Engine Wash

babyGreddy

Nov 27, 2003
kuala lumpur
hi sifus'

last week i took my car to car wash centre n at first i intended to wash my car engine but there,i saw a guy just washed his perdana n he couldn't even start the car. when i went to check it out i realised that he didnt cover his air filter maybe this could be the problem i told him but he never bothered maybe im a girl whose advicing himlah!!! :D

then i decide not to even wash my car.

but if i were to wash my car engine what the tips or steps that i have to take in order to wash it myself???

help me with this,my engine compartment very sandy!!

lumghini

Dec 13, 2003
members.cardomain.com
to wash the car's engine...erm...u have to cover the fuel injection part...(dunno wats that called)....,like u said the airfilter...but...no need to cover...maybe just don spray water in it...cos once engine go in water...thats it....
some more...the wires all that...try not to spray directly into them....the ecu is another important part....

but my suggestion to u is not to wash urself...cos u dunno how mahz...and if u give ppl wash...they use the compressor shoot...more 'accurate'....and if realli suai suai anything happens...at least u got someone to blame mahz...hahahaha

limau

Mar 29, 2004
true true, got someone to blame :lol: ,for me la (me not sifu,just a guys who wash my car myself :) ) the part u need to cover is the distributor (the round type one)or the electronic point type (eg.vr4,gsr etc etc) and if u r using the open pod air filter,cover it to.One thing to remember not to spray the water directly to the ignition component (spark plug,spark plug cable,coil(external type) ) thats all :) (correct me if i'm wrong)

donchichi

Subang Jaya
And to keep it safe.. make sure you have a few hours to let it dry so you don't short circuit/etc anything before you start the engine. Preventatively you can also take out the battery positive side so that you won't get any shocks while washing. ;)

happy washing

e-jump

Mar 13, 2004
here r some tips.. might help :P
-cover d airfilter with plastic bag
-do cover the distributor [the spark plug thingie]
-dont wash with to much soap/car shampoo [sikit² only]
-if rajin, dont shoot water in enjin bay, but wipe with kain basah
-n dont leave d enjin dry it self.. u need to wipe it dry [esp the cables n connection]

but better wash at shop la.. coz after they wash d bay, thew will put some oil coating to prevent rust..
but remember tu bungkus some important part like above..
ala, u wash at kedai once.. next time u juz wipe ur self coz d coat is long lasting..
rm5 for engine wash last life-time :P [jimat what]

GSR5559

for turbo..things need to cover ( i guess) ... BOV, round thing i think distributor, open pod filter, injectors..
after washing..remove engine head cover (not the whole head jus the cover dat covers spark plug cables) ..use air-gun to blow the plug cable..dun leave any water ther..it might go into ur plugs if cables are loose..once my frens car wash engine, water went in thru plugs i guess, after turn on engine..got like popop sound..like not enuf fuel..so make sure evrthing is dry wen u wash ur engines..

adam

Nov 17, 2007
or just go to a car grooming specialist.. they'll know what to do..

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Where is the best place in Damansara to do car detailing (polish / restore paint) and engine wash?

alantan

Dec 24, 2003
FOR..I DIDN[T TAKE MUCH PRECAUTION..WASH WITH JET SPRAY...degrease it..spray it clen....start enginel..let it dry...

hi guys, if I don't want to go for adjustables

and just want lowered look with matching absorber, which combo should I go for?

spring choice, and absorber combo..

APM/GAB/KYB/D2?....