need help on bad fuel consumption

alfi

Jul 26, 2011
Hi to all, i recently own a 97 Satria 1.6 with original Mitsubishi ECU. I have read alot about how 1.6 engine will be more efficient in fuel consumption than 1.3 because of the power to weight ratio. Note that my satria are in original condition including the exhaust except the exhaust header which the previous owner change it to 4-2-1 type. What has raised my concern is that my brother own a 2002 Satria 1.3 VDO with exhaust mods. We did a little test where he drove both car in a week time to compare the fuel spent.

Destination : Seri Kembangan-PJ (go and back to college, 50KM a day)
Days : 5 (Mon - Fri)

Fuel spent:
1.3 - RM30-35 for a week
1.6 - RM50-60 for a week

So, is the theory of 1.6 will be more save than 1.3 is not true? or is it that my car needed a tune up? maybe all 4G92P user can share how their engine FC is..thanks to all :)

Waiora_ProTuner

Nov 29, 2006
yup, not true...i also don't understand why people jumped into conclusion that underpowered car use more fuel...how to define underpower?

drive 1.3L car like 1.3L..
and 1.6L car like 1.6L..

the thing about heavy fuel consumption is when you drive it over or lower than the efficient range..
any petrol or diesel engine would shows that...too fast, heavy fuel consumption...too slow, heavy fuel consumption (not so)...

yup, not true...i also don't understand why people jumped into conclusion that underpowered car use more fuel...how to define underpower?

and 1.6L car like 1.6L..

the thing about heavy fuel consumption is when you drive it over or lower than the efficient range..
any petrol or diesel engine would shows that...too fast, heavy fuel consumption...too slow, heavy fuel consumption (not so)...
Usually we will feel that lower cc cars have higher FC only because we are driving a 1.3L
and hopefully it has the power more than 1.3L where you would eventually step more.

But then some cars are indeed very bad FC even normal driving.

So some would say Higher cc cars have better FC, due to the power of the car, you don't need
to step too much to get that responds while a 1.3L would need to step more to get more
out of it.

You intend to feel like is underpower if you don't do so. But then my 1.3BLM really makan minyak la
haha! Even if compare with 1.0L car.

SueLee

Apr 21, 2013
Guys, I'm driving a rented Proton 1.3 Auto. The pickup is horrible and the fuel consumption appears poor. A friend told me all 1.3 Autos are like that. Is that true? The pickup in the cold morning is the worse.

P.S. Oops, sorry to hijack the thread...but appreciate an answer.

and 1.6L car like 1.6L..

Yeah agree. Drive a 1.3 like a 1.3 and you'll get pretty decent FC. However most of us aren't able to do that. If you've ever driven a 1.5 and then suddenly drop to a 1.3, you'll struggle. Hehe.. Even a humble Wira 1.5 3-speed auto to a Myvi 1.3 auto was a difficult transition for me.

alfi

Jul 26, 2011
so we can conclude that the theory might be true but in a real practical world its more than just a theory...the size, model, and management of the engine that plays the actual part. Thanks for all the ideas, so now im going to maybe rechip or piggyback for a fine tune just to lower my fc hehe

watrul3s

Dec 2, 2009
Pulau Pinang
Hi to all, i recently own a 97 Satria 1.6 with original Mitsubishi ECU. I have read alot about how 1.6 engine will be more efficient in fuel consumption than 1.3 because of the power to weight ratio. Note that my satria are in original condition including the exhaust except the exhaust header which the previous owner change it to 4-2-1 type. What has raised my concern is that my brother own a 2002 Satria 1.3 VDO with exhaust mods. We did a little test where he drove both car in a week time to compare the fuel spent.

Destination : Seri Kembangan-PJ (go and back to college, 50KM a day)
Days : 5 (Mon - Fri)

Fuel spent:
1.3 - RM30-35 for a week
1.6 - RM50-60 for a week

So, is the theory of 1.6 will be more save than 1.3 is not true? or is it that my car needed a tune up?

maybe all 4G92P user can share how their engine FC is..thanks to all :)

If u drive in city, then 1.3 will be more save than 1.6
If drive in high way then will be 1.6 more save

YYC

Dec 30, 2007
Power-to Weight ratio is not a yardstick to measure FC. If higher power-to-weigh ratio = better FC, I would put whatever bigger cc engine allowed.

The Golf R already makes a pretty hefty 270hp at all four wheels, that is a lot for a car the size of the Golf but in the wild pursuit of horsepower, there is no such thing as enough. Enter German tuning specialist B&B, for these guys 270hp is considered puny and that's why they are offering engine mods in different stages, three to be exact.<!--more-->...