Check Engine Light & Unstable Idling

PR1MO4130

Nov 7, 2011
Dear all,

I owned a Mitsu Airtrek 2005 model. Mileage currently is at 250,000 kms.

1). My problem with the car is my check engine light sometimes will switch on all of sudden. I have asked Ahwah to diagnose the problem and it seems no error code or whatsoever. Any of you guys face the same problem?

2). On top of that, I'm facing problem with my engine idling (rpm will drop as low as 400rpm then come back up to 1000rpm). I have check it with Ahwah, he told me my sensor is still working. Any of you guys face the same?

Appreciate your feedback.

AvanT

Custom fabricator & CNC machining
Mar 20, 2009
Dunno what to say...
If Ah Wah, the Airtrek specialist can't solved it, dunno what else to do, who else to go to anymore...heheee

Is there any specific situation this idling problem occurs? Is there a pattern or some kind? only at idling or even while driving?

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
I used to have problem #2. Especially when during hot days, after heavy acceleration and lifted pedal, the BOV will release the psstt and RPM dropped all the way till the engine stalled. Then I went to Ah Wah, he checked the idling valve and wash the throttle body, was the same. Co-incidently Sifu Sky was there, he helped me to datalog and 'fiddled' with the settings.

It was much better. Problem don't happen so often anymore BUT it still does, once a while. I noticed when I go up-hill or parked my car for a long period of time at slanted hill, I will tend to have that problem again. Especially after parking under hot weather, the idling will be as low as 500rpm.

I asked Ah Wah before, he said could be my BOV leaking. I guess this happens only after I changed to HKS SSQV. To-date, no definate solution for me.

PR1MO

Aug 6, 2004
SUBANG JAYAAA
Dunno what to say...
If Ah Wah, the Airtrek specialist can't solved it, dunno what else to do, who else to go to anymore...heheee

Is there any specific situation this idling problem occurs? Is there a pattern or some kind? only at idling or even while driving?
It will only happen during idling... But it never stalled on me....just the timing is low...as low as 400rpm... I'm quite puzzled... I've serviced the tt body... And change afs sensor... But problem is still there...

---------- Post added at 08:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:21 PM ----------

I used to have problem #2. Especially when during hot days, after heavy acceleration and lifted pedal, the BOV will release the psstt and RPM dropped all the way till the engine stalled. Then I went to Ah Wah, he checked the idling valve and wash the throttle body, was the same. Co-incidently Sifu Sky was there, he helped me to datalog and 'fiddled' with the settings.

It was much better. Problem don't happen so often anymore BUT it still does, once a while. I noticed when I go up-hill or parked my car for a long period of time at slanted hill, I will tend to have that problem again. Especially after parking under hot weather, the idling will be as low as 500rpm.

I asked Ah Wah before, he said could be my BOV leaking. I guess this happens only after I changed to HKS SSQV. To-date, no definate solution for me.
Thanks for sharing... Maybe I should check my bov too... Will pay ahwah a visit this weekend...

kaninbu

Dec 2, 2008
1. wiring?faulty meter?as long can drive din bring problem let it be lo.
2.tb stepper perhaps?

Jan 20, 2012
HEllo,

Did u installed RSM meter? AFC neo? Check the connection. Mine also stalled, vibrate and sometime engine even dead suddenly. I clean the idling valve throttle body etc but after sometime still happen. I do not owe a turbo engine. just NA..

One day my daughter was playing with my AFC nEo and pull it. the engine become unstabled and died suddenly. When driving if the cable is pulled(i tested it) the idling become unstable and can even go more that 3000rpm..i have to pull over, correct the cable to make it not tense at the tapping point and start the engine again..until now no prob...

AvanT

Custom fabricator & CNC machining
Mar 20, 2009
Dear all,

I owned a Mitsu Airtrek 2005 model. Mileage currently is at 250,000 kms.

1). My problem with the car is my check engine light sometimes will switch on all of sudden. I have asked Ahwah to diagnose the problem and it seems no error code or whatsoever. Any of you guys face the same problem?

2). On top of that, I'm facing problem with my engine idling (rpm will drop as low as 400rpm then come back up to 1000rpm). I have check it with Ahwah, he told me my sensor is still working. Any of you guys face the same?

Appreciate your feedback.

Hi Pr1mo, while U're at Ah Wah, have him check the "little mushroom" attached to intake manifold. My mechanic says that thingy helps to control/raise up idling when air-con or engine is cold. Since U've accumulated some pretty high mileage on your trek, it's likely the seal or vacuum hose to the thingy has worn out. Hope this helps!!

PR1MO4130

Nov 7, 2011
Hi Pr1mo, while U're at Ah Wah, have him check the "little mushroom" attached to intake manifold. My mechanic says that thingy helps to control/raise up idling when air-con or engine is cold. Since U've accumulated some pretty high mileage on your trek, it's likely the seal or vacuum hose to the thingy has worn out. Hope this helps!![/QUOTE

Great...thanks for tip.....will ask Ahwah to do so...

something happened to my air-cond today (first day of chinese new year somemore)

nos purge happened :lol:

no lar, my freon gas leaked from the air-cond canister
just wondering if i were to have tighten back the nut that i loosen (the source of the freon purge)
and refilled the air-cond gas, is there any side effects
and if i were to replace the gas canister
how much would it cost worr?