Putra Re-born

lola2574

Dec 18, 2009
Hi

Im new here and i hope you guys can help me out..

i send my putra a couple of days ago to change from auto gear to manual.

Amazingly i got my car today and it has been re-born!

Everything from the body to its engine, is standard accept for the alternator and rims..

so basically, i want your advice on how to make the engine run smooth.. with a bit of performance...
and perhaps some good mufflers? anything..

please let me know..

Thankkkssss :)

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
how come u send ur car for transmission swap, u get new engine??... where is the workshop i also wanna send my car there liao... change brake pad can get full BREMBO brake set??... change engine oil can get turbo kit liao....

DarkAccoon

i think he finally felt the power from a 4G93 plant.....
last time i changed my putra from auto to manual also same thing, each gear feels like it wants to red line.

just maintain the engine well
and maybe rebore it with 82mm high comp pistons
a sweet mivec extractor
a reasonable exhaust piping
renew all worn and half worn parts
it would be nice to drive d

lola2574

Dec 18, 2009
thanks you guys for the reply...

:)...

u reckon to maintain the engine well as in .. keep it standard but some parts need some changin rite?...

i was thinking to give some good air ... good brand air filters...
maybe thinking on putting good fuel regulators.. and to spice things up.. like u said.. reasonable exhaust piping..

and if i get the high comp pistons how much would it cost me?
alot of things i want to change but i just want to keep it maintain as it is.. i mean not changin the engine.. :)

plus,.. im a newbie in this.. so i hope u guys give me some support!

Thankssssssssssssss a lot.....

---------- Post added at 12:01 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:55 AM ----------

oh Skywalker..

I send my car to this shop.. D'Tuning in Bandar Sri Damansara.. the owner named Danial..
so far.. it has been 2 days out from the shop and the car is still 'smoking hot'---> im loving it... :biggrin:

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
Hi

Im new here and i hope you guys can help me out..

i send my putra a couple of days ago to change from auto gear to manual.

Amazingly i got my car today and it has been re-born!

Everything from the body to its engine, is standard accept for the alternator and rims..

so basically, i want your advice on how to make the engine run smooth.. with a bit of performance...
and perhaps some good mufflers? anything..

please let me know..

Thankkkssss :)
for engine smoothness, chang the engine bearing to race bearing, balance ur engine. U'll feel the difference... Hmm~~ sweetzzz.

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
maintain the engine well in the sense...always take care of your engine oil,water levels...don thrash the @#$% out of it ... :biggrin:

When is your timing belt,and major service due? i will suggest to do mods on the engine such as re boring your block,changing of bearings anything of that range when you are doing the major service...to save cost on labor.... if your major service is not due...then you can do this :

Extractor + Exhaust Mod.
Aftermarket air filter ie: K&N
lighten crank pulley...
iridium plugs.
Good engine oil with light viscosity

this should give you a nice fun experience for your 4g93.

If your major service is due/overhaul :

port and polish
upgrade to high comp piston
change to semi racing clutch with lightened flywheel

this should give you a really really fun ride ... :biggrin:

if you end up doing the PNP and piston upgrade you should get a piggyback also....ie: Emanage.

lola2574

Dec 18, 2009
ooo

ok.... i hope i can get the things rite! lol...

im still new in this stuff... thank you sooo muchhh...

but i wanted to know... one mechanic told me that my disk break needs... what its called..

flusk?? like making it straight flat or something..... the breakpads are good.. im not so sure about the disk brakes..
other than that... still a lot more things to do..

oh yeah.. i wanted to know.. its best for me to send my car to the same shop where i change my gearbox? or i should send to another specialist who does other things... ? and also.. can i get other engine parts myself and ask the mechanic to fix it or should just ask them to get it for me? :biggrin:

seriously sorry if i dont really know about these stuff.. im kindna new into this.. :))

Thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
hmm ok...

what ur mech is saying about the disc is..it needs to be skimmed...they will sort of shave the disc to remove any left behind chemicals from your brake pad,during excessive usage,or over a long period of time...you might have warped your disc...so they skim it...to clear it...they also use that method to make it even....

normally it would be best going back to the same mechanic IF he is reliable and also knowledgeable about modding engines .... so we dont know your mech personally ...but what kind of cars does he have there usually?

for installation of parts such as crank pulleys,or replacement of wear and tear parts should be ok,but things like port and polish,re boring the block,changing pistons ,you should not do it at a normal mech's place.one small mistake,your whole engine can suffer..and he will most likely not take responsibility for his own mistake....just becareful....make sure he knows what he is doing

yes,you can always bring in your own things/parts to change..they just charge you labor

lola2574

Dec 18, 2009
thanks for the reply...

about the disk... yeah i think i should check it again cuz it has been awhile since the last time i had it fix... or maybe never had it fix :S...

cuz the car has been abondened for almost 2 years.. and for the past couple of months... its back on track..

