DIY Fix Common EvoX Idling Problem

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
This applied to EvoX and It might be applicable to other Evos with the same symptom...

Symptom : Rough Idling after spirited drive, Boosts or when is engine hot...

What to do? : Check the Fuel Pressure Regulator Vacuum Hose

I searched in Google on this symptoms and was surprised to find more than 20 EvoX owners having this issue...

Here is the zoomed out view. It is located under the engine cover... So just remove the plastic cover for a better view.

A simple fix will be just to cable tie it...
however, I take an additional step to ensure it will not happen again.

I realised the hose was hardened, probably due to the heat, so... I am replacing it with Silicon Hose.

Just cable tie it back to the original positions, and it's DONE!

Definitely fixed my Idling problem... and I think.. will get better mileage on my full tank too... we will see!

Share to all your EvoX, Ralliart, 4B11T friends... !

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
You mean that vacuum hose just pops out after a hard drive or high boost?

Wah
Yeah.. Kinda silly right?
I think the 2011 EvoX onwards fixed this problem.

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Seen the same problem in 4 x 4B11T already...
all fixed with either cable ties or change hose.

Good Job guys!

pengyu

Sep 28, 2006
yeap..happened to me as well before..
cable tied it.

The Ford GT40 is indeed a rare car no matter where in what country you are in. Even in a country with lots of import cars (due to low/zero tax), the GT40 is a very rare sight. To put it appropriately, this American V8 legend is a sight to behold.

So when my friend...