WTA about MR2s

HaizamB

Oct 25, 2013
Kuala Lumpur
Dear sifus,

I'm kinda new in the car scene,and now its time i wanna buy my first car. I'm thinking of an MR2. Just wanna ask the sifus here before i commit:

1. How reliable is the car to be driven daily?
2. Are the parts easily available?
3. Cost to restore?
4. Cost of maintenance?

Any feedback from experienced sifus in this area is kindly appreciated. :adore:

yn_hell

Known Member
Jul 27, 2005
Petaling Jaya
its a 20+ years old car, problems here and there is unavoidable. some parts are easy to get, some parts are not, cost to fix also depends on the parts availability. but hey mine is a daily drive for 4+ years now, and i am still drivin it everyday. so yea its pretty reliable.

ken yeang

6,000 RPM
Feb 2, 2006
I believe that the 3s engines are pretty reliable. Even JGTC (toyota) cars are using them.

HaizamB

Oct 25, 2013
Kuala Lumpur
its a 20+ years old car, problems here and there is unavoidable. some parts are easy to get, some parts are not, cost to fix also depends on the parts availability. but hey mine is a daily drive for 4+ years now, and i am still drivin it everyday. so yea its pretty reliable.
Sounds promising :D Anyone knows any good SW20 MR2s for sale? I'm specifically looking for a manual one. So far I have found one that interests me on carlist:

1990 Toyota MR2 (M) 2.0L Selangor

No specs given but looks good. I'd love to check it out ASAP but will be very2 busy with work this week and probably next week as well. Any sifus wanna share experiences with this beauty of a car is highly appreciated :D

wsukun

500 RPM
Nov 17, 2008
London Calling
nice hardtop sw20. they are pretty rare considering u have one thing less to worry about (water leaking and etc).
try to join the mr2/mrs facebook group first. dont be hasty on purchasing one for yourself.
scout around and ask other mr2 past/current owners about the history of the car.