How To Clean Throttle Body?

Avanzato_R

Feb 18, 2006
Hello all members ZTH,
Can somebody teach me how to clean up my throttle body??
My car timing going crazy (like high cam).
Can any one show how to clean throttle body.
FYO i using L200 turbo engine.Just check my air host,vacuum and boost host, no problem at all.I'm suspect my throttle body are bit dirty @ tersumbat.
:adore:
Thanks in future.

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
use carburator cleaner to spray into ur throttle body and at the same time tekan ur fuel up til 2,000rpm or more.

or else u can buy dcarbo things which also follow the same step.

or else u can try 3M wat wat cleaner. forgot the name liao. accessories shop got sell a lot. the price is Rm21 if not mistaken.

or else u cabut ur throttle body and use DYNAMO detergent to clean it in washing machine. <- guarantee clean!

mag9556

Jul 11, 2006
Actually that problem is very normal for L2..
U can try to take out the TB and wash it with petrol by using brush..
but this is just for time being only.. the problem will back again coz the TB is like that...hehehe... good luck

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
if this is a common problem then u should change the ECU to aftermarket standalone ECU. hehe.... expensive!

dirty throttle body cause ur engine to easily auto shut down and the engine not smooth. once ur turbo kick in i think all the dirt will be sucked into the combustion chamber and burnt! u check if ur oil is top too much til it flow into the intake manifold.

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
i think i got a solution. carry a tank of O2 and supply O2 to ur throttle bod. sure ur TB will breath healthy!

change ecu wont scare him lar. i hvnt finish saying yet.
if change ecu wont help then have to upgrade to SS bigger TB.
keke....
stock TB too small.

mag9556

Jul 11, 2006
i think i got a solution. carry a tank of O2 and supply O2 to ur throttle bod. sure ur TB will breath healthy!

change ecu wont scare him lar. i hvnt finish saying yet.
if change ecu wont help then have to upgrade to SS bigger TB.
keke....
stock TB too small.
if like this NOS better what.. no need to change this and that just plug and play somemore can clean the TB also...hehehehehehe....

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
yeah.
plug NOS in. make sure u buy the bigger shot which can pump out 100HP.
haha..............

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
ya.
spray at there and open the butterfly big big.

Maxx

Feb 17, 2005
PD-Putrajaya-KL
wouldn't it be better if you clean the part after the TB?
usually the TB will be dirtier that the manifold (if u r refering to that.)
and TB cleaning can be DIY coz if want to clean manifold, need to take it out.

btw, u can clean the manifold after removing the TB. just spray TB cleaner inside it.

for TB cleaner, i recommend STP CARB Cleaner red blue bottle.

Avanzato_R

Feb 18, 2006
wOW...got many respond yeah...thanks a lot guys....this weekend i try DIY using dirt cleaner buy at kedai ABANG..hehehe...i'll tell how da result....so i just take out intercooler host at da TB and just spry at da hole yeah?(correct me if wrong).
Any suggestion to change for big TB? custom made or take out from other car?

FYI i using this L200 engine bout 6 years.Lately im seldom used this car.Im plan to light modi to this engine (external part only i.e bigturbo,downpipe,fuel regulator,big intercooler) any opinion??..how many HP can i gain if change all above part??

It was only a matter of when, not if; and true to form, German tuners Hamann have unveiled the first styling package for the new BMW 5-Series (F10).

The kit, although anything but subtle, is more of a...