Extractor: Tri-Y vs 4-1

boyzone

2,000 RPM
Mar 13, 2005
I was told that Tri-y extractor is more suitable for street use compared to 4-1... as is the hybrid design between std 4-2-1 n 4-1; manage to cover start from low end torque to high end power.
Any user here? Mind to share the experience ? I'm new in Tri-Y extractor....Thx:adore:

vr2turbo

((( God Level 30,000 RPM )))
Helmet Clan
May 11, 2010
Petaling Jaya
Found this.....

What is the difference between a TRI-Y and a 4-into-1 design?
A 4-into-1 design is perhaps the most traditional design. This design is common to the US market and is well used within the drag race fraternity. The basic principle behind the design is that the scavenging effect within the collector cone effects the three remaining pipes (in a V8 half), instead of limiting the pulse to the very next pipe in the sequence. This generally results in a header that performs very well in the mid-range to top end of the engines performance.

A TRI-Y on the other hand splits the firing order evenly and uses the secondary pipes as sequential collectors. This results in generally a greater scavenging effect due to the fact that scavenging is achieved at 2 different points in the header design, firstly at the primary to the secondary collector and secondly to the secondary outlet collector. Generally this improves torque in the lower to mid range performance of the engine.

Both designs are usually more efficient than a standard manifold and both offer distinctly different advantages.

Daily street use need more low and mid torque rather then high end so Tri Y is more useful....:biggrin:

Supra_Fanatics

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Sep 17, 2008
Found this.....

What is the difference between a TRI-Y and a 4-into-1 design?