Choosing value or price for a tires ?

kimsian86

Aug 22, 2011
Would u prefer cheap and average quality tires or expensive and quality tires ?
Researching for price of each brand of tires, and realize that Michelin tires has the highest price. does it really that worth the penny ? for example
Michelin Primacy 3 ST - RM440 in 3S Specialists Ara Damansara
Yokohama A-Drive R1 - RM310 in Tee 3 Auto & Tyre Service Sdn Bhd
RM100++ difference and still got people buying Michelin..

jerrysiow

Jan 3, 2012
Seremban
Hi bro, I've used twice budget and average quality tyre (continental CC1 and goodyear Ducaro GA). The first 20k mileage is still acceptable and after that, it's quite bumpy and noisy for me. The CC1 is not good in wet performance while Ducaro GA is acceptable. (These both tyres I've change it after clocked 50k mileage).

Now i'm using michelin PS3 (clocked 40k mileage). It's still soft and not that noisy. Overall performance still feel great in all weather (sunny or raining day). Especially on wet, you will feel secure and the grip of it to the ground. Besides, i notice my braking distance is shorter compare to the previous 2. I'll buy again on PS3 if I'm going to change my tyres.

I would pay premium for a premium tyre. But I'd do my research first, I wouldn't simply buy just based on name and at the same time research the best place to buy the best price.

es2611

Jan 10, 2006
I would pay premium for a premium tyre. But I'd do my research first, I wouldn't simply buy just based on name and at the same time research the best place to buy the best price.
im with sifu Izso here. well.. a good set of tires are the only contact patch between the car and the road. therefore i would spend abit more for the tires. safety is top priority.

and from my experience, these brands offer good consistent predictable feel from new to the end. at least close to new lah. like my previous michelin PS3.

jeffayn

Mar 27, 2004
Klang
Agreed...

Tyre nowdays do cost alot, not because the rubber is expensive, but because overall cost to make them had increase alot and the tech and adv put into it just simply translate into cost turn over to consumer....

however, thanks to today wider and greater selection of brand, most driver like you and me do can have some serious math to do to balance off value and performance...

say example... do you really wan to save on the tyre to floor price just for the sake to get tyre and ignore everything else?

or you wan a balance tyre that give you good tyre property and pay little more ?

or you need a tyre that can support your 0-100 in 4 second driving style ?

or you need a set of economical tyre that will last you xx km ....

knowing your preference is the no 2 priority.. what is the no 1 priority ? of course first set the budget first.... :D

know your budget, then know your tyres... if you dont have budget.. good la... you got unlimited choice of tyre hahaha...

Hi bro, I've used twice budget and average quality tyre (continental CC1 and goodyear Ducaro GA). The first 20k mileage is still acceptable and after that, it's quite bumpy and noisy for me. The CC1 is not good in wet performance while Ducaro GA is acceptable. (These both tyres I've change it after clocked 50k mileage).

Now i'm using michelin PS3 (clocked 40k mileage). It's still soft and not that noisy. Overall performance still feel great in all weather (sunny or raining day). Especially on wet, you will feel secure and the grip of it to the ground. Besides, i notice my braking distance is shorter compare to the previous 2. I'll buy again on PS3 if I'm going to change my tyres.
Bro., you have jump up many steps using the PS3. These are Ultra High performance tyres compared to Conti CC1 and GY Ducaro GA which are both entry level tyres only, sure the handling and grip of the PS3 will be much much better.

---------- Post added at 07:55 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:48 PM ----------

Well, it depends. I have been using mid brands most of the time. Unless you are going for track play where you will go all out, but for daily ride I don't but of course I would use something that is quite up to mark.
Those days a Michelin PS2 for my size cost RM750, where I can get a Yoko S-Drive for RM380. Which would you use? Even though the PS2 are much better in handling but the S-Drive are just slightly behind like 10% but 50% less in price. Michelin, Pirelli and Conti are all priced too high.
I have tried mostly Mid Japanese brands from Yoko, Falken, Toyo, Japanese Dunlops and now even on Indonesian GT Radial.

Well, it depends. I have been using mid brands most of the time. Unless you are going for track play where you will go all out, but for daily ride I don't but of course I would use something that is quite up to mark.
Those days a Michelin PS2 for my size cost RM750, where I can get a Yoko S-Drive for RM380. Which would you use? Even though the PS2 are much better in handling but the S-Drive are just slightly behind like 10% but 50% less in price. Michelin, Pirelli and Conti are all priced too high.
I have tried mostly Mid Japanese brands from Yoko, Falken, Toyo, Japanese Dunlops and now even on Indonesian GT Radial.
Cost effectiveness mah. RM750 vs RM380 and both are great tyres. Hence my statement about doing my research. S-drive is great mah, maybe not as great as PS2 but still great. So cost wise for everyday use I'm ok to pay RM380.

jerrysiow

Jan 3, 2012
Seremban
Bro., you have jump up many steps using the PS3. These are Ultra High performance tyres compared to Conti CC1 and GY Ducaro GA which are both entry level tyres only, sure the handling and grip of the PS3 will be much much better.

---------- Post added at 07:55 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:48 PM ----------

Yeah. But michelin entry level tyre XM2 is way better than CC1 and Ducaro GA and the price is quite near PS3. Last time i bought CC1 and Ducaro GA is not cheap though, it cost me around RM220 for CC1 and RM195 for Ducaro GA. I bought my PS3 at RM280 and after tried this tyre, i'm willing to pay more for better quality tyres as our friends here already mentioned before, tyre is the only thing contact to the road surface.

---------- Post added at 09:31 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:25 AM ----------

Cost effectiveness mah. RM750 vs RM380 and both are great tyres. Hence my statement about doing my research. S-drive is great mah, maybe not as great as PS2 but still great. So cost wise for everyday use I'm ok to pay RM380.
If the performance wise is close enough and the cost is so significant (pay 1 PS2 can get 2 S-drive), should get the cheaper 1.

15" tyre price gap is quite close to each other when i'm was planning to change to PS3.

Yup, correct cost effectiveness. I manage to change a few friends who were die hard Michelin users. After trying out Toyo, and Yokohama they were wondering why they were paying so much more those days....hahahahaha:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 09:55 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:51 AM ----------

Yeah. But michelin entry level tyre XM2 is way better than CC1 and Ducaro GA and the price is quite near PS3. Last time i bought CC1 and Ducaro GA is not cheap though, it cost me around RM220 for CC1 and RM195 for Ducaro GA. I bought my PS3 at RM280 and after tried this tyre, i'm willing to pay more for better quality tyres as our friends here already mentioned before, tyre is the only thing contact to the road surface..
XM2 are the latest tyres where CC1 is much older generation. Now is CC5 already.
As for Ducaro that is now considered a touring tyre which is also very old technology. Newer tyres are the Triplemax model for GY.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
I usually would go for the best value for money. So first I'd shortlist UHP tires (thread wear max at low 300 and traction AA) from all the popular brands that have the sizes I want, then compare their specs & prices, then go with the cheapest/cheaper ones. So for example with my purchase last time for my car, I shortlisted GY F1, Michelin PS3, Yokohama Advan Sport, and Toyo T1S. Then end up buying the F1-D5 since the Assy 2 does not have my sizes, and the others are more expensive, especially the PS3. Next purchase most probably I'd go for GT Radial HPY or its' replacement model since it's even cheaper. :biggrin:

same same brother. Have been on that quest for years and lately Indonesian tyres have reach some break through to be in the top category even though not the best....:driver:

I think my car's air-con gas needs topping up. I was wondering what is the market rate for topping up air-con gas?