Moving battery behind

starscream

Aug 18, 2007
I was thinking of shifting my car battery to my rear compartment, but i got to know that battery actually emits acidic gases, anyone have any idea? or using a dry cell battery won't emit any gases, please advice!

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
I was thinking of shifting my car battery to my rear compartment, but i got to know that battery actually emits acidic gases, anyone have any idea? or using a dry cell battery won't emit any gases, please advice!
Just normal Maintenance Free (MF) battery oso can.. no need to buy dry cell

FYI, never done it before but watched the installation process at bengkel

starscream

Aug 18, 2007
thanks guys but will the sard kit mount the battery nicely, even during hard corners reisya?

DarkAccoon

DIY my own battery relocation.
Cost me around... RM 150 or less only.
Did not really count.

About RM 70 for 4gauge cables (could have been cheaper if only i could source for welder's cable and better)
About RM 20 for the heat shrinks (yeah, kiasu me heat shrink the entire cable)
About RM 5 for the alluminium plate to distribute the positive in the front
About RM 9 for the box (buy from giant)
About RM 0:50 for the screws
About RM 10 for the 100 Plus (hey, i drink a lot)

Effects.... lots of space in the front.
Whacking corners super hard at 140 to 160 and battery stays intact. No sound nothing.
a good DIY project. Not worth letting others do it.

starscream

Aug 18, 2007
DIY my own battery relocation.
Cost me around... RM 150 or less only.
Did not really count.

About RM 70 for 4gauge cables (could have been cheaper if only i could source for welder's cable and better)
About RM 20 for the heat shrinks (yeah, kiasu me heat shrink the entire cable)
About RM 5 for the alluminium plate to distribute the positive in the front
About RM 9 for the box (buy from giant)
About RM 0:50 for the screws
About RM 10 for the 100 Plus (hey, i drink a lot)

Effects.... lots of space in the front.
Whacking corners super hard at 140 to 160 and battery stays intact. No sound nothing.
a good DIY project. Not worth letting others do it.
thanks for the advice, what material is the box bought from Giant?

DarkAccoon

SKYWALKER, YOU ARE CORRECT

toyogo boxes. but its kinda hard to find the correct size.
ehehe
mine was a little small, so gotta do some "operation" to increase the height.

BTW, my battery is a NS70 non maintainence free size battery. So yeah its heavy and if it sticks to the back, it will pretty much take any kinda battery,

proPIPING

Mar 23, 2006
MAKE SURE DA CONNECTION FROM DA ORIGINAL + LOOM AT THE FRONT IS REALY SECURE!...I'VE SEEN SMOKE COMING FROM MY FRIEND CAR BECAUSE OF DA CONNECTION FAIL AND SPARK TO DA CAR BODY(-):thumpdown:

DarkAccoon

which is also another reason why DIY is good....
u can't trust most installers since their thinking is "not my car mar"

ken yeang

Guys, I don't want to sound like a party-spoiler here, but I think relocating the battery (DIY way) to the back of the car is consider illegal, from JPJ point of view.

i know this has been a very common thin, even more common in the overseas country. Anyway, a couple of my mechanic friends had been issued summon about the mod and had to revert back to the original battery location. Just my 0.2cents worth.

Turn1

Apr 27, 2008
Nissan R33 GTST comes with boot mount battery as stock config?

Go figure!! Can JPJ reject this car??
If done correctly and safely, don't see how they can defect? Maybe they can, just my 2 cents worth..! Maybe depends of the condition of the rest of your car...?

Turn1 :slug:

DarkAccoon

Ken Yeang,

No issues,

My ride = Putra.
Modification done by myself.
Went thru Puspakom with ease during my gearbox conversion checkup.
They never even question on the battery.

Note: they did pop up the hood. and look intensely around for anything illegal. And the boot was open as well for their checks.

So i presume that the modification is OK. but then again, knowing how Puspakom and JPJ work, they can change their mind anytime. This are the words from someone (ME) who kena saman for HORN TAK CUKUP KUAT.

I wanna mod my 4g91...I feel my 91 like 1.3sohc engine. Cannot tapau my friend. he oso use 4g91(stock)...

So, i need someone to help me to mod my engine..please....