DIY - Soundproofing the FIREWALL !!!

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
As i saw in my dad's waja there is a layer of sheet to sound proofe the firewall .... how do i do it on my wira as it starts to get noisy on 140 .... any idea ?

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
aiyoyo .... the engine blocking la taiko thats y i dunno how to do ...... asking for comments n ways .....

BakKutT3h

Mar 27, 2005
take out the dashboard, u can stick at the inner side of ur firewall

zane222

Dec 18, 2003
I think the most effective you can do it is do it from the Engine side... because I have done it to my friends car... but is really limited place for you to stick on the Sound proof material... especially the cooling coil side... and... the effect is not that much.... to dismental the dashboard take alot of work.... think twice..!! if you want to go quite.... spray some foam in the windscreen pillar...

ken yeang

bitumen pad won't help much in supressing noise. They are not invented as sound deadening material in the first place. however, its kinda popular as its easily available and cheap.

zane222

Dec 18, 2003
Here you goes... some idea for you .... we took 2 days to settle it...

zane222

Dec 18, 2003
we used the RTA to test it... about 10 - 15 db reduced...

DLegend

Official Contributor
Feb 16, 2004
jayjaynyc.blogspot.com
wow. that's quite a lot of noise reduced.... but have to DIY ler... if pay someone to do, RM400 for workmanship also not enough.

zane222

Dec 18, 2003
yup... if better we can take the whole this... then we can do it nicely..!!

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
wah no other way ah from outside like waja cannot ah ? if lets say i jack my car up the stick it on the wall there can anot ? why waja got wira dun have
haih ......
cooling coil ? why ah ? my main purpose is to prvent sound from going into the cabin ...

This is a feature of MadMike's MadBul, the awesome FD3S equipped with 26B normally aspirated rotary engine pushing upwards of 600 horses. This is arguably the epitome of rotary and FD3S goodness, the sound of it is ungodly awesome and in my honest opinion puts any engine to shame.

MadMike with MadBul...​