Gearbox Problem

Sergei_korolev

Sep 27, 2009
Hi Guys,

I just recently replaced my gearbox for Putra NA from auto to manual
i got a Mivec GB and i have a serious problem now
i have changed steering rack, drive shaft and clutch set.
they have checked the crossmember,etc
there is no issues except when i rev

if i rev above 5000rpm, a sudden heavy spinning sound is heard
it sounds like some spindle is rotating and this happens even when engine is idle
this is the 2nd time since changing GB and mechanic mentioned
its the gearbox bearing and something to do with the flywheel
they had those changed and now after testing the car, the noise started again
when i press the clutch, the sound lessen and when i release clutch it starts again.
its loud and sounds like something is going to break.
Help please.

blitz

Hi Guys,

if i rev above 5000rpm, a sudden heavy spinning sound is heard
it sounds like some spindle is rotating and this happens even when engine is idle
this is the 2nd time since changing GB and mechanic mentioned
its the gearbox bearing and something to do with the flywheel
they had those changed and now after testing the car, the noise started again
when i press the clutch, the sound lessen and when i release clutch it starts again.
its loud and sounds like something is going to break.
Help please.

This is why i never believe in engine transplant.... either keep it standard or buy original car.........

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
There are countless of engine and gb transplant out there that are running just fine. It is just the matter of quality and workmanship.

Bro, where did you get the gb from? If from halfcut shop, I suggest you go change it while it is still in the warranty period. To diagnose and fix the problem also can. But if you have just acquired the gb and just transplanted, it might be cheaper to get a replacement gb than to try and error everything. Unless are there any sifus here who can help this bro???

Sergei_korolev

Sep 27, 2009
i got the Gb from halfcut
i'm heading to the shop now, its pretty tiresome work going back n forth..
is there anything else that could be wrong or is it just the gearbox

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
if u change parts & it doesn't work well.. CHANGE THE MECHANIC :biggrin:

Sergei_korolev

Sep 27, 2009
change will be done as soon as he fixes the problem one way or another
just came back after sending the car, plus paid alot of cash
its like shit the sound like i driving a truck or tractor...
if you guys have an eyedea what could trigger this, do assist me a little

alonso

Apr 29, 2005
suppose manual gearbox not so many problem compare to auto but since u got from halfcut its depend on ur luck bro coz its second hand parts/item and we dont know the history before...but if still under warranty just claim/change another set lorr...

Sergei_korolev

Sep 27, 2009
bro, if its due to synchro bearings, does it mean the GB itself was probably faulty in the first place?
I have sent the car and mechanic is also puzzled..!!
he mentioned something to do with clutch plate but it does not look
like even racing clutches are going to solve the problem.

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
now lots of workshop doing gearbox overhaul..

u should try it :wink:

Sergei_korolev

Sep 27, 2009
Thanks for the encouragement
If anyone knows one around Kepong, I dont mind
checking the place out, maybe give me like a link or phone number
thanks again

jonlsl

Jun 18, 2012
If you are going to swap another gearbox when you take the old one out just leave it out and start the engine and rev the car. make sure the sound is not coming form the engine side. Once after confirmed that its not from the engine then try the 2nd gearbox. If the 2nd gearbox got sound, its either an installation problem, alignment, spacing problem or there is something wrong with the gearbox bearings or the input shafts might be also worn so that a change in bearing also might not help. There are a few possibilities very hard to diagnose when we cannot see the installation process and actually hear the sound.

Sergei_korolev

Sep 27, 2009
Hello Peeps, My issue is resolved finally......
it was the damn gearbox, changed it and my triple 2
is running beautiful...Thanks again

spoon civic

Jul 12, 2012
terengganu
There are countless of engine and gb transplant out there that are running just fine. It is just the matter of quality and workmanship.

Bro, where did you get the gb from? If from halfcut shop, I suggest you go change it while it is still in the warranty period. To diagnose and fix the problem also can. But if you have just acquired the gb and just transplanted, it might be cheaper to get a replacement gb than to try and error everything. Unless are there any sifus here who can help this bro???
yes, if under warranty,better change the gearbox,if not,maybe u will got headache to find problem and your money will burn if trouble shoot not at the exact problem.

The SLC has been caught testing before, specifically hot weather testing in the Californian Death Valley and what you see here are images of the SLC Mule during winter testing.

If you’re thinking that it looks like a Dodge Viper, well, don’t be fooled, it is only a camouflage, the top of the line Mercedes AMG will...