Proton Satria GTI ABS issues

Nov 26, 2021
I need some help with my brakes. I want to disable the ABS to diagnose a problem, my local brake shop won't tell me how to do it because of insurance rules (I'm in Australia)
I have to figure out where the problem is, it seems no one here can help....since Proton left Australia some time ago, getting parts can be difficult.
Is there a relay under the bonnet that I can disable or remove for the purpose of the exercise, the fuse in the interior fuesbox also controls some other stuff so it has to stay.
Where is the control module located?
If someone can provide some photos I would be most thankful............I've also read in another thread of problems with the ABS operation related to wet weather?
I have been through the brake system and the only thing left is the abs components , but I don't like the idea of removing the pump considering it's pretty much buried inside the front wheel well. If anyone in Malaysia can help I'd like to hear from you.
Thanks in advance

I need some help with my brakes. I want to disable the ABS to diagnose a problem, my local brake shop won't tell me how to do it because of insurance rules (I'm in Australia)
I have to figure out where the problem is, it seems no one here can help....since Proton left Australia some time ago, getting parts can be difficult.
Is there a relay under the bonnet that I can disable or remove for the purpose of the exercise, the fuse in the interior fuesbox also controls some other stuff so it has to stay.
Where is the control module located?
If someone can provide some photos I would be most thankful............I've also read in another thread of problems with the ABS operation related to wet weather?
I have been through the brake system and the only thing left is the abs components , but I don't like the idea of removing the pump considering it's pretty much buried inside the front wheel well. If anyone in Malaysia can help I'd like to hear from you.
Thanks in advance
Actually - what is wrong with your brakes in the first place? There's a fuse to disable the ABS pump but I can't understand why you'd want to do that.

Also ABS in the older 4G1x Protons were pretty rudimentary. I don't recall them having any issues in the wet, considering Malaysia is either dry or freaking wet throughout the year. Like flood kinda wet.

Reactions: minibeany and wazzd

wazzd

Nov 26, 2021
I want to find out if the problem of one warm to very hot brake is being caused by the abs playing up rather than any mechanical issue that would be evident if the ABS were not functioning ie operating like a normal braking system. Every other part checks out ok the problem is intermittent, if it is the ABS I need to figure out if would it be the pump....or the control module that is the problem. Disabling the ABS for the purpose of diagnosing a problem is nothing new. The wet weather issue was spoken about in another post in this forum and related to an electrical issue with the control module and moisture......but like you said serious rain is not uncommon in Malaysia, likewise here in Queensland and this was the first I heard of it. We have just had almost 2 weeks of constant wet weather and strangely enough on my drive home on the wettest day (35km of Motorway at 100kph) out of nowhere I had the problem of one very hot caliper, and that was the first time in a month. I'm trying to figure this out by eliminating issues, like I suggested a couple of so called brake specialists have been of no help to me short of replacing the ABS...at last check the pump...if I could get one.... would cost more than the car is worth let alone having the work done, and who knows if that's even the reason for my trouble...that's what I'm trying to find out. Along winded answer I know but thanks for your reply.

in the engine bay there should be a fusebox which has the labels you're looking for. like in the sample below the ABS fuse on top left side. But as what all the folks there say - do at your own risk!

1638368619247.png

Could it be the hot caliper is binding on and off. Have you tried servicing the system, clean the caliper piston, clean and grease the floating pin etc.... My VR without ABS, but I do get this heated caliper issue and after service, they work fine until the next bind.....

minibeany

minibeany

Apr 30, 2017
Could it be the hot caliper is binding on and off. Have you tried servicing the system, clean the caliper piston, clean and grease the floating pin etc.... My VR without ABS, but I do get this heated caliper issue and after service, they work fine until the next bind.....
my 4G15 also experienced that extreme at one of the front caliper... removed it and service it... problem gone... since it was removed... decided to replace the brake pad and give the caliper a fresh red paint. hahaha....
caliper_800px.png

Reactions: wazzd

sifu all,
i need some help here to determine what is the problem with my waja 1.6

my brake pedal is spongy intermittently.... yes, intermittently....
sometimes when i brake, the pedal distance is very far, somehow i need to floor it and yet the pressure applied is little.....
but sometimes it is just fine, when i just step on the pedal a little, the car would come to a halt...

recent discoveries was the brake pedal travel distance is more consistent if the aircond is off throughout...