DIY Engine Oil Change

khguan

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
flushing often is not recommended as those flushing fluid will corrode de engine part... in some cases it will make ur car makan engine oil after flushing... make de seals n gasket spoil.... dats de feed back from most mechanics...

de bower i used is called dust blower.... those look like a handheld turbocharger turbine!! haha!! make sure u put newspaper under de oil pan n around it... if not de oil gonna blow out everywhere...

RPM_freak

RPM_freak

Sep 13, 2005
kLANG
OooO .. flush makan engine .. GRGRGRGR .. dangerous ! .. location/price of where u bought ur blower .. anyway .. what jack u used is it the one like in the workshop or the normal one behind your booth can huh .. ? ...

khguan

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
eh.. de blower my dad gave to me.. u can get them from machinery shop.. those shop selling power tools should have them... china made is good enough.. altho they are loud.. but very long lasting... taiwan made is quiet but they dun last...

i used normal 2 tonne jack from acc. shop.. if used our car boot jack u'll need 2pcs... one for each side...

RPM_freak

RPM_freak

Sep 13, 2005
kLANG
Orite cool ... I never seen anyone using blower during oil change .. but sounds efficient :D shall do as said .. :biggrin: :rock:

jimmy_WAI

jimmy_WAI

Apr 8, 2005
khguan said:
For those who likes to DIY or just wanto save some money n time, u can DIY oil change. It is not hard at all... U just need some proper tools.. dats it... Only takes about 30mins to complete...

Tools needed:
1. 2 tonne jack
2. 17mm wrench
3. Oil filter wrench/opener
4. Oil container

When u wanto change oil... go n get ur engine oil and the oil filter 1st...

Steps:
1. Jack up ur car with the 2 tonne jack. Make sure ur car is steady n firm.
2. Remove oil cap. Place a container below the oil pan.
3. Loosen the bolt with the 17mm wrench. Remove it.
4. Let the oil drain into the container.
5. Place the container under the oil filter as well. Remove the oil filter n pour out the oil.
6. Apply a thin film of oil onto the new oil filter gasket before putting it place.
7. Tighten it by hand only.
8. When the oil has totally drained off, out back the bolt in place and tighten it back real tight.
9. Now you can pour in the new engine oil. Pour approximately 3/4 oil from the bottle.
10. Check the level n top up if necessary.
11. Put back the oil cap in place and check for oil leak at the bolt n oil filter. If leak means the bolt or filter not tighten properly.
12. Done! http://67.18.37.16/html/emoticons/laugh.gif

click here for the pics : http://khguan.fotopic.net/c584742.html

for my used oil... i keep them in a empty engine oil bottle... will send it to my mech next time i repair my car...

anyway.. this is a nice DIY... happy DIYing!! cheers! http://67.18.37.16/html/emoticons/laugh.gif http://67.18.37.16/2598/52/emo/smile_thumbup.gif http://67.18.37.16/2598/52/emo/41.gif
u forget add 1 more thing.

start the engine 1st after pour the engine oil.off the engine then measure the engine oil level.^^

khguan

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
dude... we measure de oil level when engine is cold or at least it has been cooled down for 30mins... not after running de engine...

de last step after topping oil to correct level is to start de engine to check for leaks... then de next morning b4 start engine check oil level again..... top up if necessary...

jimmy_WAI

jimmy_WAI

Apr 8, 2005
khguan said:
dude... we measure de oil level when engine is cold or at least it has been cooled down for 30mins... not after running de engine...

de last step after topping oil to correct level is to start de engine to check for leaks... then de next morning b4 start engine check oil level again..... top up if necessary...
if change @ outside workshop,i dun think the foreman will let the engine cool for 30 minutes 1st then measure ur engine oil level.

khguan

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
de foreman just estimate de level... they are doing it everyday... so they know how much oil to pour in... n they normally judge on de leftover in de oil bottle...

if me... after starting de engine to check for leak.. then stop it n rest de engine for 5-10 mins... i top up de oil until about 3/4 full only cos de oil is not fully at de bottom of de oil pan... then de following morning will top up if necessary.... for more accurate oil level...

jimmy_WAI

jimmy_WAI

Apr 8, 2005
khguan said:
de foreman just estimate de level... they are doing it everyday... so they know how much oil to pour in... n they normally judge on de leftover in de oil bottle...

if me... after starting de engine to check for leak.. then stop it n rest de engine for 5-10 mins... i top up de oil until about 3/4 full only cos de oil is not fully at de bottom of de oil pan... then de following morning will top up if necessary.... for more accurate oil level...
^_^

hahaha...i'm the one who doing those stuff---changing engine oil.(holiday work) :-p
sure know how much to pour it.the right hand just like a weighting machine liao.

(p/s:i sure pour to "full" level,customer request mah...he pay money then follow him loh XD)

ylkien

ylkien

May 17, 2005
KL/PJ
To prevent the oil from gushing out, just lossen the screw till the oil starts dripping out, and let it drip all out. Make sure your car is tilted backwards, so that all the oil can come out from the tank. Remember not to overfill the oil. As long as the oil is half way between max and min, it is ok.

cyclonite

cyclonite

Nov 27, 2003
http://www.fumotovalve.com/

this product is not worth it la. so expensive just for that. convenient la but that price is too much la

bcteh

bcteh

Dec 4, 2005
guan,

mind asking .....where you throw the oil ? :rolleyes:

bcteh

bcteh

Dec 4, 2005
guan,

Mind asking ...where you throw the oil ?

One suggestion, can you included engine flush in the process.

Peace .... :biggrin:

After asking a few mechanics' opinion, I have found out the auto gearbox for my Wira a/b 1.6 is going to die soon. All have suggested replacing the gearbox. Now, I have switched gearbox 3 times already, and I'm tired of that. Furthermore, the car revs more than it moves, therefore consuming a lot of petrol.

A friend's mechanic said he can replace my gearbox with a manual one at RM1700. This includes a 4G93 1.8 gearbox, gear console, pedals, flywheel, clutchplate, starter and all other...