DIY - Dismantle TB

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
anyone has any idea how to dimantle the TB from the engine ..... i wanna clean my TB ..... any pro ?

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
i thnk u need to replace gasket if u r dismantle n replace it back...

juz clean TB..u can use liquid to clean ma....dismantle the whole tb so troublesome u know....

and wat hapens if u forgot how to replace? die lo......

type_one

Mar 23, 2006
yup.. don't have to dismantle the throttle body.. just use carburettor cleaner spray.. costs around RM 20.. just remove air filter ram and spray directly into TB.. u may need a little more cranking to get the engine to start the 1st time.. u can do that regularly yourself, takes 5 minutes..

xtorm

Dec 9, 2003
if u wish to take it out, normally tight down with 4 screws

pay attention to water hose, fuel line (if carb), vacum hose, n the throttle line ofcos

carefull with the gasket, so u wont hav to change it, but its very cheap if u made it urself.

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
wah seems very hard ..... gotta learn more first ..... well stick to the old way
anyone come up wit some pics ar ? ..... those old style TB cleaning sien oledi ..... wanna go harder ones .....

c-ground

Apr 5, 2005
Seri Kembangan
cground.fotopic.net
DIT project: Throttle Body Cleaning
Subject: edwin's WiSE
Engine: 4G15 (Siemens-VDO)

Check the details here. Step-by-step information is given.

Idling speed adaptation:
1. Reset the ECU by removing the 20A fuse labeled "ECI" for a while.
2. Start the car, switch off all lights, a/c, HU.
3. idle the engine for 15 minutes or until the idling speed falls back to 800 - 900 rpm.
4. off the engine
5. turn the key to On position
6. OFF the ignition switch
7. ignite the engine, the idling speed should be at the normal rpm range in a short while.

Might experience higher idling speed for a day or two, depends on the mileage, especially at the moment the car is just stopped.

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
woi taiko no P la its 4G15 on la ........ haha ....... anyway tank you

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
wah damn good man .... but wanna do again liao .... nearly 2 month oledi .... still looking for that gasket holder ..... other cars i did it without the gasket marker ? actually whats the use of that gasket ?

oneGSR

Nov 5, 2004
Ampang
easy lah....don't have to dismantle TB. only use air intake cleaner, RM20.

1. Run engine to normal operating temperature.
2. Turn off engine.
3. Disconnect air-intake duct from throttle body.
4. Place towel or rag under butterfly throttle to collect residue
5. Spray into throat, while moving the butterfly valve back and forth, until clean.
6. Replace air-intake duct.
7. Use every 3000 miles.

save RM60 - RM100. :)

Oh crap. the last DIT we did I don't recall seeing the gasket. Is this thing easily replaceable?

nicholas1007

Mar 20, 2006
anyone can tell me satria 1.3 year 2000. after dismantle TB, cleaning then install bak. need to reset ECU??
ppl told me mine is Mitsubishi. wat mitsubishi they meant?? the ECU??
thx.

Dear all

My friend using a gen-2, now he wanna have some modification (remained as AT), since gen2 is kinda new in mod market, so i really need the help from all experienced personnel here. He got 2 options to go:

1. Use the original engine, reset of ori computer, port & polished, lightened piston, conrod and crank shaft balancing, this mod ll carry out by CM racing JB, according to the mech, they ll use the existing parts and do some modification to make it lighter and stronger...