NiBK Performance Brake Pads for Evo

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Hello All,

I love my EvoX and when I first got it and after doing major service and full checkup, I brought it to Sepang for an Open Track Day. Loving it in many many aspects comparing to my previous Lancer however there is something bothering me... Braking Abilities...

I had problems with brake heating up and after a few rounds in the track, I LOST the brakes! The pads were smoking! The major problem here is ... The Brake Pads.. Stock pads isn't good enough... Time for some Performance Brake Pads...

After looking at the price of some famous brands, including OEM replacement pads for EvoX... My jaw dropped... RM1000+ per pair for STOCK pads?? Thats nuts... Then I was recommended by BP Chu from Acanta Autotech : NiBK.

So I did some research :
NiBK Brake Products

Sport oriented Formulas.
Features proven performance materials. The back plate marks are J701S, J702S, J703S and J704S. Material from this group are specifically engineered for sport applications to create great braking force graded from “H” to “I” by LINK dynamic friction test. The unmatchable resistance to heat and fast heat recovery provides high performance needed in top levels of competitive motoring like rallies and circuit racing. It should be used only with sport designed rotors and calipers to achieve the desired performance.
Sounds interesting enough.

So I went ahead and ordered these :
NiBK Brakes:: Application Cross Reference and Image for NiBK : Brake Pad : PN23002S

Here are the original FERODO Brake Pads. Fried and Almost used up.

Solid and Huge looking front brake pads from NiBK

Small yet powerful rear performance pads

Got them all installed within an hour for all 4 and the price on only a fraction of the big name brands out there... But the question is, how does it fair?

==============

I ran in these pads for 1000KM (Which I did it in just a week) Normal cruising speeds, no hard braking and no long long braking going downhill...

Initial findings :
These pads are very linear in braking power. It does not bite as soon as you step on the brakes, however the more you press on them, the more brake force you can feel. It is perfect for Left Foot braking usage or trail braking... Depending on techniques you used to go round corners at break neck speeds... :biggrin:

Spirited Driving Test :
I went to one of my favorite Hilly Cornering Route... Did a spirited drive up and down for 3 rounds, hitting speeds of 160km/h before braking for corners. The brake pads performed perfectly. No fading found during the 45mins drive.

Ultimate Test :
Sepang... the next TTA, These pads will be tested to the MAX.

Verdict :
For the price vs the performance that I am getting from these pads. It is a no brainer. This would be my day to day brake pads and my track brake pads. 2 in one package for the price of one....

Where to get :
You can get these at Acanta Autotech.

Here's the Facebook page :
No.37 & 39, Jalan Tasik Utama 3, Medan Niaga Tasik Damai,The Trillium, Lake Fields, Sungai Besi, 57000 Kuala Lumpur.​

---------- Post added at 10:20 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:12 PM ----------

Just as a reference, here are the list of compatible brake pads for EvoX

FRONT :

Owner Number
AC DELCO 1711112
AC DELCO 1710876
CADILLAC (GM) 89047725
DELPHI LP1858
FERODO FDB1968
FMSI D1001-7942
FMSI D1001-7902
FORD 4G7Z2001AA
GM (General Motor Corporation) 13329562
GM (General Motor Corporation) 22907156
GM (General Motor Corporation) 22866931
GM (General Motor Corporation) 92244289
HYUNDAI 581012MA10
MINTEX MDB2592
MITSUBISHI 4605A694
MITSUBISHI 4605A572
MITSUBISHI MR407377
MITSUBISHI 4605A049
MITSUBISHI MR 407 376
NiBK PN0150S
OPEL 1605100
SB BP41150S
SUBARU 26296FE120
SUBARU 26296-FE040
SUBARU 26296-FE042
SUBARU 26296-FE041
SUBARU 26296-FE100

Rear :

Owner Number
AC DELCO AC0581565D
DELPHI LP2177
FERODO FCP4168H
FMSI D1368-8477
FRITECH 843.0
MITSUBISHI 4605A584
MITSUBISHI 4605A695
NiBK PN23002S
PAGID T1876
REMSA 1364.02
TRW GDB 3488

... I diden know Subaru and EvoX shared front brake pads.

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
0-500 C... less than RM300
0-750 C... less than RM600

i took 750C for all 4... just slightly over RM 1k...Cheaper than competitor by half.

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009
johnsonlam,
The price are much competitive compare to Endless/Project U etc.

How about the brake dust after hard drive or daily drive?
Do these NiBK brake pad required to warm up & produce irritating sound?
What are the compound/material of the pads?

Waiting on your review after the track day or hard test drive.
As I been using Endless 0-500 & 0-400 pads for sometimes & no problem on braking (probably I still slow)

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
The pads performed well without warm up needed and no screechy sounds like those track used pads. .. As the rating is 0-750, it worked well for daily drive.
Although I realized during cold drives, the brake bites smoother.. and when it is braked a few times like in windy road, the braking power is slightly more "bitey"... So I guess the hotter the pad, the more grip it gives.

Brake dust are much much better compare to FERODO that I had.

The website didn;t mention much about the Materials though.. Except "Titanium Ceramic Formula" Sounds canggih... But am not sure if there are any Titanium in it.

[youtube]qDecOSdlbbc[/youtube]

I screwed up the brake pads in Sepang because I was testing how hard can the EvoX handles with ASC ON. As you know, ASC ON means Brakes are automatically applied to control both traction and yaw... It killed the pads after 3 hot laps... and the pads were smoking....

Dear all

My friend using a gen-2, now he wanna have some modification (remained as AT), since gen2 is kinda new in mod market, so i really need the help from all experienced personnel here. He got 2 options to go:

1. Use the original engine, reset of ori computer, port & polished, lightened piston, conrod and crank shaft balancing, this mod ll carry out by CM racing JB, according to the mech, they ll use the existing parts and do some modification to make it lighter and stronger...