Need Advice - Upgrading Mivec to Mivec Turbo

mysyncorp

Junior Member
Senior Member

mysyncorp

Junior Member
Senior Member
Dec 24, 2006
9
0
1,501
Hi guys,

Really appreciated advice on upgrading my Mivec to Mivec Turbo.
1) What should I start with? :hmmmm:
2) How much roughly does it cost on this mods?
3) Suggestion any w/shop I could get this mods done..

FIY, I've installed a mivec 1.6. Engine still "Virgin".

Thanks in advance for your advice.... :adore:
 

xtremeleo

3,000 RPM
Senior Member

xtremeleo

3,000 RPM
Senior Member
Oct 18, 2005
3,248
464
5,183
get rid of dat mivec head, sell it off and get much sultans for the charging process. welcome to the dark side sir, pm for more details
 

peterj

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

peterj

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Apr 27, 2010
1,321
258
1,683
Kuching
dun be like that xtremeleo... lol ... if mivec turbo done properly, it will be monster also, drink oil + monster... lol ....most basic mod to gain power then 1.6 is upgrade to 1.8 ... big different .... mivec terbalik or normal?
 

xtremeleo

3,000 RPM
Senior Member

xtremeleo

3,000 RPM
Senior Member
Oct 18, 2005
3,248
464
5,183
haha, when a turbo is added to the equation, d mivec / vtec will be a limiting factor before its activated. trust me, get a non-variocam engine head instead. the mivec head allows u to buy a new 93 engine head and a better set of cams, for dat better flow off and on boost.
 

peterj

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

peterj

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Apr 27, 2010
1,321
258
1,683
Kuching
hurmmm... last time my mivec (with internal mod) is really my boost limit.... beause when mivec kick in, i not dare to push more to my pedal..... lol
 

mysyncorp

Junior Member
Senior Member

mysyncorp

Junior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Dec 24, 2006
9
0
1,501
dun be like that xtremeleo... lol ... if mivec turbo done properly, it will be monster also, drink oil + monster... lol ....most basic mod to gain power then 1.6 is upgrade to 1.8 ... big different .... mivec terbalik or normal?

Mine is 1st Gen mivec... 2 wire i assume....
Any suggestion on this mods? Or a proper mods to be done? etc.
 

SkYwAlKeR

Over 10,000 RPM!
Senior Member

SkYwAlKeR

Over 10,000 RPM!
Senior Member
Mar 12, 2005
10,138
300
3,183
ePoh ~ malacca
Visit site
Hi guys,

Really appreciated advice on upgrading my Mivec to Mivec Turbo.
1) What should I start with? :hmmmm:
2) How much roughly does it cost on this mods?
3) Suggestion any w/shop I could get this mods done..

FIY, I've installed a mivec 1.6. Engine still "Virgin".

Thanks in advance for your advice.... :adore:
low compression piston, metal head gasket, turbine, bov, intercooler pipings, oil cooler, piggyback ecu, etc...
 

^pomen_GTR^

7,000 RPM
Senior Member

^pomen_GTR^

7,000 RPM
Senior Member
May 13, 2010
7,509
1,690
1,713
The Mines
yesterday i went to tong turbo....

it a hell lot of things to look when converting n/a to turbo.....not only compression ratio...oil flow and breather passage also need to carefully altered....

not to mention the tuning....

all in the name of reliability..(yes u can bot cheaply to finish it...but most case..making it reliable was never meant to be cheap)
 

peterj

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

peterj

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Apr 27, 2010
1,321
258
1,683
Kuching
agree.... u must c alot of agong 1st before u make ur engine power and reliable..... myself spended 12k to make my mivec turbo reliable for daily drive, but not reliable in fuel consumption.. lol
 

^pomen_GTR^

7,000 RPM
Senior Member

^pomen_GTR^

7,000 RPM
Senior Member
May 13, 2010
7,509
1,690
1,713
The Mines
with 4wd it would be worse...due to more rolling resistant and oso due to heavier weight penalty for the tranny
 

peterj

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

peterj

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Apr 27, 2010
1,321
258
1,683
Kuching
not yet done le..... but i think it is fast liao the progress....from doing the 4wd, reservice whole engine, blank my car(include interior parts and engines) take 2.5 weeks time.....next week will be done..... my mech only 1 person doing it and sometimes frens help him for a few hours only, lol....85% done..... left only long shaft parts, exhaust,putting in evo 4 interior stuff(dashboard,door steps etc.), lubricants, wiring, and 1 more my headache problem... the knuckles are 5 lugs, my fren ask me change rims but my rims are 16" with 2 new toyo t1r..... i cant find rim 16 with 114.3 5 lugs here(cheap)...... can i redrill to 4 holes?? any big negative effects? any exhaust recommendation? i plan to do 2.5" direct with rear muffler suggested by my mech

i keep all things stock(except bov and the ori mines rechipped ecu from japan)i just hope it can last 250-300km per full tank is enough lol......din expect too much....last time mivec turbo without tuning cost me full tank per 100km, like lambo already lol..... xtremeleo, last time fc problem probably come from wrong wire connection for ecu by that stupid wireman.... now i change to 1 more expert 1, detected 3 wire connected wrongly(if i not mistaken,red,blue,green), before correct it, my car totally lost power, mivec like kancil 660 power, even worst then it, i have been tapau by kancil and wira 1.3 that time..... i think it is something to do with the map sensor... coz before fix, my exhaust damn loud even with 2 big midbox, some kind like the air is not smooth and choke inside, after fixed, smooth and silence...
 

