheel spin not a prob...but then u'll lose ur top speed...

taqu

Dec 17, 2004
How to mod 4G9x flywheel into 1.3/1.5? Drilling extra holes onto the flywheel? That weakens the flywheel.

kirk83, for RM520 it should be new one. If u do plan to modify ur engine further, than 1.6 clutch is worth it. Otherwise, u don't really need a 1.6 clutch in a standard 1.3.

cyborgsabah

Afghanistan
Originally posted by taqu@Feb 7 2005, 18:17
How to mod 4G9x flywheel into 1.3/1.5? Drilling extra holes onto the flywheel? That weakens the flywheel.
the engineering/machine shop will tampal the hole and make new one.... oviously the material strength will be compromise, but a friend of mine done it on his 4g15 and running just fine.. not much hp and torque 4g15 can produce anyway ;)

msj92

Jan 18, 2005
Selayang Baru
Yes, U r right Yong. MMC super touring is plug n play. The cover n flywheel have same 5 holes compare to others 1.6 have 6 holes. If the enggineering drilling the holes not centered, it could cause unbalance.
My advice is to use MMC supertouring. It already centered n balance. What U need to do is lightened the flywheel. If possible, just skin the outer part of the flywheel instead of skin all the surface. It will give much more efficient on the pick up.

hey any si fu's or chamist student that knows the fomula and mix ratio of ingredients for the type of form that strenghtens the car chassis??? thanks !!! :_: