alternator

zairie

zairie

KUALA LUMPUR
how to identify the car alternator is going to 'kong' already??? any sifu can help me on this???

badguy

badguy

Jun 15, 2004
1.start ur car!
2. open ur bonet!
3. take out the cable connected to battery (+ve)

do analysis

1. if engine die off / stop then ur alternatoe kong kong
2. if engine still runing smooth without any thing happen then ur alternator is in working condition!

zairie

zairie

KUALA LUMPUR
Originally posted by badguy@Apr 7 2005, 14:32

1.start ur car!
2. open ur bonet!

do analysis

2. if engine still runing smooth without any thing happen then ur alternator is in working condition!
[snapback]876353[/snapback]​
i think i know how to do it but how exactly i can know the alternator is about to "kong". like battery, we can install a volt meter to identify the life of the battery. but how about alternator? symptoms or anything ?

artnet

artnet

Jan 19, 2004
Sarawak
www.cardomain.com
it normally last a long time. and it usually doesn't kong...
it is jsut the carbon inside it wear out.. replace the carbon
which cost only a few riggit. u will notice the battery light on
while driving the car... that's mean ur battery is not charged.
so ur alternator is not functioning properly.

another situation is, the electric board (i dunno wht it is called)
inside is dead. it may due to the electric components malfunctioning
or "time's out" hahaha.

when raining days, u run over water and it splashed into the
hot alternator it will also dead after few hours of driving.. or
immediately dead on spot. hahaha.

no need to worry for this problem i think... because the battery
warning light will shown to u... once there is no charging the alternator is kong.

if u're worried... send the alternator for service. it actually last for years....

artnet

artnet

Jan 19, 2004
Sarawak
www.cardomain.com
i'm not sure about this... but i think alternator job is just
supplying current only. battery is the one kong if using
heavy ICE. coz when not enough currents, battery is the
one to help.

there is one in ICE forum changed to BOSCH 150Amp.
u might try to consult him where to get that. i forgot
who liao. check their signature, he type it there.

i added a 1.2F capacitor into my ICE. i found that the
capacitor isn't only helping ur ICE.. it actually will discharge
to the battery also. my cap has light indicator, it will blink
when charging and discharging. my audio is shut, but it still
blinking while the ac kick in, on headlight... step brake.

so i guess i do not need any votech or pivot anymore.

cyclonite

cyclonite

Nov 27, 2003
Originally posted by badguy@Apr 7 2005, 14:32
1.start ur car!
2. open ur bonet!

do analysis

[snapback]876353[/snapback]​
Can do that.... take out the battery cable while engine running. after that your ICE will spoil and alternator's regulator burn :)
If you cahnge to 150AMP alternator your car will have no power, use more petrol and your battery might spoil

artnet

artnet

Jan 19, 2004
Sarawak
www.cardomain.com
really? wow.. didn't know at all...
but why car will become no power?
since it is just changing the alternator...?
pls be more specify... thanks.

zairie

zairie

KUALA LUMPUR
Originally posted by artnet@Apr 8 2005, 00:30
really? wow.. didn't know at all...
but why car will become no power?
since it is just changing the alternator...?
pls be more specify... thanks.
[snapback]877926[/snapback]​
thanks guys, the reason i ask question about alternator is that i've transplant my engine and of course i dont know how long the alternator has been used up. even a new car also can get a lousy alternator that may eventually get 'kong' after a few months. happen to my cousin once.

Hi there.

I just recently bought a 2 inch tachometer online, but it doesnt come with a manual. I have searched this forum on how to install this myself, but, still not much help. Im driving a staria injection, and would like to DIY the installation myself, for the fun of it.

However, my knowledge on the car circuitry is nil, so I kinda need help with pictures on how to install. the meter itself comes with 6 wires:

2 red
1 green
2 black
1 orange.

All i know is that black is to...