Engine oils

minikar

Jun 24, 2005
Cyberjaya
Any Purple ... oil user or Q8 user here?

I am more interested the additive you are using.

The budget additive:
STP
Barhdal

Moderate budget:
Turfoil
Powerup

minikar

Jun 24, 2005
Cyberjaya
Wah, pricy stuff. Anyone using Royal Purple? I tested chemlube ... *best*

Currently using Pennzoil Semi-syn

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
how much is 10-40 semi synthetic of Chemlube and Pennzoil ..?

minikar

Jun 24, 2005
Cyberjaya
Chemlube only in full-syn around rm40+ per liter

Pennzoil 4L rm60(semi) rm100+ (full)

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
Hmm.. think i might try pennzoil semi ...

Heard Pennzoil's quite good? heheh.. it's 10-40 right ?

punktuichea

Apr 17, 2006
i oso using chemlube...
for my kenari...my frenz selling.
it cost rm135 for 3L.

minikar

Jun 24, 2005
Cyberjaya
Yes, Pennzoil is a good brand ... is Toyota OEM, in Malaysia is UMW.

Chemlube is around rm46 per liter so add up to around rm138 .. RRP

punktuichea

Apr 17, 2006
im using chemlube fully sythetic 10-30w.
which 1 is beter compare wif pennzoil?
how much the cost?
wat is the best oil for kenari and toyota vios?
can any1 tel me?
thankx...

minikar

Jun 24, 2005
Cyberjaya
I dont think there is definate answer to that.

First check the viscosity according to ur car manual 10w-30, 10w-40 blabla....

Chemlube is ester-based (read bout the special of ester here http://www.enginelub.com and chemlube.com.my ) while pennzoil wif their own blend and additive. First, make sure you use the recommended viscosity then go by brand/ price.

Since you are using Chemlube, may be you can try Pennzoil full-syn for a change at least you are comparing apple to apple Chemlube and Pennzoil fullsyn almost same price.

Personally I like Chemlube. My experince with Pennzoil (even semi-syn) also very satisfy compared to other Chicken brands, the Pennzoil don't feel that heavy even you over extend the use to more than 10k km compare to other brand -- the detergent power.

minikar

Jun 24, 2005
Cyberjaya
Fuchs yup. Not many selling it. I can say is one of the brand happenned to be tested by Mercedes Benz along with Castrol, Shell, Quaker ...

minikar

Jun 24, 2005
Cyberjaya
Not la they will tell you the oil result. No free promotion one.

They just listed a lengthy selection of engine oil brand and type that recommend for the MB cars. Only certain type of in the the brand la, not the brand in general.

But if you do some googling I think the result exist in the oil analysis by independent party.

and the survival guide?
a) engine oil below rm60 ~ mineral
b) engine oil between rm60 - rm100 ~ mineral to semi-syn
c) and THE OIL that above rm100 ~ semi-syn to full synthetic to racing/ performance

so are you letting the wallet do the talking?

has anyone used these guys before? prices seem to be pretty decent, for example S$2000 for Spoon BBK.