Engine oil service

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
The engine oil that I am using actually recommends adding additive to it. Bardahl 5W-40 FS. I wonder is it really necessary?

That is because the B1 additives are their product.......lol
Ya la, they want to sell their additives also leh! But at least I assume it should still be compatible with their own engine oil.

How much you bought that oil btw and how is it?

I rather use cheaper oil but change more often, then use expensive oil and prolong the OCI.

Yes agree. For me though, I try to match the OCI with oil filter life so always change oil and filter at the same time to make things simple. So if the oil filter is recommended to 10k km then I use oil that should last the same (fs oil). If the filter is only recommended up to 5k km then I use lesser oil that last only 5k km (semi). Last time with the 4gxx engines with HLA I shorten up to 7.5k km to help preserve the HLA.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Ya la, they want to sell their additives also leh! But at least I assume it should still be compatible with their own engine oil.

How much you bought that oil btw and how is it?
Around RM110-RM120. I forgot the exact amount. My mechanic bought it together with a few other things during my last service including 2 bottles of gearbox oil.

Previously, I'm using Bardahl 10W-40 semi synthetic. This feels better than it. Revs feel lighter. Previously before using Bardahl, I'm using even worse kind of oil. 20W-50 Castrol GTX semi synthetic. After changing to Bardahl 10W-40, it really felt much better.

This is the gearbox oil that I'm using.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Around RM110-RM120. I forgot the exact amount. My mechanic bought it together with a few other things during my last service including 2 bottles of gearbox oil.

Previously, I'm using Bardahl 10W-40 semi synthetic. This feels better than it. Revs feel lighter. Previously before using Bardahl, I'm using even worse kind of oil. 20W-50 Castrol GTX semi synthetic. After changing to Bardahl 10W-40, it really felt much better.

This is the gearbox oil that I'm using.
Hmm not bad price, quite cheap also but I thought the 5w40 FS can get under rm100, no? Actually last time considering to try the Bardhal but since got Toyota Japan 5w30 FS oil for rm130, I tried that one instead.

How much you bought that Toyota 75w90 oil? I'm always using Eneos 75w90 bought at AEON 1 Utama for rm25/ltr. If that Toyota one is the same price or cheaper then I might try it also. Last time when I changed oil, the shop had that same Toyota gear oil but he was asking >rm30 I think so I decline.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Hmm not bad price, quite cheap also but I thought the 5w40 FS can get under rm100, no? Actually last time considering to try the Bardhal but since got Toyota Japan 5w30 FS oil for rm130, I tried that one instead.

How much you bought that Toyota 75w90 oil? I'm always using Eneos 75w90 bought at AEON 1 Utama for rm25/ltr. If that Toyota one is the same price or cheaper then I might try it also. Last time when I changed oil, the shop had that same Toyota gear oil but he was asking >rm30 I think so I decline.
Huh? I din't thought taht FS oil can get like under RM100. But previously my SS Bardahl I got around RM80 plus at January this year. This FS Bardahl I bought it on October.

The Toyota oil is around RM20 plus per bottle. Definitely less than RM30. Isn't Eneos better than Toyota?

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Huh? I din't thought taht FS oil can get like under RM100. But previously my SS Bardahl I got around RM80 plus at January this year. This FS Bardahl I bought it on October.

The Toyota oil is around RM20 plus per bottle. Definitely less than RM30. Isn't Eneos better than Toyota?
Yah probably prices already increase due to our sinking MYR! :banghead:

Good price then. Probably about the same so if can get cheaper then better lor! :biggrin:

Bardahl FS 5w-40 when I first started using around RM85 only, then slowly went up. Last used was RM95 if not mistaken.
Renesis, you can try asking spare part shop directly. Maybe your mechanic make a bit as middle man on the FS oil. 20w-50 should be mineral not SS. SS mostly 10w-30 or 40.
Toyota Gear oil when I use also RM17 only, by now should be RM20 plus.
Toyota FS 5w-40 I bought RM85 only, staff price. Then friend left but can get from spare part shop at RM110

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Bardahl FS 5w-40 when I first started using around RM85 only, then slowly went up. Last used was RM95 if not mistaken.
Renesis, you can try asking spare part shop directly. Maybe your mechanic make a bit as middle man on the FS oil. 20w-50 should be mineral not SS. SS mostly 10w-30 or 40.
Toyota FS 5w-40 I bought RM85 only, staff price. Then friend left but can get from spare part shop at RM110
Toyota gear oil has 2 viscosity ratings, 80w90 and 75w90. The 80w90 usually cheaper and easier to find.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Yah probably prices already increase due to our sinking MYR! :banghead:

Good price then. Probably about the same so if can get cheaper then better lor! :biggrin:
The previous one at RM80 plus is because that is semi synthetic which I assume should be cheaper than fully synthetic? Anyway, you are right about sinking MYR. My mechanic did say about parts and stuff going up in price.

By the way, did the sinking MYR affect you badly like when you want to exchange MYR for rupiah?

RM85 for FS is cheap. Maybe next time I'll go around shops to see how much it cost.

Too bad I din't take a picture of the Castrol oil properly. This is the only picture that I got.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
By the way, did the sinking MYR affect you badly like when you want to exchange MYR for rupiah?
Of course la! Last time rm1 = idr3600, now only idr3050, that's a 15% drop! :mad: So I need to send 15% more money home for my in laws and parents since the last 2 yrs or so.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Of course la! Last time rm1 = idr3600, now only idr3050, that's a 15% drop! :mad: So I need to send 15% more money home for my in laws and parents since the last 2 yrs or so.
That is a lot. 550 rupiah difference. :banghead:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
It is really a bad news for all those who came to Malaysia to work and send money back to their country.
Yeah what to do, just have to suck it up and try save somewhere else. Honestly if someone had told me few years back that IDR will appreciate so much against MYR, I would laugh in their face! Who would have thought IDR for God's sake, one of the weakest currency in the world can appreciate that much against MYR! Sigh...

eg9 bodykit wanted especially seat n spoiler..contact me = 0129345136