The place i send my car off... was good.. so far from what i see,.. he did a good job.. but im just waiting for a week or two to see the effects... hope there will be no bad effects.. i did in d'tuning in bandar sri damansara... its close by to my office.. (just in case of anything i can just send it off ther) and he has skyline fairlady and some modified cars... really nice work on the engines... by the llook of it.. and they provide dyno jet? or something... :)

btw,

its best for me to service my car first before i change any parts of the car rite? cuz i just change my gearbox.. and now i need to change the engine oil.. so basically its best for me to service it first then 're-furbished' whatever things i want to do with other engine parts.. ?

Thank you so much for your reply... really appriciate it.. :))

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
no problem bro... =] this is what zth is all about....helping and learning.

Your car should be in good hands...since they provide those kind of services.Lucky you it is also convenient. :top:

They can always get for you the GReedy emanage + tune + dyno all in one place..hehehe.

depends bro what kind of re-furbish are you gonna do ?Whats the mileage on your car ? any major service before? Change of timing belt? all the other belts?

if your car is in good running condition(no white/bluish smoke from exhaust)...low mileage...then just change your engine oil,oil filter and spark plugs....then begin your modding such as exhaust ,extractor/header,filter,plugs,and all..

when the time comes,and you plan to change pistons and do PNP....you can do your top overhaul also,change your timing belts,if changing pistons,change your pistonrings, bearings all also...and your engine will be as good as new....and run as smooth as Hot Brazilian super model booty... :rofl:

lola2574

Dec 18, 2009
thankkssssss

thanks for the advice.. really really appriciate it...

well so far my car is alrite.. no white smokes... is just the engine oil etc need to be change...
so YAY i can start modding my car after!

well about major services about the car... hmmm im not so sure cuz i wasnt here for almost 2 years and most probably my folks send it off to some mechanic shop and just ask them to service it without knowing what they r doing! lol

timing belt.... hmmm im not so sure about that yet.. i think it was ages ago... but stilll i need to check it out,...

and i wanted to know.. how can i make sure that its a goot extractor? stainless steel? chrome or watever? by the look of it? or how?

seriously thanks alot for your help! really really learned alot... :))

ps: i am a hot brazillian super model with a booty... LOOOLLL naahh just kidding.. im a girl thou ;) :biggrin:

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
if the car is left there for 2yrs....
n if i were u, i'll at least change the timing belt n other belting....
rubbers can harden over time....
n u wont know wat's the condition of ur timing belt now....
its better to hav it changed before it just snapped one day without any sign.....

also...monitor ur engine oil n water level frequently....
another way to know whether ur engine is having piston rings/bearing probs n head gasket prob....
when engine is left un-run for a long time...it somehow "eat" the bearings....
i've been thru this when i transplanted my engine....engine oil level keep dropping...no sign of white smoke or watever...
finally decided to change piston rings n all bearings...
when taking out bearings, oni realise crank bearing "makan" edi....
lucky i decided to change it.....

anyway...
for ur case...just use the car for sometime 1st....
i'm sure there'll be more wear n tear parts showing probs if ur car was left untouched for 2yrs....
all the bushings/mountings/bearings/etc.....
after some time, when all these wear n tear parts r working fine, then oni think abt modding....

just my 2cents la...
i mayb wrong....

lola2574

Dec 18, 2009
thanks for the reply...

yup...i still need to check on the timing belts and as what u said.. the bearings.. its true.. could be cuz the car only driven i think 3-4 times for 2 years???

thats what im planning thou... after a good car service and check up.. then i'll start doing some mods...

urm.. whats the price range for piston/bearing etc ?

thx calvin

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
i dun think there's a need to change ur pistons...
if u r refering to piston rings, conrod bearings n crank bearings, its not dat costly....
i get my pistons rings (RIK Japan) + conrod bearings (ACL Aluglide) + crank bearing (ACL Aluglide) + metal gasket for slightly less than RM500....
this does not include workmanship....oni the price of the stuff/spareparts alone....

hi,
i have a 4g13 carburetor car inside my Lmst, i found out the distributor is having problem cause engine jerk when AC on, rightnow intend to buy a new unit,question is can i use wira 1.6 model of distributor put it inside my 4g13 carburetor engine?if next time i want to convert my carburetor system to efi,can the carburetor model of distributor to be use in efi system without need to change?
beside this the stuff to convert to efi system is it ecu with wiring,intake magnaflow with...