Rim and tyres question

spikyz

Jan 9, 2006
Good afternoon all, i have some question to ask

1) what is the original rim size for MR2? izzzit 15" ?
2) tyre size? 195/55?
3) Anyone have the stock MR2 rim for sale? =)

iexit

Aug 18, 2005
iexit.multiply.com
spikyz, which generation of MR2.
They come in 2 sizes (this should be right)
Gen 1 & 2 - 14inch (F-195/65, R-205/60)
Gen 3 - 5 - 15inch (F-195/55, R-225/50) Don't forget in the 90's 15's were not too small, but by today's standards 15's are for k-cars

spikyz

Jan 9, 2006
How to know what generation it does belong? mind to tell? i guess mine should be in gen 3-5 since it is in year 91? so it is 195/55? and rear 225/50? thx

midship

Jul 22, 2004
Across the pond
www.nismo.com.my
Dude, to answer your question...

Gen 1: Oct 89 - Dec 91
Gen 2: Dec 91 - Oct 93
Gen 3: Oct 93 - June 96
Gen 4: June 96 - Dec 97
Gen 5: Dec 97 - Oct 99

Gen 1 rims were 14s and 15s for the rest of the gens. Trying to find the 14s will be difficult and you might as well be looking for treasure if you are trying to find the 15s. Why bother looking for them in the first place as rims that are so old will probably hit a million potholes by now.

Why dont you join us tomorrow night for TT and have a better idea what other rims that might suit your taste.

spikyz

Jan 9, 2006
Good day

Im working and usually come out very late.. But i'll see u guys at bukit jalil for the magazine photo.

Well, the 18" we using currently do not bring a comfortable ride for my dad, so he asked me to find an original MR2 rim, so if anyone want to sell, feels free to contact me k. Btw we also searching for the original exhaust.

I know it weird, and some ppl say crazy, haha but me and my dad preffer to bring this MR2 back to its original look =)

iexit

Aug 18, 2005
iexit.multiply.com
spikyz, you don't need to go original, but buy a proper 16inch set will work out great for the ride. Your dad will be happy too. Further more 16inch you give you better handling and better tire selection.

You won't be able to fine the actual tire size for the 15's in M'sia unless your willing to import the tires or run wrong profiles. You can also obtain the stock exhaust form half cut shop / or members of this forum.

Ak1R4

Dec 31, 2004
If you really want, I have the standard ori 14" wheels.

kampung^boy

Nov 24, 2006
friend, some MRS rim question here, OK ?

if MRS use 17 rear and 16 front, it will become under power ?

if can then wat to do ? add one soft turbo ar ?

spikyz

Jan 9, 2006
yeah? thx for the info.. when come to think about it, u are correct. why searching for a rim that has been use for moe than 10 years, of coz thousand of potholes has been through. well my dad went to mun lee, n now changed his mind. thanks for the info dude.

kampung boy, i dont know the answer for ur question, but i would like to know the answer 2 =)

kampung^boy

Nov 24, 2006
yeah? thx for the info.. when come to think about it, u are correct. why searching for a rim that has been use for moe than 10 years, of coz thousand of potholes has been through. well my dad went to mun lee, n now changed his mind. thanks for the info dude.

kampung boy, i dont know the answer for ur question, but i would like to know the answer 2 =)

coz some friend say original 15 then only can change to 16,
if change to 17 sure underpower, only if u modify the enjin only ok,
so i also not sure it.:confused:

MRMIC2

Apr 18, 2004
try to get lighter rims like the forged ones which will give you less loss of power. Normally Aspirated (should run in 15 to 16s) as a guide. If u r running a turbo MR2 you will have enough torque to run 17". 18" rims are more showy :)
Looks good but minimal power. Have performance but minimal looks.
Your personal choice...

A total of 12,680 cars and bikes were sold via BMW Group Malaysia last year, setting a record breaking achievement growth of 16%, compared to its sales figure of 10,906 units in 2016. It is the premium automaker's seventh consecutive all-time high performance and had strongly reinforced its position as the most successful premium hybrid vehicle brand in Malaysia. This is based on the units delivered in 2017, consisting of BMW cars, BMW Motorrad bikes as well as MINI in total...