4 Pot Brakes

kerhan27

Oct 23, 2004
I'm currently driving a Myvi 1.3 (M) and 1 have plans to change my stock brakes to 4 pot caliper(Nissan) / Grippen. My question is:

1)Will my ABS still work normally???? ( I ask alot of people but they dont know):argh:

2)How much will it take to modify it

3)Do i need to change the brake pump(servo)??????

4)Can i change the PCD to 114 (original is PCD 100) wat do i have to look for?

Thanks a million for those out there who can help me!!!!!!

Coltrain

Oct 16, 2005
Myvi use 4pot ?!!
i think twin pot is more than enough loh....
i'm not sure about the ABS,but i saw ppl use twin pots in Myvi.
mayb can use.

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
4pot in a normal engine myvi i not think it is suggestable.....too strong for a normal engine....

i know 4pot will be better, but gotta mzth with ur engine output...if urs is BOT or passo turbocharged engine....then 4pot may be can be consider.

jsut my 2cent n sharing

kenken

Oct 7, 2005
i think it doesnt affect your ABS.
but i dont think you need 4 pot even on a K3vet..

Sato

Jul 28, 2004
Is true....

4 pot for Myvi......is juz way too much ! Stopping power of course good la....but passengers inside would feel the G forces once u step on brakes......

If u really wanna fit in, better force ur passengers to fasten the seatbelts !

Hahhaa...

By the way, what about those mini calipers ? Act the same ?

Doink

Aug 1, 2004
House
unless u have the ABS sensor on the 4 pot brakes...then it wont work...you will have to bypass the ABS system altogether...

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
not advisable to install 4 pot caliper.easily lock up the wheel especially
on wet surface.dangerous.

kenken

Oct 7, 2005
The WSS (wheel speed sensor) are not mounted on the calipers. it doesnt affect the abs.but MYvi could be different.

Wajafly

Jun 20, 2005
I agree with GT Auto.

Wheels will lock up easily and you'll be in accident easily.

I am using 4 Pot R32 calipers in my Waja with standard pump and original pads from Sumitumo. Waja is heavy and the brake is good but will still lockup after hard braking. You need really good tyres and suspension settings to match the brake force.

kenken

Oct 7, 2005
sorry friends. i think mr kerhan27 did mentioned that his ride is packed with ABS..can skip meh?

kerhan27

Oct 23, 2004
Ya lo, got ABS still can lock the wheels meh? currently i'm doing this for cosmetic perposes only, maybe few months down the road i will BOT my engine. i'm doing some research on it now.......see got budget or not:sad_smile: ........so how about the PCD? i just want to know for sure :emoticon_U:

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
sure,why not.even merc n bmw can skid in the rain.it's depend on how skillful
u maneuvered ur car when u lost control.i even seen a s2000 equiped with abs
lost ctrl in the wet track driven by a experience racer.4 pot is to much for a light
weight car like myvi.2 pot should be enough even for track use.just my 2cent.

Wajafly

Jun 20, 2005
Got ABS does not mean cannot lock the wheels. You can go ahead and try 4 pot with your ABS and let us know whether it's possible or not. :p

I have driven cars with ABS and still can lock wheels during emergency. Especially heavier cars.

If your car performance is really stock, why go for 4 pot? Everything got to be balance. I mean, upgrade power, handling and safety together.

Hai...
I'm using Toyota Seg 1.6 96' ModelAE111
iwant to ask about sports spring for my Toyota.I want to change from ori to sports spring brand PRO-RIDE....it is ok for my car? I do'nt want my car become bumpies n to hard when i already change it. Hopefully i want become comfort. Because before this the ori one is very soft.

So any suggestion.
Thanks.