Car Restoration

EcstacyElmo

K Hell Shitty
As a classic car enthusiast, the first thing that comes to mind when thinking of getting a classic car is how to restore it. Sure thing that sending it to the workshop will be less hassle, but i think the fun and enjoyable part is restoring it youself. The joy of making the car finally run by your own hard work would be next to taking ecstasy, i guess
The thing is, i would like to do it too, and i have already identified a car to start on.
problem is, i'm not a mechanic, and know next to nuts about cars.
The car i am targetting has not been moving since i first saw it, i think its about 5 years now, and probly been sitting there longer than i first laid my eyes on it

I would like some advice from the sifu's and guru's on where to start, how to start, what i need and prices of things needed, things like that, for a car that doesnt move at all.
I hope advice will be given here on how to handle every part of the car. I would update all post and put it in ONE single post, so it would be easier to find the info should the replies get to more than 1 page, which i hope it does.

Thank you if anyone does reply.:_:

ken yeang

whar...secret car?...hmm, must be Hitler's armored limosine.....just kidding hor...

EcstacyElmo

K Hell Shitty
after having a long long chat with my neighbour bout cars, he told me i'm better off buying/bringing in a classic car from overseas than restoring it myself....
the total price of self restoration compared to buying it would be much higher
and since there isnt much useful replies here, i think i'll just stick to internet n books.

encikmasen

Jul 8, 2005
Bangi
ecstasyelmo..

its true that buying a restored car from oversea is easier (to ur self n ur pocket) compared from restoring it ur self..restoring a car,esp. a classic car, need to have a lot of patience and also passion..

n if u gave some info bout what car u wanted to restore, there might be a lot of response to this thread..

ken yeang

Ecstacy,

Don't mind me abt the joke. Abt your car restoration, its always good if you could do it yourself. I sort of give the car a personal touch. Personally, local restorers are still not as good as overseas'. The advantage doing the resto here is cheaper manpower. Quality work wise, you need to ask around to get the best "sifu" for the resto works. Further more, local resto shop aren't much equiped with specialised tools/equipment for best resto works.

do a search thru googlr for: penangtalk, or somthing. This site is a good place for forummers discussing abt vintage cars. The web master is a classic Alfa enthusiast himself

BTW, the ford cars u mentioned are gorgeous machines. Huge but they are nice to cruise in open road.

EcstacyElmo

K Hell Shitty
thanks for the reply
i am well aware that restoring a car like that would need a lot of time and also expertise, and that restorers in Malaysia might not be up to standard.
my taste is constantly changing. but most of the cars i want are classics. i'm trying to find more info about these cars at the moment and how to restore them, before buying it. whether its actually feasible or not.
also trying to find out the road tax required for a car like that, wat i find is 200+ cubic inch is about 3.5liter and above, if fixing the car up with non ori parts i would not get 25% road tax eligibility.
so wondering how much i would hav to pay fully. gotta record the amount i would be spending on my private project.

encikmasen

Jul 8, 2005
Bangi
hermm...

i assume that you're interested on restoring a muscle car..IMHO, for muscle cars here in m'sia, its quite difficult for someone to find a mechanic to do it..and well, the parts are all imported..but then its quite nice to have one, if you are determine enough..

and izzit true that classic car with non ori parts wud not get 25% road tax eligibility? non ori means, non oem or not like the original..

phat7

May 21, 2004
restoring a car is a very expensive affair. Its lots of fun but be prepared to spend lots of time and have a reserve of cash for parts that are very hard to come by. Besides yourself it is a good idea to get the permission of your parents and if you;re married it would be a good idea to somehow get your partner involved as they then will also see this as their project.

Get necessary tools. The basic would be a good ratchet set, and a el-cheapo 136 pc toolbox for screwdrivers and other bits and pieces. To buy the right tools it is very important to not if you require any special tools (sst's as they're reffered to).

Get the workshop repair manual. This is especially important for the DIY enthusiast. If its a popular model/make you can download online for free or sometimes for a small fee.

Once workshop manual in hand you can then "plot" your action plan. Remember to finish one section at a time. Have a marker in hand to mark. I find having a digital camera to take pictures before and after very helpful.

All of this would help you get started as how i did my car. Like i said before, this project can be extremely fun and satisfying if planned correctly. On the other extreme it can be a money pit nightmare if you rush.

Good luck!!

EcstacyElmo

K Hell Shitty
masen: not too sure bout the 25% tax thingy, my neighbour told me a car should not have any modifications and it should have all ori parts.

phat7: thanks for the advice, am planning a log book just incase my plan goes on. my current uni project requires a log book to keep track of work too.
will be visiting the bookstore soon to find books on the car. currently sourcing the internet, might have to buy the books online.

ae101rulez

Sep 2, 2005
erm...
restoring car is not ez stuff esp. if you have not enuff space at home......like me, itchy hands want to restore LE to ae86 panda look a like(INITIAL D influence), now so much prob. parts so hard to get and somore at home, no proper place to keep body...... now, me LE is at paint shop 4 oredi 2 weeks..cannot keep at home, so rent small place at paint shop (painter charge per day:sad_smile: ).........if u see those 'kwai loh' restore their car so simple, it is bec. to them parts come easily from junkyard or ori dealer..., and somore 'kwai loh' house like mansion, can fit easilly 3-4 cars...here, cbai, one to fit 2 cars also have to fight with neighbour.......:emoticon_U: ....

Doink

Aug 1, 2004
House
bro...restore little by little...like me...i do restoration to my family`s car just these last 3 years...before it was used and thrashed...

Ok guys.. just helping my fren here.. he lost his avanza last week in front of his house in USJ.. its a brand new car which he just got like 1-2 week only.. blue colour with the plate no BJF 4493.. if seen please report police.. thanks.. hope u guys can help cause he is going to get married next week.. really pity him..