Tom

TIMETOATTACK

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Jul 6, 2000

Grown up BRZ now makes 231ps / 279nm from brand new NA 2.4L flat-4. It retains the front engine RWD configuration but the coupe body has been further lightened, also tightened, with a 50% increase in overall rigidity while boasting a lower centre of gravity.

The chassis has been retuned as well, with a wider rear track and reinforced suspension mounting points. The launch model feature 18" wheels and Michelin PS4 rubbers.

Same transmission choices, 6 speed manual or 6 speed auto with paddle shifters.

Inside, the 2022 BRZ gets a full digital instrument cluster with a central tacho, g-force meter and Sport / Track display modes for different sets of vital stats at a glance.

Side profile very 370z
No turbo? kthxbye.

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Kinda look like it was inspired by 3 different sports cars imo
Exactly, like copying bits and pieces everywhere. Front like the Ferrari 599 or some Porsche SUV, rear taillights like NSX, duck tail boot like some Hyundai or something.

Sometimes might not come out nice......lol

I like it. Looks wise it's a significant improvement over the original looks.

But why are they refusing to go the turbo route?

Just sell a model with the turbo and charge the premium for it lor. $5K more for turbo sounds reasonable. Not like they need R&D just take the 2L from the WRX and drop it in.

But they make stupid special editions with spoilers and special color and charge you premium for it. Fiber and plastic is cheaper than turbo. They are just greedy.

Mitevo7

Mitevo7

Jan 14, 2008
N/A engine and REVs high, actually not really a bad combination for me, i am more concern on the reliability of this boxer engine, the last BRZ/86/FRS seemed to suffer from rough idling. Almost all 86 i test drove, suffered the same issue.

Just sell a model with the turbo and charge the premium for it lor. $5K more for turbo sounds reasonable. Not like they need R&D just take the 2L from the WRX and drop it in.

But they make stupid special editions with spoilers and special color and charge you premium for it. Fiber and plastic is cheaper than turbo. They are just greedy.
There's a known airflow problem with the BRZ/FT86 engine bay. There are lots of owners who add vents and scoops to no avail. Going turbo will only aggravate the heat problem.

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
N/A engine and REVs high, actually not really a bad combination for me, i am more concern on the reliability of this boxer engine, the last BRZ/86/FRS seemed to suffer from rough idling. Almost all 86 i test drove, suffered the same issue.
Even from new already rough idling?

There's a known airflow problem with the BRZ/FT86 engine bay. There are lots of owners who add vents and scoops to no avail. Going turbo will only aggravate the heat problem.
So the current brz/86 got overheat issues is it?
But this is a totally new car, so they should redesign it more properly then.

Mitevo7

Mitevo7

Jan 14, 2008
Even from new already rough idling?

So the current brz/86 got overheat issues is it?
But this is a totally new car, so they should redesign it more properly then.
I am not really sure, i only test driven 86 where their mileage are about 70-80k km's. All of them have rough idling and the previous drivers don't seem to care :confused:

dear all...

how help to answer me? and pls suggest good mechanic also.. hehe.. thanks. coz i feel that my car is very slow ler.. so i need some extra boost