DIY Fiat 600D restorodding

noripsni

Jul 3, 2018
This may look a bit odd as I have yet to finish the welding under the car, but as usual, to do one thing you need to be a few steps ahead to make sure its all going to plan. so, in order to finish off the front fender welding, including the fender cuts for the 13'' rims. 175-70 tyres (period 1960's style) and abarth style straight fender flares I needed to check my ride height, that means fitting suspension that I did not have, so, the last few weeks I have been making a lowered stiffened suspension set up for the car, pictures before were with mocked up suspension, this time I had to make it for real. this involved reversing the main eye leaf, de cambering the other leaves, and fitting an 850 style cross member instead of using the soft rubber 600 clamps... here are a few pictures of the process and one of the with the car weighted with water drums to simulate kerb weight. end result was perfect ride height (stance?) with 15 mm to bump stop which can be trimmed if needed later---- the leaves were de cambered cold using an old hot rodding trick. please ignore the shitty hardware as i just used what I had to hand, new high tensile stuff will be fitted later at final assembly
36513130_10216641034847212_7713499841841594368_n.jpg
36514965_10216640727559530_6589781245809393664_n.jpg
36532359_10216641367935539_4208190428131885056_n.jpg
36582351_10216641367375525_3678660603083227136_n.jpg
36657988_10216656554475193_342285842401722368_n.jpg
36662239_10216672574475683_1426380796737880064_n.jpg
36326948_10216602943934963_7921087113179693056_n.jpg
36371305_10216617366695523_8207515767730601984_n.jpg
36309642_10216617363295438_2200706148292624384_n.jpg

noripsni

Jul 3, 2018
of course if you want to blast around and up frasers etc in a tuned up 600 at some point the weak drive shafts are going to give up, i went through a few of these cast drive cups before I got fed up changing them. so here is what a friend and I came up with, half fiat, half daihatsu, easy enough to make, I pre fabricated it all and just got a machine shop to weld and machine for me, the drive shafts are cut, machined down, then a tube is pressed on, 3 slots are then cut into the tube and into the shafts, these are then filled with weld, then the whole lot is turned on a lathe to the exac
10303778_10203874620814840_8765344536523022045_n.jpg
10344811_10203874624774939_1866067753788967356_n.jpg
10155345_10203874622974894_2149240739350138922_n.jpg
10363555_10203874631975119_702670322504087867_n.jpg
t dimension of the oil seal boot to slip over. the drive end is made of fiat and diahatsu parts, with a custom collar fitted to join it all up. result is a super strong drive shaft that can be easily removed, and is 'fit and forget' with its tri-poid drive bathed in u/j grease.

hi mate...

keep up the good work...

i wish i was closer to your place....so i lend some helping hand on the project...

fb ruined the forums, now watsapp has ruined the fb pages, most clubs have reduced to invitation only watsapp cliques.

exactly....

noripsni

Jul 3, 2018
33964999_10216404167725682_4003850633105899520_n.jpg
34033974_10216404167005664_8407679372781158400_n.jpg
36926067_10216709614041649_2932455222754148352_n.jpg
so today was just a paint and bondo removal day actually, but then I got the vibe on, and decided to make the drivers side abarth style flat fender flare, here's a few pics of number one and and the second one, pretty good match, and all seems to work well with the other mods.

Reactions: ^pomen_GTR^

noripsni

Jul 3, 2018
Damn! Does your friend do longshaft cutting and welding too? (Plus balancing)
nope, this was just a fiat project, plus these drive shafts only rotate at road speed, so balancing not needed

noripsni

Jul 3, 2018
What type of chemical u used to kill the rust and treat the metal?
i cut out as much as possible, but for steel that's still ok but rusting a bit i use a rust eating acid, gell type from ace is good, and general hardware got the watery type you can spray.........

My car is a 72 Ford
1600cc singal cam,7.5+- comp.ratio,running on carburator,no ECU

all sifu...
can i bolt on turbo on tis engine???
wat the size of the turbo???
need to change piston???
can carbie tahan the boost???or need to modify to injection using those stane-alone ECU???
can tell me wat parts i need for bolt on turbo???