Advice needed! 185 on 5.5J

jezzey96

Jul 22, 2015
Hello, sifus and fellow car enthusiasts!

I've just put on Size 185 55 15 Michelin Pilot Sport 3's on my 15x5.5J oem Honda Jazz wheels. The steering response isn't as "precise" as it used to be and it helped a little when I pumped a higher PSI for the front tires. Is there a solution for this odd steering response? :confused:

mADmAN

maybe tire wall flex mostly... tire too wide for the wheel.

perhaps look into purchasing wider wheels... something in the 6.5 width would be good

jezzey96

Jul 22, 2015
That option isn't available to me at the moment and I'm stuck with these tires till they go bald..

Isn't 185 still tolerable for 5.5J? I thought too wide would be 195,205 and so on.

That option isn't available to me at the moment and I'm stuck with these tires till they go bald..

Isn't 185 still tolerable for 5.5J? I thought too wide would be 195,205 and so on.
185/55R15 fits 5.5 and 6 inch rims, if 195 then 6 to 6.5 in better.

What do you mean not as precise? Steering response? I think because tyres still new. Let it run in a while at least 500km then see how they response.....:driver:

Hello, sifus and fellow car enthusiasts!

I've just put on Size 185 55 15 Michelin Pilot Sport 3's on my 15x5.5J oem Honda Jazz wheels. The steering response isn't as "precise" as it used to be and it helped a little when I pumped a higher PSI for the front tires. Is there a solution for this odd steering response? :confused:
Out of curiosity what were you using prior to the PS3? PS3 thread isn't directional and doesn't have large blocks on the thread so it shouldn't be bothering your steering feel. Those v-shape threads would though.

OEM should be some of the local tyres from Goodyear, Conti etc. unless he changed before to some extreme tyres.....

jezzey96

Jul 22, 2015
185/55R15 fits 5.5 and 6 inch rims, if 195 then 6 to 6.5 in better.

What do you mean not as precise? Steering response? I think because tyres still new. Let it run in a while at least 500km then see how they response.....:driver:
It feels like doing a slalom with an electric power steering, can't really feel what's going on with the tires.

They are very new. It's been 100km + already and they're beginning to feel better! :)

Thanks vr2turbo!

---------- Post added at 04:45 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:40 PM ----------

Out of curiosity what were you using prior to the PS3? PS3 thread isn't directional and doesn't have large blocks on the thread so it shouldn't be bothering your steering feel. Those v-shape threads would though.
I was using the tires that came with the 1.5 Locally assembled Jazz. Goodyear GT3, 175 65 15. 33 PSI front, 31 rear.

It's been 100km+ for the tire "break-in" , slowly improving in terms of steering response :).

It feels like doing a slalom with an electric power steering, can't really feel what's going on with the tires.

They are very new. It's been 100km + already and they're beginning to feel better! :)

Thanks vr2turbo!

---------- Post added at 04:45 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:40 PM ----------

I was using the tires that came with the 1.5 Locally assembled Jazz. Goodyear GT3, 175 65 15. 33 PSI front, 31 rear.

It's been 100km+ for the tire "break-in" , slowly improving in terms of steering response :).
Those PS3 is definitely much better than the GT3. Just let them run in more....:biggrin:

Volvo Car Malaysia and Federal Auto Holdings Berhad have officiated its new showroom in Menara MBMR to replace their iconic Volvo showroom located along Federal Highway. The companies are also using the new showroom as a platform to introduce its new Volvo Retail Experience (VRE).

Volvo Retail Experience - What is it about?