Newbie to Forum -Suggestions for Proton Perdana Second Hand

Oct 27, 2014
Greets all and thanks a lot for viewing my post and thanks in advance for any advisement(s) :listen:

Recently bought an old(er) Perdana SE 2.0 (4cyl) yr. 1998 for good price - it's all stock and needs some maintenance eg. engine mounts, some suspension work, etc. estimated 2K worth of repairs is needed to get her back into basic shape - the body is in good condition and does not need any repairs. Gearbox is good as it's an automatic (so far - yes I've read the can be problematic).

So I'm new to Proton cars (foreigner) and would really appreciate some suggestions from the PROs - like let's say - you just bought this Perdana and had about, oh, say 15K extra to put in it - where to start and what to do? M staying in Selangor nearby Kajan area - and get to Seremban every once in a while as well - so if any of you PROs can recommend any good workshops and/or spare/new part shops this would also be appreciated.

In my country my car was a Golf GTi MKIV 1.8T - bought new - then just chipped it (APR tuned APR - High Performance Development for Audi, VW and Porsche Vehicles.), gave it an intake and exhaust.. was good enough for me although it had a lot more potential.

What kind of potential do these Perdanas have? Are there any intakes and exhausts? Any good suspension kits that can also handle all of the G-d damn bongols? Any sense to change to manual gearbox? Also any criticisms of this car are most welcome - I will not be offended... will be most appreciated so I can possibly know what problems to watch out for.

Many Thanks to All.

:driver:

gunnerzz

2,000 RPM
Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
Hohoho 15k budget....
Just wait till the others read your post.

anyway,u get a good car there.
advantage of the sei model against the more glamour v6 is maintenance is a bit cheaper.still,it wont have the feel of the v6.