xtremeleo

3,000 RPM
Senior Member

xtremeleo

3,000 RPM
Senior Member
Oct 18, 2005
3,248
464
5,183
it was ur wiring then? feck dat wireman upside down for me, can sir? lol

after dapat new skill ni, always feck everybody upside down laa, haha..)

err, back to the rim issue.. do not, i repeat, do not drill holes in the rims. its either u use back the old knuckles, or modify the new evo's to support 4 holes. dont ever drill ur rims
 

peterj

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

peterj

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Apr 27, 2010
1,321
258
1,683
Kuching
sory bro, i mean redrill the knuckle and disc brake to 4 holes... :burnout:
 

^pomen_GTR^

7,000 RPM
Senior Member

^pomen_GTR^

7,000 RPM
Senior Member
May 13, 2010
7,509
1,690
1,713
The Mines
u can alway order cnc adaptor plate to convert from 4stud type into 5stud..bust cost would be an issue....
 

peterj

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

peterj

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Apr 27, 2010
1,321
258
1,683
Kuching
normally we just go machine shop and machine it.. lol.... no big problems as long as it is done by quality ppl rite??
 

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Senior Member

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Senior Member
Dec 14, 2006
3,310
280
1,683
Penang
normally we just go machine shop and machine it.. lol.... no big problems as long as it is done by quality ppl rite??

any cnc machine shop can fabricate the kuckle dat u want, it's an easy task..nonit to worry..
 

peterj

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

peterj

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Apr 27, 2010
1,321
258
1,683
Kuching
here, by doing those to 4 holed + reskim disc brake, all 4 pieces cost at least rm500
 

Veloc

3,000 RPM
Senior Member

Veloc

3,000 RPM
Senior Member
May 19, 2010
3,234
991
1,713
Sabah
Sorry I'm no expert, but I have considered to do this before. So i did some research last time. If you want high boost, >0.5 bar, U gotta change the pistons and strengthen some internals. And it is not good for city driving as FC will suffer a lot...

But a low boost would be easier, cheaper top modify and should be good for FC over the stock mivec. Give it a 0.4-0.5 boost. No need to change pistons but you gotta add in an engine head spacer and at least 1.5 - 2.0mm metal head gasket. That will lower compression. Then tune the AFR properly with Emanage or similar piggyback. All should cost around RM 5k I guesS?
 

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Senior Member

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Senior Member
Dec 14, 2006
3,310
280
1,683
Penang
okie den, i tot u wanna drill the rims, lol. ive seen it being done, and one of it cracked, owner macam nak pengsan pun ade..

i cannot imagine why would one do smth like dat...:stupid:
 

joe_mirage

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

joe_mirage

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
May 7, 2006
1,030
44
1,648
rotationperminute.blogspot.com
to make it reliable, i would suggest,

-low compression pistons for example from 4agze, gsr .. or aftermarket ones.
-metal gasket... ticker if you wanna play high boost
-turbo kit of course XD
-standalone ems .... piggyback? can but not sufficient
-and better to use rpw camshaft for mivec turbo.
+ for low boost can opt for 232/232 1st profile and 256/256 for 2nd profile
+ high boost can opt for 252/232 1st profile and 272/272 for 2nd profile

just my 2 cents not my nonsense.
 

peterj

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

peterj

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Apr 27, 2010
1,321
258
1,683
Kuching
everythings needed is simple... collect more agong 1st ... :driver: ... for my set up

1.) supercharge piston + conrod(low compression)
2.) turbo tdo5h with tdo6 turbine
3.) emanaged blue
4.) evo 3 510cc injector
5.) upgrade to 1.8

boost 1 bar, actually can be tuned to withstand 1.5 bar but not reliable for long term i think(plan to use for 5 years before), already very fast till car become no stable full boost accelerating...... even with r888..... that is y i upgrade to 4wd....... i have all the item u need to upgrade to turbo except turbo, intercooler and piggy, actually camshaft is no compulsary, u may pm me for more detail sir, for the fc concern, when u have a monster, it is normal to feed more, but more depent on ur right foot and don always let ur bov breath...
 

mysyncorp

Junior Member
Senior Member

mysyncorp

Junior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Dec 24, 2006
9
0
1,501
Really appreciated for the info...

how about the wiring? is there any problem if i'm still using the mivec ecu and wiring?
 

peterj

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

peterj

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Apr 27, 2010
1,321
258
1,683
Kuching
no problem, just need other extra ecu for ur turbo tuning.... if u get a standalone, then u probably no need ur stock ecu but u need retain the wiring, but if u only use piggy, ur stock ecu is needed..

---------- Post added at 03:05 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:04 PM ----------

as u r new , i suggest u go for upgration to 1.8 1st, it is already different from 1.6, got more torque from low end to high end..
 

mysyncorp

Junior Member
Senior Member

mysyncorp

Junior Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Dec 24, 2006
9
0
1,501
i'm planning on buying the item needed 1st b4 implanting. One time labour charge... huhuhu

My master plan is:
----------------------------------------------------------------------
1) Get the knowledge on do's and don't's
2) Parts required on this project
3) $$$ estimation
4) the pros and cons
----------------------------------------------------------------------

peterj what is your ekzos setup on your previous mivec turbo project?