Need Advice - Upgrading Mivec to Mivec Turbo

mysyncorp

Dec 24, 2006

Really appreciated advice on upgrading my Mivec to Mivec Turbo.
1) What should I start with? :hmmmm:
2) How much roughly does it cost on this mods?
3) Suggestion any w/shop I could get this mods done..

FIY, I've installed a mivec 1.6. Engine still "Virgin".

Thanks in advance for your advice.... :adore:

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
get rid of dat mivec head, sell it off and get much sultans for the charging process. welcome to the dark side sir, pm for more details

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
dun be like that xtremeleo... lol ... if mivec turbo done properly, it will be monster also, drink oil + monster... lol ....most basic mod to gain power then 1.6 is upgrade to 1.8 ... big different .... mivec terbalik or normal?

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
haha, when a turbo is added to the equation, d mivec / vtec will be a limiting factor before its activated. trust me, get a non-variocam engine head instead. the mivec head allows u to buy a new 93 engine head and a better set of cams, for dat better flow off and on boost.

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
hurmmm... last time my mivec (with internal mod) is really my boost limit.... beause when mivec kick in, i not dare to push more to my pedal..... lol

mysyncorp

Dec 24, 2006
dun be like that xtremeleo... lol ... if mivec turbo done properly, it will be monster also, drink oil + monster... lol ....most basic mod to gain power then 1.6 is upgrade to 1.8 ... big different .... mivec terbalik or normal?

Mine is 1st Gen mivec... 2 wire i assume....
Any suggestion on this mods? Or a proper mods to be done? etc.

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca

Really appreciated advice on upgrading my Mivec to Mivec Turbo.
1) What should I start with? :hmmmm:
2) How much roughly does it cost on this mods?
3) Suggestion any w/shop I could get this mods done..

FIY, I've installed a mivec 1.6. Engine still "Virgin".

Thanks in advance for your advice.... :adore:
low compression piston, metal head gasket, turbine, bov, intercooler pipings, oil cooler, piggyback ecu, etc...

yesterday i went to tong turbo....

it a hell lot of things to look when converting n/a to turbo.....not only compression ratio...oil flow and breather passage also need to carefully altered....

not to mention the tuning....

all in the name of reliability..(yes u can bot cheaply to finish it...but most case..making it reliable was never meant to be cheap)

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
agree.... u must c alot of agong 1st before u make ur engine power and reliable..... myself spended 12k to make my mivec turbo reliable for daily drive, but not reliable in fuel consumption.. lol

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
it was ur tuning sir, how is the fc with a charged 4wd pulak? i hope its better ler

with 4wd it would be worse...due to more rolling resistant and oso due to heavier weight penalty for the tranny

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
not yet done le..... but i think it is fast liao the progress....from doing the 4wd, reservice whole engine, blank my car(include interior parts and engines) take 2.5 weeks time.....next week will be done..... my mech only 1 person doing it and sometimes frens help him for a few hours only, lol....85% done..... left only long shaft parts, exhaust,putting in evo 4 interior stuff(dashboard,door steps etc.), lubricants, wiring, and 1 more my headache problem... the knuckles are 5 lugs, my fren ask me change rims but my rims are 16" with 2 new toyo t1r..... i cant find rim 16 with 114.3 5 lugs here(cheap)...... can i redrill to 4 holes?? any big negative effects? any exhaust recommendation? i plan to do 2.5" direct with rear muffler suggested by my mech

i keep all things stock(except bov and the ori mines rechipped ecu from japan)i just hope it can last 250-300km per full tank is enough lol......din expect too much....last time mivec turbo without tuning cost me full tank per 100km, like lambo already lol..... xtremeleo, last time fc problem probably come from wrong wire connection for ecu by that stupid wireman.... now i change to 1 more expert 1, detected 3 wire connected wrongly(if i not mistaken,red,blue,green), before correct it, my car totally lost power, mivec like kancil 660 power, even worst then it, i have been tapau by kancil and wira 1.3 that time..... i think it is something to do with the map sensor... coz before fix, my exhaust damn loud even with 2 big midbox, some kind like the air is not smooth and choke inside, after fixed, smooth and silence...

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
it was ur wiring then? feck dat wireman upside down for me, can sir? lol

after dapat new skill ni, always feck everybody upside down laa, haha..)

err, back to the rim issue.. do not, i repeat, do not drill holes in the rims. its either u use back the old knuckles, or modify the new evo's to support 4 holes. dont ever drill ur rims

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
sory bro, i mean redrill the knuckle and disc brake to 4 holes... :burnout: